Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 11 of 12 FirstFirst ... 9101112 LastLast
    Results 101 to 110 of 112

    new sky bb set up

    This is a discussion on new sky bb set up within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Remember to do the snr tweak in the morning when theres no noise on the line and to try and ...

    1. #101
      boothy_08's Avatar
      boothy_08 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Oldham
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media 120Mbps
      Router: Superhub 2 VM
      Sky TV: Freeview TV
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      421
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      Remember to do the snr tweak in the morning when theres no noise on the line and to try and get the snr to 3.5db so when its night time it will drop to 3db and still be stable.

      Now hook the wireless n router up to the netgear to achieve better wireless speeds, or if your happy with the netgears performance then just leave the setup how it is, its simple to do, infact i got nothing to do imma write you the steps now:

      Ethernet from netgear to any one of the four ethernet ports on the wireless n router.

      1: set the wireless N routers gateway IP to 192.168.0.2
      2: netgear one will be 192.168.0.1
      3: the wireless N DHCP should be turned off
      4: set the netgears dhcp to 192.168.0.3 - 192.168.0.154
      5: turn netgears wireless access point off.

      should then broadcast the wireless n router and you should be able to connect to it and have broadband access.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #102
      lee2010's Avatar
      lee2010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: billion 7800n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Location
      northumberland
      Posts
      161
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      Quote Originally Posted by boothy_08 View Post
      Remember to do the snr tweak in the morning when theres no noise on the line and to try and get the snr to 3.5db so when its night time it will drop to 3db and still be stable.

      Now hook the wireless n router up to the netgear to achieve better wireless speeds, or if your happy with the netgears performance then just leave the setup how it is, its simple to do, infact i got nothing to do imma write you the steps now:

      Ethernet from netgear to any one of the four ethernet ports on the wireless n router.

      1: set the wireless N routers gateway IP to 192.168.0.2
      2: netgear one will be 192.168.0.1
      3: the wireless N DHCP should be turned off
      4: set the netgears dhcp to 192.168.0.3 - 192.168.0.154
      5: turn netgears wireless access point off.

      should then broadcast the wireless n router and you should be able to connect to it and have broadband access.

      will defo do this in the morning mate, i not been at new house long and i have none of my equipment set up only this laptop (and i hate laptops lol)

      got pcs to set up, nas to set up, audio and video from pc to hifi and plasma to set up, cctv system to install, and want it all talking to each other at wireless n speeds, critical equipment is wired but will be handy to have n speeds on wireless equipment.

    4. #103
      lee2010's Avatar
      lee2010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: billion 7800n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Location
      northumberland
      Posts
      161
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      had 1750 crcs in 9 hours, is this acceptable? (at my target noise margin of 3db)

    5. #104
      boothy_08's Avatar
      boothy_08 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Oldham
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media 120Mbps
      Router: Superhub 2 VM
      Sky TV: Freeview TV
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      421
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      I dunno mate, i had a few million FEC's in a day after a lot of downloading and watching a lot of youtube vids but i dont remember how many CRC's i got.

      Any more than a few hundred to a thousand in a day would be bad, sometimes i would get the same sync with an extra db say 4db with the same speed 3db got me, it just means you having to keep doing the tweak command.

      Like i said other day, try G.DMT, you might get a sync similar thats more stable and less errors. ADSL2 is probably the best but sky no longer use it, only G.DMT or ADSL2+

    6. #105
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,893
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      For reference there is a clearer set of instructions for setting up a 2nd router to use in combination with the Sky router on this forum:

      How to connect two Routers together

      You'll note an important difference to the suggestion made by boothy_08: The IP Address.

      IMHO there is no harm in setting the IP address to 192.168.0.2 for the 2nd router, but should you reset the Sky router (sometimes recommended by Sky support) I can guarantee that you will experience an IP Conflict.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #106
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      I have to agree with Scubbie there the '2' address is will be allocated to the first device connected to the router. In your case, at the moment, the laptop. If you assign this to another device, you will have an IP conflict. The only way you can safely use '2' is to make '3' the start address for the DHCP and reboot the router. You can now use '2' as a fixed address on the second router. It is easier to make the address a high one which will not normally be allocated by the DHCP. I use '254'

      With regards CRC errors, I have read that if they exceed 0.5% of the SuperFrames, problems will be experienced. Obviously, the less you have the better. FEC errors are corrected errors and have no effect unless the number is massive, which indicates a problem somewhere.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #107
      lee2010's Avatar
      lee2010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: billion 7800n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Location
      northumberland
      Posts
      161
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      thanks for your replys, hopefully i will get a chance to look at this later, i always use lan ip adress reservation for my equipment, so will factor this in when i set everything up.

    9. #108
      lee2010's Avatar
      lee2010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: billion 7800n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Location
      northumberland
      Posts
      161
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      getting a bit sick now, internet was playing up before, i looked at the stats and it was at -dbs!!! (latest n router not the hacked white)

      now its gone to this:

      ADSL Link
      Downstream
      Upstream
      Connection Speed
      4192 kbps
      1142 kbps
      Line Attenuation
      33.5 dB
      19.7 dB
      Noise Margin
      15.3 dB
      8.3 dB

    10. #109
      boothy_08's Avatar
      boothy_08 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Oldham
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media 120Mbps
      Router: Superhub 2 VM
      Sky TV: Freeview TV
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      421
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      Probably because you have tweaked it too much, so DLM has now kicked in due to the errors. I did say try get it to 4db with a sync almost the same as when it was at 3db.

      When i had mine at 3.5db it was fine for several months but i only tweaked it to that sync when downloading, then used G.DMT, when gaming with a snr slightly higher, 4-5db.

    11. #110
      boothy_08's Avatar
      boothy_08 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Oldham
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media 120Mbps
      Router: Superhub 2 VM
      Sky TV: Freeview TV
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      421
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      My line also eventually reset like yours has, through tweaking it to much.
      Some lines work better than others with a lower snr, some dont work at all.
      I should have warned you.

     

     
    Page 11 of 12 FirstFirst ... 9101112 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION