Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 6 of 12 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast
    Results 51 to 60 of 112

    new sky bb set up

    This is a discussion on new sky bb set up within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Just look at a neighbour that has an ADSL2+ connection - it would be a good enough comparison if there ...

    1. #51
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      Just look at a neighbour that has an ADSL2+ connection - it would be a good enough comparison if there is one available
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket


    2. Advertisement
    3. #52
      lee2010's Avatar
      lee2010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: billion 7800n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Location
      northumberland
      Posts
      161
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      your right lol, just dont feel very comfortable knocking on strangers doors to check there router stats

      at old address round the corner, bt line rental, bb unlimited with sky, i had similar low noise margin, but id sync to the exchange at over 13mb, i take it i was getting this sync as i was not on svbn?? at old house.

    4. #53
      lee2010's Avatar
      lee2010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: billion 7800n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Location
      northumberland
      Posts
      161
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      i also have the white sky router and a black one with dimples on the top (sky too)

      can any of these be flashed so i can play about with the snr manually?

    5. #54
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      As there is a question on the quality of the telephone cable now supplying your home, it would be more relevant to ask a fellow neighbour to where you are now.

      Sadly if you had good quality copper cable, then you would expect a better connection.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #55
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      i also have the white sky router
      You can install the CU firmwae on this which gives you access to the noise margin, among other thing.
      Community Updates for the DG834GT

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #56
      lee2010's Avatar
      lee2010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: billion 7800n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Location
      northumberland
      Posts
      161
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      been stable on the 20mb profil for 20 hours no drop outs, ive never seen the noise margin drop below 6.4 either. lets hope open reach can do something tommrow to improve this.

      sky sending 20 mb from the exchange, i fully understand ill never get 20mb i wont get 19 18 17 16 15 14 either but i should be getting around 13mb sync, loosing 13mb between the exchange and my house is crazy on my line length. (as im syncing just over 7mb at min)


      isitme, ill look into dooing the white router later.


      WAN
      MER
      2072854
      3592099
      0
      1482
      0
      20:16:50

      LAN
      Up
      3150197
      1564115
      0
      72
      5
      20:17:33

      WLAN
      Up
      964503
      896969
      0
      17675
      2653
      20:17:11


      ADSL Link
      Downstream
      Upstream

      Connection Speed
      7611 kbps
      1112 kbps

      Line Attenuation
      35.5 dB
      20.9 dB

      Noise Margin
      7.1 dB
      7.8 dB

    8. #57
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      13mbps on a 35dB attenuation isn't exactly the norm, unless you have a very, very clean line. 8-10mbps would be more realistic.

    9. #58
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      Our line speed checker puts you at 10-12Mb, and that assumes a first class line. Without tweaking the noise margin right down, I doubt if you will ever see 13Mb.
      SkyUser - Potential ADSL2 Line Speed Checker & Calculator

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #59
      lee2010's Avatar
      lee2010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: billion 7800n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Location
      northumberland
      Posts
      161
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      ok i will be relastic and aim for 10mb sync, as im syncing at 7mb at the min im only going to get about 6.5 on a download speed test.

      isitme, if i hack my white router and fix the noise margin to say 5, do you expect that i will see a improovement in sync speed or have i got my self mixed up with that

    11. #60
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      No probs aiming for 10mbps, but it's all down to what you were quoted at the POS. And just a heads up, I wouldn't advise telling the Openreach SFI what to do in regards to climbing poles etc. as he might get a little annoyed if you tell him how to do his job.

     

     
    Page 6 of 12 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION