Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Alternating between 'a network cable unplugged' and 'acquiring network address' error

    This is a discussion on Alternating between 'a network cable unplugged' and 'acquiring network address' error within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; My connection dropped out 4 or 5 times within a couple of minutes a few hours ago before dropping out ...

    1. #1
      Ricko's Avatar
      Ricko is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Alternating between 'a network cable unplugged' and 'acquiring network address' error

      My connection dropped out 4 or 5 times within a couple of minutes a few hours ago before dropping out completely. Since then, it's constantly alternating between 'a network cable is unplugged' and 'acquiring network address.

      Things I've tried:

      - changing ethernet cable
      - same set up but with my other PC
      - unplugging router (Netgear DG834GT) and plugging it back in
      - re-setting the router

      To me, that suggests it's not an ethernet cable issue or the ethernet connection on the back of the PC. My phone line is working. None of my wireless devices can connect. Is there any way of checking whether the router is faulty? Could it be anything else?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,907
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Alternating between 'a network cable unplugged' and 'acquiring network address' e

      I would suggest that from your description a call to Sky is in order as your router sounds to be faulty.

      Please be prepared to confirm things as they go through the 'Sky Answers' check list/script.

      I would also suggest the following if possible:

      • extract the log in details from the router (keep them in a text file safely on your computer)
      • try another router (if a non-Sky router is used, use the above details) - borrowing a friend's Sky router is perfectly fine

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      Ricko's Avatar
      Ricko is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Alternating between 'a network cable unplugged' and 'acquiring network address' e

      Cheers. I'll give them a phone tomorrow.

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,907
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Alternating between 'a network cable unplugged' and 'acquiring network address' e

      Sky support operate 24/7.

      08442 414141

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      Ricko's Avatar
      Ricko is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Alternating between 'a network cable unplugged' and 'acquiring network address' e

      My new router arrived today (Sagem F@ST2304) so I'm back online. Only problem is that it only seems to last for around 20 minutes at a time. It connects at just over 7 Mbps before slowly dropping to under 1 and then finally to the point that websites won't load. I then have to reboot the router and start my next 20 minute period. Is this to be expected for a short while with a new router?

      Edit: Lasted a couple of minutes this time. Looks like the Noise Margin is dropping after connecting. Here's the stats from when I last rebooted and then a couple of minutes later:




      Last edited by Ricko; 12-01-12 at 06:06 PM.

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,907
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Alternating between 'a network cable unplugged' and 'acquiring network address' e

      Cold you plug a corded telephone into the Test socket, dial '1' and listen for any noise please?

      There may be a little hiss, but ideally the line should be silent with no crackling or any other load noise.

      Also, just checking, did you swap the PSUs over as well?

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #7
      Ricko's Avatar
      Ricko is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Alternating between 'a network cable unplugged' and 'acquiring network address' e

      There's a lot of crackling on the line. Never noticed as I never use the landline and my internet has been fine up until the problems started on Monday.

      I used the new PSU.

    9. #8
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Alternating between 'a network cable unplugged' and 'acquiring network address' e

      Unplug the dsl cable from the router. Do you still hear noise?

    10. #9
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,907
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Alternating between 'a network cable unplugged' and 'acquiring network address' e

      In this case you need to speak to whomever you pay your line rental to. If this is not Sky Talk, then don't mention the broadband as this will confuse things.

      If you are getting a lot of crackling noise you have a line fault.

      I specifically asked that you check from the Test socket as from that point to the exchange it is the responsibility of your line provider. If the fault was internal, then it is your responsibility.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    11. #10
      Ricko's Avatar
      Ricko is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Alternating between 'a network cable unplugged' and 'acquiring network address' e

      Quote Originally Posted by User05 View Post
      Unplug the dsl cable from the router. Do you still hear noise?
      Yeah, it's still there.

      It's intermittent but there's definitely a crackling on the line from the master socket with only the phone connected.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION