Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 16 of 16

    My Max package speed

    This is a discussion on My Max package speed within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Just done a speed test using http://www.speedtest.net/index.php using the socket behind the face plate it was 11017/507... with the faceplate ...

    1. #11
      sharpiejas's Avatar
      sharpiejas is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Tottenham, LNTOT
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Just done a speed test using http://www.speedtest.net/index.php

      using the socket behind the face plate it was 11017/507...
      with the faceplate on it was only 2275/267...

      Should i be complaining to BT?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Gaztops's Avatar
      Gaztops is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Wanadoo/Orange
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      350
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I wouldn't rush in and complain to BT yet as it looks like something internal is causing the speed drop and BT would probably charge you for an internal issue.

      Try unplugging all filters and phones from your extensions and do another speed test.

    4. #13
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      @sharpiejas

      Thats not good at all but then I don't trust that site it gives far to many false readings. I prefer this one http://www.speedtest.bbmax.co.uk/

      I find it a lot more accurate when I need a rough idea how the connection is doing but a good ftp site is the best indicator for a more accurate speed test try this one
      ftp://ftp.mirror.ac.uk/edunfs/mirror...4-bootonly.iso
      25MB file

      You may also find that replacing the faceplate with a filtered one from ADSL Naton
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    5. #14
      sharpiejas's Avatar
      sharpiejas is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Tottenham, LNTOT
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Thanks guys...

      I spoke to BT and they informed me that they only had me down for a main socket. I had one phone in my bedroom too, which was on another socket. Now that this is disconnected, the line is fine. Just means i haven't got a phone in my bedroom now.....

    6. #15
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Thats no so good time to get a twin handest phone something like this
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    7. #16
      Gaztops's Avatar
      Gaztops is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Wanadoo/Orange
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      350
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Have you tried plugging in your bedroom phone without the filter. This may tell you whether it is the actual phone or the filter thats at fault.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION