Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 10 of 12 FirstFirst ... 89101112 LastLast
    Results 91 to 100 of 112

    new sky bb set up

    This is a discussion on new sky bb set up within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by boothy_08 my exchange on samknows shown FTTC with a tick, does that mean we can get it ...

    1. #91
      lee2010's Avatar
      lee2010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: billion 7800n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Location
      northumberland
      Posts
      161
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      Quote Originally Posted by boothy_08 View Post
      my exchange on samknows shown FTTC with a tick, does that mean we can get it then yeah?

      FTTC status:


      Available in some areas

      some areas, probably not this street lol
      go to order the product on bts site, stop at the credit card section, it will tell you if you can get it b4 you get that far


    2. Advertisement
    3. #92
      lee2010's Avatar
      lee2010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: billion 7800n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Location
      northumberland
      Posts
      161
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      bb or engineer here, no faults found on the line or in my house, hes gone to the cab to try me in different lines to see what he can do... he agrees i should be syncing higher

    4. #93
      lee2010's Avatar
      lee2010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: billion 7800n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Location
      northumberland
      Posts
      161
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      new stats, he still at cab: nice improovement

      ADSL Link
      Downstream
      Upstream

      Connection Speed
      9917 kbps
      1146 kbps

      Line Attenuation
      33.5 dB
      19.8 dB

      Noise Margin
      6.9 dB
      7.7 dB

    5. #94
      lee2010's Avatar
      lee2010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: billion 7800n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Location
      northumberland
      Posts
      161
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      all done, he says hes getting 10.5mb on his test equipment at my socket.

    6. #95
      lee2010's Avatar
      lee2010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: billion 7800n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Location
      northumberland
      Posts
      161
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      will try the netgear later with some different noise margin settings, might get it to be stable at 5db, but will all depend on the crc errors.

    7. #96
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      That's better, by the look of your attenuation, he has put you on a different line. An improvement but still not as good as you should be getting. With your attenuation now, 12-14Mb would be normal with a good line. I think you have low quality lines in your area, either the cheaper copper or maybe even aluminium.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #97
      lee2010's Avatar
      lee2010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: billion 7800n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Location
      northumberland
      Posts
      161
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      looks that way, i asked him about ali phone lines he said even him and his mates do not know waht cabling has been used, and your right the sync still is on the low side, but i dont think there is anything else or can do now.

    9. #98
      lee2010's Avatar
      lee2010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: billion 7800n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Location
      northumberland
      Posts
      161
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 12500 kbps 1090 kbps
      Line Attenuation 34.5 db 20.9 db
      Noise Margin 3.1 db 7.6 db

      no crc errors yet, will keep a eye on them

      new speed test, still on the white router via wifi:

    10. #99
      timc's Avatar
      timc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh, Essex
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Hadleigh,Essex
      Posts
      299
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      Putting the speedtest result in your signature is quite confusing as when I was reading the thread where you were syncing at 10 meg I couldn't figure how you were getting that speed.

      Now I understand. (wanted to put a smilie but couldn't figure what was best.)

    11. #100
      lee2010's Avatar
      lee2010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: billion 7800n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Location
      northumberland
      Posts
      161
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: new sky bb set up

      sorry for confusing you

     

     
    Page 10 of 12 FirstFirst ... 89101112 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION