Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 9 of 12 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast
    Results 81 to 90 of 112

    new sky bb set up

    This is a discussion on new sky bb set up within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; ok i have stoped the experiment, dont want to upset dlm and of the error rates. the white router has ...

    1. #81
      lee2010's Avatar
      lee2010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: billion 7800n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Location
      northumberland
      Posts
      161
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      ok i have stoped the experiment, dont want to upset dlm and of the error rates. the white router has now been set back to 6.9 noise margin.

      stats:
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7278 kbps 1087 kbps
      Line Attenuation 36.5 db 21.9 db
      Noise Margin 7.9 db 7.1 db

      i fully understand about the quality of the line aswel as the attenuation.

      i will let it count some errors for a hour on the white sky router and post them stats here before i switch back to the n router.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #82
      lee2010's Avatar
      lee2010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: billion 7800n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Location
      northumberland
      Posts
      161
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      dont need to run it a hour:

      Bitswap: 650 1

      Total time = 34 min 31 sec
      SF = 126573
      CRC = 2
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      Latest 1 day time = 34 min 31 sec
      SF = 126573
      CRC = 2
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      Latest 15 minutes time = 4 min 31 sec
      SF = 16822
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55683
      CRC = 1
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 54068
      CRC = 1
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Showtime Drop Reason: 0
      Last Retrain Reason: 0

    4. #83
      lee2010's Avatar
      lee2010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: billion 7800n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Location
      northumberland
      Posts
      161
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      i hope the noise margin aint to do with svbn, i wason easynet at last house, sky have both easynet and svbn in my exchange. on svbn here

    5. #84
      boothy_08's Avatar
      boothy_08 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Oldham
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media 120Mbps
      Router: Superhub 2 VM
      Sky TV: Freeview TV
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      421
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      SVBN drops the speed slightly, but not by 3Mbps, mine dropped the next day after it switched from 8000Kbps to 6.7Mbps.

    6. #85
      boothy_08's Avatar
      boothy_08 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Oldham
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media 120Mbps
      Router: Superhub 2 VM
      Sky TV: Freeview TV
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      421
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      The chip in the SVBN equipment different so it dropped. I got a D-Link it went back up to 7.6Mbps

    7. #86
      lee2010's Avatar
      lee2010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: billion 7800n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Location
      northumberland
      Posts
      161
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      thanks for that snippet of info, open reach be here less then 24 hours, ill update after he has been.

    8. #87
      boothy_08's Avatar
      boothy_08 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Oldham
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media 120Mbps
      Router: Superhub 2 VM
      Sky TV: Freeview TV
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      421
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      Hopefully he sorts it for you mate

    9. #88
      lee2010's Avatar
      lee2010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: billion 7800n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Location
      northumberland
      Posts
      161
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      hopefully bud, my only other option is bt infinty when they do my exchange but thats a year off.

    10. #89
      boothy_08's Avatar
      boothy_08 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Oldham
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media 120Mbps
      Router: Superhub 2 VM
      Sky TV: Freeview TV
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      421
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      my exchange on samknows shown FTTC with a tick, does that mean we can get it then yeah?

      FTTC status:


      Available in some areas

      some areas, probably not this street lol

    11. #90
      lee2010's Avatar
      lee2010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: billion 7800n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Location
      northumberland
      Posts
      161
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      i dont know, bt.com infinity will tell you though

      stick your postcode etc into infinity secetion

     

     
    Page 9 of 12 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION