Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Possible line fault?

    This is a discussion on Possible line fault? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; When my dlm finished, I was put on a 16 down 1 up profile, and my noise margin was 7.1. ...

    1. #1
      Uther's Avatar
      Uther is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2011
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Possible line fault?

      When my dlm finished, I was put on a 16 down 1 up profile, and my noise margin was 7.1. I was getting about 14 down and 900 up. rock solid for several weeks.
      A couple of days ago we had a quick powercut and the line was very noisy for a short while, and is still a little noisy now (not sure if related, but it did reboot the router), and now my noise margin has dropped to aprrox 5.7
      Speed does not seem to have dropped, but i'm a bit worried it will go lower. Could this be a line fault or something else?
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Possible line fault?-snip-9.12.12.jpg  


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      boothy_08's Avatar
      boothy_08 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Oldham
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media 120Mbps
      Router: Superhub 2 VM
      Sky TV: Freeview TV
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      421
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Possible line fault?

      Christmas lights mate, this time of the year is probably the worst for slowing down your broadband or interfering with your broadband signal, the lights can cause the SNR to drop.

      Not only that but at night time the SNR should drop slightly anyway due to street lights etc. You have nothing to worry about unless your internet is disconnecting and your house phone isn't working correctly.

    4. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Possible line fault?

      Certainly I would be inclined to take a good look around at what make be causing the drop.

      Any faulty electrical device may cause noise on your line. This may be something local or could be further away. REIN is a good potential, so please read the link below.

      ::. Kitz - REIN .::

      It is not the only potential cause. Double check your microfilters. They tend to have an average lifespan of 2 years. Filtered faceplates will last longer.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #4
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Possible line fault?

      A BT 80B RF3 can help with REIN issues as can an I Plate.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    6. #5
      Uther's Avatar
      Uther is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2011
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Possible line fault?

      No microfilters and have a filtered faceplate. Has not changed overnight and no loss of connection so will see how it goes.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION