Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 23

    Intermittent Wireless Drop-out

    This is a discussion on Intermittent Wireless Drop-out within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by User05 Have briefly skimmed over the thread, so apologies if this has been done/asked. Have you tried ...

    1. #11
      Teabag's Avatar
      Teabag is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Intermittent Wireless Drop-out

      Quote Originally Posted by User05 View Post
      Have briefly skimmed over the thread, so apologies if this has been done/asked. Have you tried changing any settings on the router?
      While the problem is occuring I have plugged into the router with an Ethernet cable, tried changing the channels it broadcasts on but that doesn't help.

      At the moment its set back on channel 1 and is working. For how long is anyone's guess.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      AndyJG's Avatar
      AndyJG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWSHAR (South Harrow)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      187
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts

      Re: Intermittent Wireless Drop-out

      I've just noticed I can't spell.
      Should be stronger.

      As you quite rightly say changing the filter will probably have three parts of naff all chance of solving the problem.

      V2.02.44 is the current firmware.
      Resetting the router just restores factory defaults.

      If possible leave one computer connected by cable and use another with wireless.
      If/when the wireless goes down check the router stats and post them here.
      They might just give a clue.
      In fact can you post a current set as a marker.

      As Scubbie says if possible borrow another Sky router and try that.
      If you can't at least try another power supply if you have one of 12 volts and the correct polarity.

      On balance I think partial router failure is more likely than interference but only replacement will prove it.

      Sorry I can't be more helpful.

      Andy

    4. #13
      SheziKalebra's Avatar
      SheziKalebra is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media 100MB
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Location
      Huddersfield
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Intermittent Wireless Drop-out

      Hey Teabag. Have you tried lowering the security to WEP? Sometimes this resolves issues not always recommended though...

      As for tech support sending you a micro filter that is absolutely insane and makes me feel sick. Definitely a b5/b6 agent (overseas). If I were you I'd call up to sky and put in a complaint about that agent, we've all been advised to make sure we escalate complaints about inhuman cases of severe technical stupidity.

      Good luck.

    5. #14
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Intermittent Wireless Drop-out

      B6 are Newcastle advisors as far as I'm aware.

    6. #15
      SheziKalebra's Avatar
      SheziKalebra is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media 100MB
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Location
      Huddersfield
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Intermittent Wireless Drop-out

      nope b5 and b6 are all abroad and absolute fools.

      I'll give you an example of what they did to a customer yesterday. The guys router was totally dead no lights whatsoever and they had him unscrew his telephone socket to see if he had a test socket. Idiots makes our job 10x as hard

    7. #16
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Intermittent Wireless Drop-out

      B6 are Newcastle IDs.

      But, yeah, advisors not doing proper troubleshooting is tiresome to say the least.

    8. #17
      Teabag's Avatar
      Teabag is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Intermittent Wireless Drop-out

      I cant comment whether the guy on the phone was B5 or B6 but he definitely had a north eastern accent. Maybe a Geordie ex-pat in India?

      To me it kind of sounded like he agreed with what I was saying about the suggestion of a micro-filter swap, but because that, and I quote, "has to do what his screen is suggesting" he couldnít arrange anything else.

      Anyway as an update to the wireless dropouts - There arenít any. Although I havenít used it massively for the last few days, each time I have its been fine.

    9. #18
      Teabag's Avatar
      Teabag is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Intermittent Wireless Drop-out

      Quote Originally Posted by AndyJG View Post
      If possible leave one computer connected by cable and use another with wireless.
      If/when the wireless goes down check the router stats and post them here.
      They might just give a clue.
      In fact can you post a current set as a marker.

      Are these the stats you mean?




      .
      Uploaded with ImageShack.us

    10. #19
      lilx's Avatar
      lilx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Intermittent Wireless Drop-out

      I have the same exact problem.
      I have connected to sky broadband + hd, after 1 month of perfect performance, my wireless connection started dropping off very often.

      I have tried all 13 channels they told me, tried to change micro-filters, tried to connect router directly without filter did not help.

      Is the change of router going to help? Should I try upgrade the firmware?

    11. #20
      Teabag's Avatar
      Teabag is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Intermittent Wireless Drop-out

      Quote Originally Posted by lilx View Post
      I have the same exact problem.
      I have connected to sky broadband + hd, after 1 month of perfect performance, my wireless connection started dropping off very often.

      I have tried all 13 channels they told me, tried to change micro-filters, tried to connect router directly without filter did not help.

      Is the change of router going to help? Should I try upgrade the firmware?

      Since my last post in this thread, it has worked OK without issue.

      I didnt recieve the Micro filter that Sky BB Support said they were sending. Whether it could be possilble they have done something remotely to solve the problem I couldnt comment on.

      I was going to try another router (borrowed from a friend) but while the problem isn't occuring it would be impossible to determine if it would make a difference.

      If you can get hold of another router then its certainly a good test.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION