Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 4 of 4

    Netgear DG834GT and Tenda W311R

    This is a discussion on Netgear DG834GT and Tenda W311R within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; First post Could I use the Tenda W311R in bridge mode as a Wireless Repeater/ Access Point along with the ...

    1. #1
      Tred_Bloke's Avatar
      Tred_Bloke is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Tredegar
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Netgear DG834GT and Tenda W311R

      First post

      Could I use the Tenda W311R in bridge mode as a Wireless Repeater/ Access Point along with the DG834GT.

      Its at my mums house, a cable between the two is not an option, and homeplugs might be an unnecessary expense. Beside I need 2 Ethernet sockets, one for the bluray and one for the sky box.

      I thought i read somewhere that all sky routers do not support this function?

      Any help appreciated.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Netgear DG834GT and Tenda W311R

      I don't think it is possible with the DG834GT, with Sky firmware. Even with Standard firmware, only certain versions support WDS. It may be possible using custom firmware, like DGTeam, but I have not seen it confirmed. I have seen it reported that this will work with the Sagem 2504, but I think even that requires a hack.

      With regards homeplugs, you can get these with a built in switch with 2, 3 or 4 ports. Here's one with 3 ports, -
      200Mbps 3 PORT ETHERNET POWERLINE HOMEPLUG HOME NETWORK ADAPTER MAINS HOMEPLUGS | eBay

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      Tred_Bloke's Avatar
      Tred_Bloke is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Tredegar
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear DG834GT and Tenda W311R

      Dont ask me , but I really wanna go down the wireless route. I dont think my mum would appreciate more wires and more used up mains sockets.

      Is there a Wireless Access point that will work?

      Also, I've got two old Sky Sagem Routers here. Are you saying these will work with a custom firmware? Replace her Netgear DG834GT with a custom firmware Sagem?

      Will I need to retain her Username & Password (once extracted) or will the ones in the Sagem router be OK?

      Can you point me in the direction of the custom firmware i need?

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Netgear DG834GT and Tenda W311R

      Have a look at this thread, it may be some help to you.-
      Sagem router and Tenda W311R+ WDS

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION