Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Extremely slow speeds. Capped? Help please!

    This is a discussion on Extremely slow speeds. Capped? Help please! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Have not posted for a while sorry. But have returned home to my Sky broadband (currently at University elsewhere) and ...

    1. #1
      seaninfrared's Avatar
      seaninfrared is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gorseinon, South Wales
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Swansea
      Posts
      127
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Extremely slow speeds. Capped? Help please!

      Have not posted for a while sorry.

      But have returned home to my Sky broadband (currently at University elsewhere) and found that my connection has dropped immensely. Was wondering if there are any fixes to this? Or shall I just ring Sky up in the morning?

      Here are the detailed stats! (Still remember how to do this! Woohoo!)

      ppp0 Link encap:Point-Point Protocol
      inet addr:90.203.170.148 P-t-P:87.87.251.65 Mask:255.255.255.255
      UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
      RX packets:1889 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
      TX packets:2100 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
      collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
      RX bytes:1840221 (1.7 MiB) TX bytes:297906 (290.9 KiB)

      Uptime 203.91 185.37
      Wan up 89.33 76.48
      adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: ShowtimeRetrain Reason: 0
      Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 653 Kbps, Downstream rate = 761 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: U:ON /D:ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 8.8 9.5
      Attn(dB): 54.0 31.4
      Pwr(dBm): 1.1 10.6
      Max(Kbps): 3828 752
      Rate (Kbps): 761 653
      G.dmt framing
      K: 3(0) 21
      R: 12 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 0 4
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 103 66
      B: 2 20
      M: 1 8
      T: 5 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 0.1176 7.8297
      L: 1020 188
      D: 256 4
      Counters
      SF: 11325 10679
      SFErr: 0 1
      RS: 6172194 92587
      RSCorr: 7 751872
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 324715 278798
      Data Cells: 39640 8503
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 1
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 15 628
      AS: 181

      INP: 12.04 1.36
      PER: 16.02 17.61
      delay: 7.52 7.82
      OR: 54.40 32.69

      Bitswap: 45 5

      Total time = 3 min 23 sec
      SF = 11325
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 3 min 23 sec
      SF = 11325
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 3 min 23 sec
      SF = 11325
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Showtime Drop Reason: 0
      Last Retrain Reason: 0
      ChipSet Vendor Id: GSPN:0x 10
      ChipSet VersionNumber:
      ChipSet SerialNumber:


      Thanks all in advance!

      Ok pings. (24/05/08)


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Extremely slow speeds. Capped? Help please!

      You're not capped (or not enough to drop 3Mbps) so I suggest a reboot and/or connect to your master/test socket and check your stats again
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      seaninfrared's Avatar
      seaninfrared is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gorseinon, South Wales
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Swansea
      Posts
      127
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Extremely slow speeds. Capped? Help please!

      Problem is now fixed.

      I rang Sky up, and they tweaked some stuff, and I am now seeing faster than ever sync speeds.

      Problem is, I am currently using a high quality 10m+ RJ11 cable, and I am wondering where I can get a top quality 1m or less cable so I can get even better sync speeds.

      Ok pings. (24/05/08)

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Extremely slow speeds. Capped? Help please!

      These 'top quality' cables aren't any better than a decent DSL cable. This is what I use, baring in mind that I also use a BT filtered faceplate:

      1m RJ11 to RJ45 Patch Lead
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      seaninfrared's Avatar
      seaninfrared is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gorseinon, South Wales
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Swansea
      Posts
      127
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Extremely slow speeds. Capped? Help please!

      Quote Originally Posted by IWasNotTheEnemy View Post
      These 'top quality' cables aren't any better than a decent DSL cable. This is what I use, baring in mind that I also use a BT filtered faceplate:

      1m RJ11 to RJ45 Patch Lead
      Well, the long cable I have (which was more expensive) shows a lower line attenuation than my 1m standard cable? So that is why I thought if I bought a short quality cable, that I may be able to achieve even faster speeds?

      Thanks for the help.

      Ok pings. (24/05/08)

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Extremely slow speeds. Capped? Help please!

      I doubt Sky have done a lot to the config, did it go back up after a reboot as I suggested before calling?

      End of the day get what you feel comfortable with. I went for the cable I linked to and combined with the filtered faceplate I get 8Mbps 24/7 (I can get 16Mbps but CBA to upgrade my connection - I'd lose my unlimited data otherwise! )
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      seaninfrared's Avatar
      seaninfrared is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gorseinon, South Wales
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Swansea
      Posts
      127
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Extremely slow speeds. Capped? Help please!

      Quote Originally Posted by IWasNotTheEnemy View Post
      I doubt Sky have done a lot to the config, did it go back up after a reboot as I suggested before calling?

      End of the day get what you feel comfortable with. I went for the cable I linked to and combined with the filtered faceplate I get 8Mbps 24/7 (I can get 16Mbps but CBA to upgrade my connection - I'd lose my unlimited data otherwise! )
      Bad news, it had been working fine this afternoon after I rang them up and the man on the other end of the phone configured some stuff...

      BUT... It has happened again! Some clueless staff telling me I can't get more than 1000kbs sync speed, even though I have been having 3500+ for about 2 years...

      My noise margin has SKY rocketed (no pun intended) and they have promised to ring me back.. But still awaiting their call after 30mins... SIGH...

      Below are my new router stats...

      ppp0 Link encap:Point-Point Protocol
      inet addr:90.203.170.144 P-t-P:87.87.251.65 Mask:255.255.255.255
      UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
      RX packets:338387 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
      TX packets:356285 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
      collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
      RX bytes:490380924 (467.6 MiB) TX bytes:17021504 (16.2 MiB)

      Uptime 5015.23 4554.48
      Wan up 1053.88 985.40
      adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: ShowtimeRetrain Reason: 1
      Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 512 Kbps, Downstream rate = 1344 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 22.5 22.0
      Attn(dB): 54.0 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 16.2 12.3
      Max(Kbps): 1504 1120
      Rate (Kbps): 1344 512
      G.dmt framing
      K: 43(0) 17
      R: 16 16
      S: 4 8
      D: 16 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 60 70
      B: 28 15
      M: 4 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 10 16
      S: 3.9069 7.5294
      L: 258 153
      D: 8 4
      Counters
      SF: 236588 236533
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 4022008 2010530
      RSCorr: 427080 2
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 12749124 0
      Data Cells: 10470681 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 30 3
      SES: 2 4
      UAS: 52 102
      AS: 4023

      INP: 1.24 1.67
      PER: 16.11 17.88
      delay: 7.81 7.52
      OR: 32.76 34.00

      Bitswap: 0 0

      Total time = 1 hours 23 min 35 sec
      SF = 238356
      CRC = 453
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 18
      ES = 30
      Latest 1 day time = 1 hours 23 min 35 sec
      SF = 238356
      CRC = 453
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 18
      ES = 30
      Latest 15 minutes time = 8 min 35 sec
      SF = 30267
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52923
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52982
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52923
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 49261
      CRC = 453
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 15
      ES = 1
      Showtime Drop Reason: 1
      Last Retrain Reason: 1
      ChipSet Vendor Id: GSPN:0x 8
      ChipSet VersionNumber: 0x 8
      ChipSet SerialNumber:

      HELP!

      EDIT: I have also realised they have taken me off FAST!!! The bloody cheek! Can I request to be put back on?

      Ok pings. (24/05/08)

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Extremely slow speeds. Capped? Help please!

      You have been put on G.DMT but they have not reconfigured your line when they did so. Call them up and get them to fix it. As usual you may have to ring back a few times to get someone with more than air between their ears.

      Previously you were on ADSL2 and Fast channel, neither of which Sky use officially. I doubt if they will put you back on it, nothing to stop you asking though

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Extremely slow speeds. Capped? Help please!

      1. You were never on 'fast' - Sky don't use it. It's a bug in the Netgear reporting it
      2. When the connection drops do you reboot it again to see if the speed goes up?
      3. Use the cable supplied by Sky in case it's an issue with your 'quality' 10m extension
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION