Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 4 of 4

    Slow speeds

    This is a discussion on Slow speeds within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Just wondered if anyone could advise on my stats.i was getting 6 mb download speeds but recently sky have changed ...

    1. #1
      alex33's Avatar
      alex33 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: willowcroft
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Slow speeds

      Just wondered if anyone could advise on my stats.i was getting 6 mb download speeds but recently sky have changed my expected speeds to between 1.4mb -6.00mb and now say because i am getting more than the lower limit there is nothing they will do.The below are from the test socket i have changed the router,cable and filter with no change

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 62857 99804 0 20760 226219 00:07:55
      LAN 100M/Full 92799 63850 0 211757 21680 00:08:35
      WLAN 11M/54M 327 296 0 116 41 00:08:22
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2175 kbps 1015 kbps
      Line Attenuation 45 db 26 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 8 db

      PortStatusTxPktsRxPktsCollisionsTx B/sRx B/sUp TimeWANPPPoA497607800102042022235700:06:12LAN100M/Full728025060702037342097400:06:52WLAN11M/54M27525301214500:06:39ADSL LinkDownstreamUpstreamConnection Speed2175 kbps1015 kbpsLine Attenuation45 db26 dbNoise Margin7 db8 dbPortStatusTxPktsRxPktsCollisionsTx B/sRx B/sUp TimeWANPPPoA497607800102042022235700:06:12LAN100M/Full728025060702037342097400:06:52WLAN11M/54M27525301214500:06:39ADSL LinkDownstreamUpstreamConnection Speed2175 kbps1015 kbpsLine Attenuation45 db26 dbNoise Margin7 db8 dbPortStatusTxPktsRxPktsCollisionsTx B/sRx B/sUp TimeWANPPPoA497607800102042022235700:06:12LAN100M/Full728025060702037342097400:06:52WLAN11M/54M27525301214500:06:39ADSL LinkDownstreamUpstreamConnection Speed2175 kbps1015 kbpsLine Attenuation45 db26 dbNoise Margin7 db8 dbPortStatusTxPktsRxPktsCollisionsTx B/sRx B/sUp TimeWANPPPoA628579980402076022621900:07:55LAN100M/Full927996385002117572168000:08:35WLAN11M/54M32729601164100:08:22ADSL LinkDownstreamUpstreamConnection Speed2175 kbps1015 kbpsLine Attenuation45 db26 dbNoise Margin7 db8 dbPortStatusTxPktsRxPktsCollisionsTx B/sRx B/sUp TimeWANPPPoA628579980402076022621900:07:55LAN100M/Full927996385002117572168000:08:35WLAN11M/54M32729601164100:08:22ADSL LinkDownstreamUpstreamConnection Speed2175 kbps1015 kbpsLine Attenuation45 db26 dbNoise Margin7 db8 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      alex33's Avatar
      alex33 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: willowcroft
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds

      slow.Options
      Edit MessageMark as NewBookmarkSubscribeSubscribe to RSS FeedHighlightPrintEmail to a FriendReport Inappropriate Content....on 16-12-2011 05:05 PM
      could someone advise if my stats look ok

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 8039 6300 0 12894 4034 00:07:46
      LAN 100M/Full 7299 8950 0 4477 11186 00:09:18
      WLAN 11M/54M 664 658 0 382 163 00:09:05
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2876 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 46 db 27 db
      Noise Margin 5 db 14 db
      ....Message 1 of 19 (135 Views)
      .Add Tag...
      Use commas between Tags.... .....Reply ........ ...... Robert
      Sky Knowledge Advisor

      Posts: 5,952
      Registered: 08-12-2010
      0 ..Re: slow.Options
      Mark as NewBookmarkSubscribeSubscribe to RSS FeedHighlightAccept as SolutionPrintEmail to a FriendReport Inappropriate Content....on 17-12-2011 01:06 PM
      Hi Alex3,

      Welcome back to the Forum, I'm sorry to see that this issue has cropped up again. I remember your post last december where we encountered a similar issue.

      The interesting thing I note compared to the stats last time is that your speed instead of 4Mbps is now down at just under 3Mbps however your attenuation has improved since then down by 1 db to 46 db.

      At the moment your noise margin is sitting lower than our target of 7 db, this indicates that there may be something wrong with set-up or the connections at your end.

      Can you confirm if anything has changed on your line recently such as new phones or devices being connected?

      I'd also recommend a few quick checks by following our Slow Connection Troublehsooting guide. Also try swapping the microfilter your router is connected through and posting another set of stats up after following this so that we can compare them.

      Thanks,
      Robert
      Sky Knowledge Advisor
      Forum Help Sky Help Forum - Forum Help - Help & Support from the Official Sky Forum
      Sky Help Centre Help & Support



      Tagging your posts and others with relevant key words is another way to help,
      it also counts towards forum rank.
      .....Message 2 of 19 (115 Views)
      .Add Tag...
      Use commas between Tags.... .....Reply
      Accept as Solution ........ ......Alex3
      Regular Visitor

      Posts: 17
      Registered: 01-12-2010
      0 ..Re: slow.Options
      Edit ReplyMark as NewBookmarkSubscribeSubscribe to RSS FeedHighlightAccept as SolutionPrintEmail to a FriendReport Inappropriate Content....on 18-12-2011 08:15 AM
      Thanks for your reply Robert

      I have carried out the tests in the trouble shooter and nothing as changed also the only thing that as changed since last year is i have had sky line rental instead of Bt since the start of December
      thanks Alex
      ....Message 3 of 19 (99 Views)
      .Add Tag...
      Use commas between Tags.... .....Reply
      Accept as Solution ........ ......Damien-SW
      Senior Member (Bronze)

      Posts: 894
      Registered: 27-01-2011
      0 ..Re: slow.Options
      Mark as NewBookmarkSubscribeSubscribe to RSS FeedHighlightAccept as SolutionPrintEmail to a FriendReport Inappropriate Content....on 18-12-2011 05:58 PM
      are those stats from a bt test socket?
      ----------------------------
      If I have replied to one of your post for help and asked a question which you have answered but not got a reply from me feel free to PM to remind me to check your post.
      Also if i have helped please click on kudos and if I solved the problem please make my post as a solution.
      Damien .....Message 4 of 19 (87 Views)
      .Add Tag...
      Use commas between Tags.... .....Reply
      Accept as Solution ........ ......Alex3
      Regular Visitor

      Posts: 17
      Registered: 01-12-2010
      0 ..Re: slow.Options
      Edit ReplyMark as NewBookmarkSubscribeSubscribe to RSS FeedHighlightAccept as SolutionPrintEmail to a FriendReport Inappropriate Content....on 19-12-2011 07:58 AM
      Yes
      ....Message 5 of 19 (80 Views)
      .Add Tag...
      Use commas between Tags.... .....Reply
      Accept as Solution ........ ......Alex3
      Regular Visitor

      Posts: 17
      Registered: 01-12-2010
      0 ..Re: slow.Options
      Edit ReplyMark as NewBookmarkSubscribeSubscribe to RSS FeedHighlightAccept as SolutionPrintEmail to a FriendReport Inappropriate Content....on 19-12-2011 04:57 PM
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 492604 745274 0 12994 165244 01:19:36
      LAN 100M/Full 671539 453715 0 152220 12821 01:21:08
      WLAN 11M/54M 56719 41277 0 12701 1884 01:20:55
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2413 kbps 1004 kbps
      Line Attenuation 46 db 26 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 7 db

      Updated stats after sky configured my line. Look worse to me
      ....Message 6 of 19 (67 Views)
      .Add Tag...
      Use commas between Tags.... .....Reply
      Accept as Solution ........ ......flamey
      Contributor

      Posts: 115
      Registered: 18-10-2011
      0 ..Re: slow.Options
      Mark as NewBookmarkSubscribeSubscribe to RSS FeedHighlightAccept as SolutionPrintEmail to a FriendReport Inappropriate Content....on 19-12-2011 09:21 PM
      Could you post a traceroute? This could be a result of moving equip in the exchange which could be determined by a traceroute.
      ....Message 7 of 19 (54 Views)
      .Add Tag...
      Use commas between Tags.... .....Reply
      Accept as Solution ........ ......Alex3
      Regular Visitor

      Posts: 17
      Registered: 01-12-2010
      0 ..Re: slow.Options
      Edit ReplyMark as NewBookmarkSubscribeSubscribe to RSS FeedHighlightAccept as SolutionPrintEmail to a FriendReport Inappropriate Content....on 19-12-2011 09:44 PM
      How do i do a traceroute
      ....Message 8 of 19 (50 Views)
      .Add Tag...
      Use commas between Tags.... .....Reply
      Accept as Solution ........ ......Alex3
      Regular Visitor

      Posts: 17
      Registered: 01-12-2010
      0 ..Re: slow.Options
      Edit ReplyDeleteMark as NewBookmarkSubscribeSubscribe to RSS FeedHighlightAccept as SolutionPrintEmail to a FriendReport Inappropriate Content....on 19-12-2011 09:50 PM

      C:\Documents and Settings\alex>tracert mediacollege.com
      Tracing route to mediacollege.com [69.72.153.253]
      over a maximum of 30 hops:
      1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms www.routerlogin.com [192.168.0.1]
      2 46 ms 47 ms 37 ms cr1.emwillo.uk.easynet.net [87.87.252.112]
      3 33 ms 36 ms 47 ms 80.238.57.65
      4 40 ms 71 ms 47 ms 89.200.131.181
      5 41 ms 40 ms 43 ms xe-0-3-0.cr1.lhr1.uk.nlayer.net [195.66.224.37]
      6 39 ms 59 ms 52 ms ae2-70g.cr1.lhr1.uk.nlayer.net [69.22.139.62]
      7 144 ms 112 ms 107 ms xe-11-3-1.cr1.nyc3.us.nlayer.net [69.22.142.132]
      8 106 ms 108 ms 118 ms ae2-70g.cr1.ewr1.us.nlayer.net [69.31.95.145]
      9 114 ms 108 ms 109 ms ae1-70g.ar2.ewr1.us.nlayer.net [69.31.94.118]
      10 128 ms 133 ms 129 ms as25653.xe-7-0-4.ar2.ewr1.us.nlayer.net [69.31.9
      5.82]
      11 108 ms 121 ms 107 ms 208.116.63.254
      12 108 ms 120 ms 107 ms spock.mediacollege.com [69.72.153.253]
      Trace complete.
      ....Message 9 of 19 (43 Views)
      .Add Tag...
      Use commas between Tags.... .....Reply
      Accept as Solution ........ ......flamey
      Contributor

      Posts: 115
      Registered: 18-10-2011
      0 ..Re: slow.Options
      Mark as NewBookmarkSubscribeSubscribe to RSS FeedHighlightAccept as SolutionPrintEmail to a FriendReport Inappropriate Content....on 19-12-2011 09:52 PM
      Depending on your version of windows Start>type cmd in search box> then in the command prompt window type: 'tracert www.bbc.co.uk > C:\trace.txt'

      Wait about 30seconds and you can paste results from trace.txt on C:\.
      ....Message 10 of 19 (38 Views)
      .Add Tag...
      Use commas between Tags.... .....Reply
      Accept as Solution ........ ......Alex3
      Regular Visitor

      Posts: 17
      Registered: 01-12-2010
      0 ..Re: slow.Options
      Edit ReplyDeleteMark as NewBookmarkSubscribeSubscribe to RSS FeedHighlightAccept as SolutionPrintEmail to a FriendReport Inappropriate Content....on 19-12-2011 09:56 PM
      racing route to www.bbc.net.uk [212.58.244.67]
      over a maximum of 30 hops:
      1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms www.routerlogin.com [192.168.0.1]
      2 59 ms 64 ms 38 ms cr1.emwillo.uk.easynet.net [87.87.252.112]
      3 35 ms 44 ms 32 ms 80.238.57.65
      4 44 ms 47 ms 63 ms 89.200.131.181
      5 39 ms 40 ms 39 ms 212.58.238.189
      6 39 ms 43 ms 45 ms 212.58.238.129
      7 39 ms 80 ms 38 ms 212.58.239.58
      8 39 ms 46 ms 45 ms 212.58.251.44
      9 40 ms 39 ms 38 ms bbc-vip112.telhc.bbc.co.uk [212.58.244.67]
      Trace complete.
      ....Message 11 of 19 (33 Views)
      .Add Tag...
      Use commas between Tags.... .....Reply
      Accept as Solution ........ ......flamey
      Contributor

      Posts: 115
      Registered: 18-10-2011
      0 ..Re: slow[ Edited ] .Options
      Mark as NewBookmarkSubscribeSubscribe to RSS FeedHighlightAccept as SolutionPrintEmail to a FriendReport Inappropriate Content....on 19-12-2011 09:58 PM - last edited on 19-12-2011 09:59 PM
      Your bb exchange equipment has not changed so this suggests another issue.

      More noise has been introduced to the line from somewhere, this time of year can be pretty bad for that. Christmas lights are a popular one or alternatively could be some kind of line fault. Hard to tell without running line tests and such, I suggest asking sky to check the line.
      ....Message 12 of 19 (28 Views)
      .Add Tag...
      Use commas between Tags.... .....Reply
      Accept as Solution ........ ......Alex3
      Regular Visitor

      Posts: 17
      Registered: 01-12-2010
      0 ..Re: slow.Options
      Edit ReplyMark as NewBookmarkSubscribeSubscribe to RSS FeedHighlightAccept as SolutionPrintEmail to a FriendReport Inappropriate Content....on 19-12-2011 10:02 PM
      i was getting 6 mb download speeds but recently sky have changed my expected speeds to between 1.4mb -6.00mb and now say because i am getting more than the lower limit there is nothing they will do.The below are from the test socket i have changed the router,cable and filter with no change also no noise on line
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 62857 99804 0 20760 226219 00:07:55
      LAN 100M/Full 92799 63850 0 211757 21680 00:08:35
      WLAN 11M/54M 327 296 0 116 41 00:08:22
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2175 kbps 1015 kbps
      Line Attenuation 45 db 26 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 8 db

      ....Message 13 of 19 (22 Views)
      .Add Tag...
      Use commas between Tags.... .....Reply
      Accept as Solution ........ ......flamey
      Contributor

      Posts: 115
      Registered: 18-10-2011
      0 ..Re: slow[ Edited ] .Options
      Mark as NewBookmarkSubscribeSubscribe to RSS FeedHighlightAccept as SolutionPrintEmail to a FriendReport Inappropriate Content....on 19-12-2011 10:06 PM - last edited on 19-12-2011 10:06 PM
      Although there may be no audible noise the SNR has dropped (resulting in lower speed) which means more noise is now interfering on the line than before. It's very tricky in these situations because BTOpenworld don't really care half the time as long as the line works- whether you get a 2meg or 20meg connection it doesn't matter to them. Did this only start when you switched to sky line rental or was it before/after that?
      ....Message 14 of 19 (17 Views)
      .Add Tag...
      Use commas between Tags.... .....Reply
      Accept as Solution ........ ......Alex3
      Regular Visitor

      Posts: 17
      Registered: 01-12-2010
      0 ..Re: slow.Options
      Edit ReplyMark as NewBookmarkSubscribeSubscribe to RSS FeedHighlightAccept as SolutionPrintEmail to a FriendReport Inappropriate Content....on 19-12-2011 10:11 PM
      Sky only started quoting this when signing up on 12 month contract
      ....

    4. #3
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds

      That's not the easiest thing to follow, you could've just linked to the Sky forum
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds

      I agree, it is difficult to make sense of it, or even why you have posted it. One thing stands out if the tracerts shown are yours and that is that you are not on the SVBN. You are still on the old Easynet system.

      If you are plugged into the Test socket and getting these stats, there is only a couple of things that can be wrong and that is you have a fault on your external line or your router is failing.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION