Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    initial start speed was not 4Mb or even close

    This is a discussion on initial start speed was not 4Mb or even close within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Posted this on sky site but got no help so will try here Hi, Just joined sky bb a few ...

    1. #1
      rs06ant's Avatar
      rs06ant is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0161
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      initial start speed was not 4Mb or even close

      Posted this on sky site but got no help so will try here


      Hi, Just joined sky bb a few days ago.

      I was expecting to start with the 4mb minimum, But i started 1mb. I plugged my router in a few days before activation and found it to be working already all be it at the 1mb.

      Last night i notice the dlm had started but with no increase in download speed, but the upload speed had increased by around 200kbs.

      I was estimated to get between 11.2 and 18mbs.

      My question is why have i never seen the initial start speed of 4Mb? as the 1mb speed i have is pretty much useless.

      System Up Time: 20:50:11
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up TimeWANLANWLAN
      MER 29597 741495 0 73 13782 9:32:54
      Down 0 0 0 0 0 20:50:11
      Up 713410 516737 0 13120 736 20:49:49
      ADSL Link Downstream UpstreamConnection SpeedLine AttenuationNoise Margin
      1152 kbps 797 kbps
      46.5 dB 29.4 dB
      17.3 dB 13.9 dB



      Also in the last hour my download speed as droped again to 0.8.

      All the basics are coverd at my end. As ive never had the joys of sky bb and always opted for other isp.

      Is this normal?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: initial start speed was not 4Mb or even close

      Any audible noise on your line? Crackling and such?

      Check that each and every socket has a filter first into the socket. My bet would be that you've got a sky tv splitter plugged in somewhere that isn't filtered correctly.

    4. #3
      rs06ant's Avatar
      rs06ant is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0161
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: initial start speed was not 4Mb or even close

      Quote Originally Posted by User05 View Post
      Any audible noise on your line? Crackling and such?

      Check that each and every socket has a filter first into the socket. My bet would be that you've got a sky tv splitter plugged in somewhere that isn't filtered correctly.
      Cheers. No noise on line, plus its a new build so all cables are new internally. I have 5 sockets within the house only the master one is in use with a filter fitted. Ive never plugged sky tv into a telephone socket and never will.

    5. #4
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: initial start speed was not 4Mb or even close

      Don't mean to sound pedantic, but are you absolutely sure that no splitter is fitted before the filter? Are you running an extension cable to the router?

    6. #5
      timc's Avatar
      timc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh, Essex
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Hadleigh,Essex
      Posts
      299
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: initial start speed was not 4Mb or even close

      With your current attenuation between 5 & 6 meg is most likely btw.

    7. #6
      rs06ant's Avatar
      rs06ant is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0161
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: initial start speed was not 4Mb or even close

      100% nothing plugged in. 5/6 wouldnt be so bad but im at an un usable 1mb. Possible a short stay with sky!

    8. #7
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: initial start speed was not 4Mb or even close

      And no extension running to the router? Provided you're not running an extension cable to the router:

      - Power cycle the router. Check whether the sync speed goes up. If not;
      - Swap for another filter. Again, check the sync speed. If still low;
      - Plug the router into the test socket (provided you have one) and re-post the stats.

    9. #8
      rs06ant's Avatar
      rs06ant is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0161
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: initial start speed was not 4Mb or even close

      No test socket at this address (im looking into this as it seems strange not to have one), No extension cable just straight into the wall.

      One thing i do notice when rebooting the router. My speed goes up to around 2.8mb but this is short lived and goes back down within 10 minutes.

      Ill be honest, from what a friend as said(3rd line support at another isp) my internal and external wiring may not have been done correctly and aluminum lines may have been used. Till i see the site foreman i cannot confirm this.

      Cheers so far

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION