Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Unstable Connection Speeds

    This is a discussion on Unstable Connection Speeds within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; So, where to begin.. First I'll tell you my set up. 4.5km line from exchange Line straight in to my ...

    1. #1
      DoctorGore's Avatar
      DoctorGore is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy Unstable Connection Speeds

      So, where to begin..

      First I'll tell you my set up.

      4.5km line from exchange
      Line straight in to my house, junction box inside
      One Mastersocket
      Microfilter as fitted by a BTO engineer into the Mastersocket
      Black Netgear Router plugged in using supplied cable by Sky
      Homeplugs using supplied Ethernet cables by Sky
      Windows 7 PC

      Since my line is so long I understand that I won't get anything great. The most I've seen on my line is 1888kbps Down (on the Sky router page), which lasted around 2 weeks before I began having trouble again. I was delighted with that speed.

      After a quick call to Sky they sent an engineer out. He found something wrong with one of the poles on my line and that was it, he said it should be fine now. But, speeds remained unstable and generally below 1Mb. I called Sky again and they said they'd do DLM where instead of it making the speed go lower until it's stable, it'd go up. Can they even do that? Needless to say, the speeds remained the same.

      So today, a day after the second call, I was frustrated with my speeds. I was getting no more than 200kbps. I rang Sky and told them nothing had changed. I know DLM takes 7-10 days, but I felt helpless. I was quickly put through to the second level (which I seem to have been all three times) and was told they'd manually configure my line to 1066kbps. They also said the max attainable speed would be around 1.5Mb. After I put the phone down the speeds dropped from 1066kbps to 443kbps.

      I'm really lost here. I'm thinking of switching from Sky to someone who doesn't have a target noise margin the same as Sky's. Would that help on my line? Maybe I should ask my neighbours what speeds their getting with Plusnet... If anyone has suggestions on who I could go with, please say. I'm only really interested in un-capped packages though.

      Here's my current stats;

      System Up Time: 00:37:49
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 8169 11017 0 912 7203 00:27:00
      LAN 100M/Full 8579 6282 0 1335 454 00:37:44
      WLAN 11M/54M 12033 10889 0 4950 742 00:37:32
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 443 kbps 413 kbps
      Line Attenuation 72 db 50 db
      Noise Margin 6 db 11 db

      Please help!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Unstable Connection Speeds

      With an attenuation of 72db, it looks like you are a bit further from the exchange, line wise, than 4.5K. What you can do is call Sky and ask them to try your line on G.DMT(ADSL1), this is often faster and more stable than ADSL2+ which you are on. If they mention DLM again, politely decline and ask for your line to be configured manually.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      DoctorGore's Avatar
      DoctorGore is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Unstable Connection Speeds

      Thanks for the quick reply! well after the first engineer visit about a month and a half back, I got the line changed to G.DMT after your recommendation I think, haha. It was successful, so why would they change it back to ADSL2+?

      Also, when my connection was at 1888kbps, the noise margin generally stayed at 7 (with a fluctuation to 6 ever so often) and the Line Attenuation was 63db.

      Does anyone know how I could get the latest router from Sky? I'm willing to pay.

    5. #4
      DoctorGore's Avatar
      DoctorGore is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Unstable Connection Speeds

      Just plugged in my router to the Test Socket using a standard cable;

      System Up Time: 01:00:23
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 23502 28623 0 1092 7053 00:59:56
      LAN 100M/Full 33079 27802 0 7548 1382 01:00:18
      WLAN 11M/54M 241 0 0 6 0 01:00:06
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 787 kbps 413 kbps
      Line Attenuation 71 db 49 db
      Noise Margin 4 db 10 db

      The noise margin is low, but the speed hasn't changed during the hour it's been on. Does this indicate that it's something on my side causing the problems? Or should I just ring sky (again ) to ask them to change my line to G.DMT?

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Unstable Connection Speeds

      I got the line changed to G.DMT after your recommendation I think, haha. It was successful, so why would they change it back to ADSL2+?
      Because they will insist on fixing things which are not broke.

      Call and ask them to switch you back.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      DoctorGore (23-12-11)

    8. #6
      DoctorGore's Avatar
      DoctorGore is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Unstable Connection Speeds

      Got some news!

      Rang Sky, got through to someone. Asked for my line to be changed to G.DMT. She said she'd get someone from customer services to call me back. No one rang. Rang back up, explained. She noticed that my line is really unstable. Got passed to Customer Services again.

      Guy at Customer Services explained about how because lines differ (some are outside, some underground) that it can affect speeds. I asked him about G.DMT and he said for my line it probably wouldn't be better, and that it's instead for shorter lines that have trouble getting decent speeds. But, he did say I am currently on G.DMT.

      In the end, he configured my line to 1504kbps. He also gave me the direct number to ring them back if I notice any changes, so hopefully they can catch it in the act, haha. Here's my new stats;

      System Up Time: 03:29:54
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 113652 121713 0 2367 10064 03:29:27
      LAN 100M/Full 136059 131580 0 10647 2742 03:29:49
      WLAN 11M/54M 898 0 0 6 0 03:29:37
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1504 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 63 db 31 db
      Noise Margin 9 db 14 db


      So, am I on G.DMT?

      Oh, and thanks again for the advice Isitme.

    9. #7
      DoctorGore's Avatar
      DoctorGore is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Unstable Connection Speeds

      Stats have changed already;

      System Up Time: 04:17:50
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 140012 167728 0 2057 12282 04:17:23
      LAN 100M/Full 189379 164983 0 12959 2465 04:17:45
      WLAN 11M/54M 1094 0 0 6 0 04:17:33
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 832 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 63 db 31 db
      Noise Margin 10 db 11 db

      Used the number to call Customer Solutions (I think, haha), and the person I'm talking to thinks it may be the router. It sort of makes sense, since we've had the router around the same amount of time we've been having the problem. She's running some tests atm, then she's going to ring me back.

      I'll update the thread with any news/change.

    10. #8
      DoctorGore's Avatar
      DoctorGore is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Unstable Connection Speeds

      Update!

      So she ran the tests and there were still some errors. So she told me to just disconnect the router itself and that she'd run some more tests. She then rang back and told me when the router was disconnected that there were no errors, so she's having a new router sent to me free of charge. I asked would it be a newer one, and she said it'd be an updated version of mine. Does that mean it'll be the newest one?

    11. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Unstable Connection Speeds

      You are on G.DMT, at least you were when you posted the previous stats.

      If you have the DG834GT any other Sky router would be a so-called upgrade. So you could receive anything from the V2 Netgear or Sagem right through to the latest Sagem 2504N. I say so-called, as in my opinion the DG834GT was the best router Sky ever supplied, unfortunately they don't last forever.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    12. #10
      DoctorGore's Avatar
      DoctorGore is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Unstable Connection Speeds

      Well, just before we finished talking she put my speed up to 1504kbps. It's been stable ever since.

      I have the black Netgear one, and I like it 'cos it looks like a small HD 1TB box, haha. I'm not really worried about N routers, since I use wired connections, and my mum's laptop easily gets a connection on our current router.

      I'll update this thread when I get the new router.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION