Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 42

    Get SKYBB Soon Advise Required.

    This is a discussion on Get SKYBB Soon Advise Required. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Sky will use the default minimum of 7dB, but you could use the telnet facility on your Netgear router to ...

    1. #11
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Get SKYBB Soon Advise Required.

      Sky will use the default minimum of 7dB, but you could use the telnet facility on your Netgear router to reduce the figures.

      What I would recommend though is for you not to play with the noise margins until the DLM period has completed.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      smithphilip1's Avatar
      smithphilip1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BT Business Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD+3D+Multi
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Location
      Norfolk
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Get SKYBB Soon Advise Required.

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Sky will use the default minimum of 7dB, but you could use the telnet facility on your Netgear router to reduce the figures.

      What I would recommend though is for you not to play with the noise margins until the DLM period has completed.
      I have already extracted the username and password from the sky router 2304n that I got few days ago so can use my netgear n600 instead.

      I believe the n600 has a default snr target of 0?

      Or do you recommend I run this command?
      adslctl configure --snr 50

    4. #13
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Get SKYBB Soon Advise Required.

      Quote Originally Posted by smithphilip1 View Post
      I have already extracted the username and password from the sky router 2304n that I got few days ago so can use my netgear n600 instead.
      No problem. I am assuming that you are referring to the DGND3700, which is also what I have.

      Quote Originally Posted by smithphilip1 View Post
      I believe the n600 has a default snr target of 0?
      No. The Noise Margin is set by your ISP.

      Quote Originally Posted by smithphilip1 View Post
      Or do you recommend I run this command?
      adslctl configure --snr 50
      That is the command I use, but personally I don't set it that low as in my case there is no benefit. 80 works just fine for me, any lower and I don't get any improvement in my connection speed. I have enquired about getting this changed but in my particular case it isn't easy to do.

      It has been known for some members to get a connection speed faster than 20,000kbps by letting DLM configure the line. Your Line Attenuation is quite low and you could possibly get a good connection speed as well.

      If you tweak the Noise Margin before DLM completes then you will mess up the process and your connection speed will be capped lower than 20mb. So this is why I am advising against tweaking your connection before DLM completes.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      smithphilip1 (09-01-12)

    6. #14
      smithphilip1's Avatar
      smithphilip1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BT Business Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD+3D+Multi
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Location
      Norfolk
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Get SKYBB Soon Advise Required.

      I'll see what happens. Wish I could telnet command to turn interleaving off

    7. #15
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Get SKYBB Soon Advise Required.

      Unfortunately that is set by Sky.

      In the mean time, I am sure all will go well.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #16
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,460
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 118 Times in 113 Posts

      Re: Get SKYBB Soon Advise Required.

      With you line i guesstimate
      19999-21950 Downstream sync
      1152-1167 Upstream
      Delays 8 set via DLM

      Just remember not to power down thte modem in the first 10 days of DLM

    9. #17
      smithphilip1's Avatar
      smithphilip1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BT Business Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD+3D+Multi
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Location
      Norfolk
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Get SKYBB Soon Advise Required.

      Get SKYBB Soon Advise Required.-screen-shot-2012-01-09-21.29.51.jpg

      Just ran telnet command on my BT connection.
      Now have sync of 24382kbps will SKY be able to do this?

    10. #18
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Get SKYBB Soon Advise Required.

      Quote Originally Posted by smithphilip1 View Post
      Just ran telnet command on my BT connection.
      Now have sync of 24382kbps will SKY be able to do this?
      pmsl. Are you living in the shed in the exchange's car park?

      Those are the best ADSL2+ figures I've seen. So unless you don't love being throttled during 'peak hours', stay with BT.

      Of course if you don't want your connect slowed down every weekday evening between about 4pm to 11pm and all the weekend, then Sky will provide you with a far better connection.

      Personally I would love to have FTTP though. This could provide 1Gbit d/l & 600mb upload speeds.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    11. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      smithphilip1 (09-01-12)

    12. #19
      smithphilip1's Avatar
      smithphilip1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BT Business Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD+3D+Multi
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Location
      Norfolk
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Get SKYBB Soon Advise Required.

      I'm on BT Total Business Broadband Unlimited. I don't have ANY slow times ever for over 2 years with them.

      Would you like to teamview see my current stats etc?

      Sky promised me no slow down during peak hours? Have they lied?

      Fibre at Cromer/Norfolk maybe in 20 years

      Thank you for your reply's you have been helping me a lot.

    13. #20
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Get SKYBB Soon Advise Required.

      The only time people have experienced a connection which has been slowed down whilst with Sky in the past 12 months are:

      Sky BB Connect (when over the daily limit)
      last year when the Backhaul was overloaded in several parts of the country (North Wales, parts of northern England, Kent & NW London)

      The backhaul issues took a few months to resolve and from posts on this forum it appears that Sky are getting the backhaul geared up for a Fibre network being added. Any other issues have been with faulty lines or other localised issues. Take a look in this section to see the historical list of issues experienced:

      Sky Broadband Service Status

      It is perhaps very important to mention, as you are on a business package, that Sky's BB is a domestic product. Should something happen then you will not get compensation for loss of business with Sky. A business connection is also prioritised over a domestic connection should a fault develop.

      Having said all that, personally I haven't have an issue with my BB connection or phone. I have hammered my connection on a regular basis. Last November I managed to download over 1.9TB. Most of it was through torrents. I haven't had any throttling.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION