Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 12 12311 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 112

    new sky bb set up

    This is a discussion on new sky bb set up within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; been a member here for few years but not posted, cant log on with my old user name or request ...

    1. #1
      lee2010's Avatar
      lee2010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: billion 7800n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Location
      northumberland
      Posts
      161
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      new sky bb set up

      been a member here for few years but not posted, cant log on with my old user name or request a password reset??

      any way had sky bb at last house, had a atenuation of 31 db and a noise margin anywhere from7 to 6.4, had a sync to the exchange at over 11500 and had a rock solid bb conection with fast speeds for years.

      i have now moved to a new house across the road from the old house.

      dlm is running but has done nothing for 4 days now, this was the recent stats:
      7008 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 35.5 dB 20.7 dB
      Noise Margin 6.9 dB 15.5 dB





      so my attenuation has raised a little from the old house as expected as slightly further away from exchange, and the noise margin is the same at new house as it was at old house.

      the above stats have been like that for a good few days now and dlm has made no changes for days.

      however i have just recived my first phone call on my new sky line rental line, (i have had the router page open on a laptop, and after the phone call when i went back to the laptop i noticed the new nosie margine as below)

      7007 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 35.5 dB 20.7 dB
      Noise Margin 10.4 dB 15.9 dB


      this is really strange, whats also strange is the noise argin was orginaly the same at the new house as it was at the last.

      im conected to the master socket, there are no extensions in the house and no bell wire conected, i have a line from the pole to the house conected to a bt open reach box.


      anyone any idear what is going on and why the noise margin has shot up after a first telephone call on the new line, and why the noise margin was original the same as the noise margin at the last house

      cheers.



    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      Usually when using the phone increases the noise margin(a good thing*) it indicates a high resistance fault on the line. If you are with Sky call them and ask them to check your line as you think you have a fault as you get intermittent noise. If they send out an engineer, explain about the phone/noise margin thing and if he is worth his salt it should point him to the problem. If you are with BT do the same but do not mention broadband until the engineer is in your house.

      *You should have a sync speed of around 10-11Mb which the higher noise margin would allow.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      lee2010's Avatar
      lee2010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: billion 7800n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Location
      northumberland
      Posts
      161
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      thanks for your reply, the noise margin shot up after the telephone call, not during the call, and the noise margin is still 10.4.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      I think it still indicates a fault, but let DLM run its course and see what happens.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      lee2010's Avatar
      lee2010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: billion 7800n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Location
      northumberland
      Posts
      161
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      will do mate, hope fully dlm will do something tonight, well 3 am ish ill keep you all updated

    7. #6
      lee2010's Avatar
      lee2010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: billion 7800n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Location
      northumberland
      Posts
      161
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      7pm::

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7007 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 35.5 dB 20.7 dB
      Noise Margin 5.9 dB 15.6 dB


      looks like a enginer will be needed.....

    8. #7
      lee2010's Avatar
      lee2010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: billion 7800n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Location
      northumberland
      Posts
      161
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      also just noticed there is some kind of whineing sound on my phone, its a cordless but i never had this noise at my last addrses, its hard to explain what kind of noise it is, but you can quite clearly here it as the frequency of the sound seems to go up and down, ie its not a constant noise it kinda changes

    9. #8
      lee2010's Avatar
      lee2010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: billion 7800n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Location
      northumberland
      Posts
      161
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      todays stats 11.15 am:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6898 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 35.5 dB 20.7 dB
      Noise Margin 12.8 dB 15.5 dB

    10. #9
      lee2010's Avatar
      lee2010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: billion 7800n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Location
      northumberland
      Posts
      161
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      also on phone now reporting the noise problem, luckily the guy at sky can hear the noise at his end to.. will keep you updated.

    11. #10
      lee2010's Avatar
      lee2010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: billion 7800n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Location
      northumberland
      Posts
      161
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      got open reach going to exchange tommrow, then to my house if needs be.

     

     
    Page 1 of 12 12311 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION