Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Existing Customer N Router

    This is a discussion on Existing Customer N Router within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I've been with sky bb from a few years now and would really like to upgrade my router (old sagem) ...

    1. #1
      Dante_Heaven's Avatar
      Dante_Heaven is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Existing Customer N Router

      I've been with sky bb from a few years now and would really like to upgrade my router (old sagem) to a new sky n router. Is this possible, and if so is it free? How would I do it also

      Thanks in advance


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Schrodinger56's Avatar
      Schrodinger56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      229
      Thanks
      30
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Existing Customer N Router

      Apparently not. As an existing customer of x years Sky will charge you 35 to change your router even if it becomes faulty. New customers get these new routers free!!

    4. #3
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts
      All new customers get a router for free. Technology moves on and new customers now will get a better router than those that joined years ago.

      I do think that as the t and c's state you have to use their router then it should be replaced for free, although on a like for like basis and not necessarily for he best there is around.

    5. #4
      Nigelh's Avatar
      Nigelh is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Hitchin
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: and Multiroom
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Hitchin
      Posts
      232
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Existing Customer N Router

      That isn't strictly true, mine gave up just before Christmas, and Sky sent me a replacement free of charge, without any request for payment. It wasn't the latest router, but it works, the wi fi is at least as good, and probably slightly better than the old one was.

    6. #5
      SheziKalebra's Avatar
      SheziKalebra is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media 100MB
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Location
      Huddersfield
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Existing Customer N Router

      Hey. If your original router is working fine there will be a one off charge of 35 for the new wireless N router. Bear in mind 35 is an extremely good price for a wireless N router.

      If your original router becomes faulty and is within its 1 year warranty sky will replace it with a like for like free of charge. The wireless N router will still be a charge of 35 either way in warranty or not faulty or not to existing customers. I hope this helps :-)

    7. #6
      SheziKalebra's Avatar
      SheziKalebra is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media 100MB
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Location
      Huddersfield
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Existing Customer N Router

      Also just to clarify it is mentioned in the terms and conditions that if using sky's BB service you must use a Sky Router provided only by Sky.

    8. #7
      Nigelh's Avatar
      Nigelh is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Hitchin
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: and Multiroom
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Hitchin
      Posts
      232
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Existing Customer N Router

      Mine was 4 years old and replaced foc, perhaps I just got lucky? It was a like for like swap, but it works for me.

    9. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Existing Customer N Router

      Quote Originally Posted by SheziKalebra View Post
      Also just to clarify it is mentioned in the terms and conditions that if using sky's BB service you must use a Sky Router provided only by Sky.
      I will strongly suggest that you actually read many of the threads on this forum on this topic.

      It has been confirmed on the Official Sky forum that Sky has never punished anyone for using their own router. There are many Sky personnel advising people to get their own routers.

      There are also a lot of members on this forum, and non-members, who use their own routers, myself included. I have also spoken with people at Sky, before joining in on this forum, when my own router was connected and had issues resolved.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #9
      SheziKalebra's Avatar
      SheziKalebra is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media 100MB
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Location
      Huddersfield
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Existing Customer N Router

      Yep your absolutely correct but this still does violate Sky's terms and conditions in which case they do have the right to terminate your connection at any time - but like you say they haven't and probably wont.

      Working for Sky we are not allowed to provide our customers with any details on how to use their own routers and simply tell them how it viloates Skys terms etc. Anyone who asks me I personally just tell them to Google is

    11. #10
      SheziKalebra's Avatar
      SheziKalebra is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media 100MB
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Location
      Huddersfield
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Existing Customer N Router

      Another reason why Sky prefer using their own routers is that it just makes tech support over the phone that much easier as we are trained on our own routers so any issues it makes it easier for us to determine

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION