Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    My experience so far...

    This is a discussion on My experience so far... within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all. I've been using Sky MAX for three weeks now. I'm less than impressed. I posted at the time ...

    1. #1
      GlumReaper's Avatar
      GlumReaper is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      My experience so far...

      Hi all.

      I've been using Sky MAX for three weeks now. I'm less than impressed. I posted at the time about the troubles I had trying to get the router, and from what I've read in threads on this forum I got off lightly! This aside, I'm finding the service slower (or narrower if you like) and less reliable than my old 2mbps connexion.

      My stats (currently):

      Connection Speed 6078 kbps 766 kbps
      Line Attenuation 42.0 db 27.6 db
      Noise Margin 6.4 db 11.2 db

      The speed goes up and down between 5000-7000 kbps upon reconnect, which is something I have to do quite frequently when the connexion drops for no apparent reason. Confirming what I've read here, it is the NM dropping to below 4db that seems to cause the drop-off. Reconnecting/Rebooting through the admin page never works - I always have to hard-reset the router.

      DSLZone UK tells me I am 1.07km from the exchange, and that my attenuation should allow speeds of 8-12mbps.

      In actual use though it is far slower. I've just tried the ISO link from another thread and got about 60kBps over ftp. I also have tried a bittorrent download this session, and get about 50kBps - this pales in comparison to the 150-200kBps I used to get for bittorrent pre-sky.

      Thanks for reading, I hope that was of interest to someone. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

      EDIT: Ooops, this probably should have been in general. Could some kindly mod move it for me please?
      Last edited by GlumReaper; 06-10-06 at 09:42 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Your wish is my command Moved

      Have you tried the TCPOptimizer that seems to have helped quite a few people. Optimising your Broadband Connection
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    4. #3
      GlumReaper's Avatar
      GlumReaper is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks for moving the thread, and thatnks for the quick and helpful answer (a sign you're not a sky employee!)

      Unfortuantely that TCPOptimizer didn't seem to make much of a difference when I tried it.
      Last edited by GlumReaper; 06-10-06 at 10:55 PM.

    5. #4
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      NP and nope I am a wheechair expert

      Ok then lets see how about the Master Scoket thanks Kitz if you have one always worth a try.
      Last edited by Wheelie; 06-10-06 at 10:47 PM.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    6. #5
      GlumReaper's Avatar
      GlumReaper is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks for the suggestion.

      I've tried the master socket once before and the noise margin gained an extra decibel or two. That was only a quick test though as it's not in the most convenient place (behind the kitchen sink!).

      I'll try a more thorough test, probably tomorrow. Thanks again!

    7. #6
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      NP

      Behind the kitchen sink that seems to be a strange place to put a phone point and I would venture to suggest a real bad idea.

      I would call BT and get that moved as I bet thats the problem in a nutshell there most be so much moisture around that area it can in no way be good for any kind of technology.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION