Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 8 of 12 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast
    Results 71 to 80 of 112

    new sky bb set up

    This is a discussion on new sky bb set up within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I would put to noise margin to 3db, the connection should stay connected at 3db. I tweaked mine to 3db ...

    1. #71
      boothy_08's Avatar
      boothy_08 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Oldham
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media 120Mbps
      Router: Superhub 2 VM
      Sky TV: Freeview TV
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      421
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      I would put to noise margin to 3db, the connection should stay connected at 3db.
      I tweaked mine to 3db and it would stay connected. Any lower and i would get a lot of FEC's and CRC errors and sometimes a disconnection at night time. There is a 3db profile on o2 so it should hold at that. Maybe getting it to 3.3 - 3.5db would be better then when its late it will drop to 3db. Do the tweak early hours of the day, 8am - 12pm would be the best time.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #72
      boothy_08's Avatar
      boothy_08 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Oldham
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media 120Mbps
      Router: Superhub 2 VM
      Sky TV: Freeview TV
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      421
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      Also try G.DMT as well as ADSL2+ you might get a connection more stable with g.dmt as well as a 10Mbps sync, as G.DMT can sync over 8 Mbps on sky, i have had a sync over 8 meg before using G.DMT

    4. #73
      lee2010's Avatar
      lee2010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: billion 7800n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Location
      northumberland
      Posts
      161
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      also this is just a experiment for tonight, im hoping open reach are going to be able to fix my issues tomrow, i dont like having the old netgear connected, was loving the n router i just cant hack the noise margin on it lol

    5. #74
      lee2010's Avatar
      lee2010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: billion 7800n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Location
      northumberland
      Posts
      161
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      Quote Originally Posted by boothy_08 View Post
      Also try G.DMT as well as ADSL2+ you might get a connection more stable with g.dmt as well as a 10Mbps sync, as G.DMT can sync over 8 Mbps on sky, i have had a sync over 8 meg before using G.DMT
      im off out now mate. ill do a g.dmt for you later.

    6. #75
      boothy_08's Avatar
      boothy_08 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Oldham
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media 120Mbps
      Router: Superhub 2 VM
      Sky TV: Freeview TV
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      421
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      When issues are fixed, use the netgear router and connection N one to the netgear giving you wireless N speeds. Its simple to do, search piggypack wireless N router on the internet. People on here should know how to do it as well.

    7. #76
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,903
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      In simple terms you have quite a few errors. I would suggest that you examine your internal wiring. Make sure that this is set up to the best possible configuration and recheck the CRC errors.

      If they are still high, then the simple truth is that I would recommend that you reduce your connection speed as you are pushing it too much for your line length.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #77
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      Over 1% CRC error rate is very bad. If I were you I would set it back to 7db until your line is fixed. If you don't DLM will knock your speed right down and you will have a fight with Sky to get it back up.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #78
      boothy_08's Avatar
      boothy_08 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Oldham
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media 120Mbps
      Router: Superhub 2 VM
      Sky TV: Freeview TV
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      421
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      The speed he has pushed it to is the speed he should get at 7db anyway, his line attenuation is actually pretty good, the speed isn't.

    10. #79
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,903
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      Quote Originally Posted by boothy_08 View Post
      The speed he has pushed it to is the speed he should get at 7db anyway, his line attenuation is actually pretty good, the speed isn't.
      When looking at the Line Attenuation, you need to appreciate that you can calculate the ideal connection speed. It really depends on when the line can hold though.

      A good quality copper line will train at a higher speed. An Aluminium line coated in copper will not perform as well.

      On this forum I have seen lines with higher Line Attenuation figures than mine connect at over 20mb and lines with lower Line Attenuation figures train at slower speeds.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    11. #80
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      The speed he has pushed it to is the speed he should get at 7db anyway
      But he doesn't have 7db, that is the important thing. It does not matter how low the attenuation is if the noise margin is not there to support it. He could probably knock it up another 2 Mb if he dropped the margin to zero, but what's the point?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 8 of 12 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION