Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Good speeds now slow speeds

    This is a discussion on Good speeds now slow speeds within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Evening all. Have been with sky for a few months now and was enjoying speeds of around 12mb. My check ...

    1. #1
      emmamercer's Avatar
      emmamercer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Good speeds now slow speeds

      Evening all. Have been with sky for a few months now and was enjoying speeds of around 12mb. My check did indicated I should be recieving about 16mb but none the less I was still happy. Now the speeds have dropped to a mere 4 to 5mb.

      Since we have had sky installed the phone line has allways been crackly and not clear and whenever we used the phone to ring someone it completely cut the connection to our broadband.

      Any help or info would be appreciated

      System Up Time: 3:54:19
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN MER 1851775 3037601 0 129689696 2147483647 3:53:03
      LAN Up 7840 348 0 1946801 23024 3:54:19
      WLAN Up 3052720 1867321 0 235498297 125200421 3:54:00
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4483 kbps 1063 kbps
      Line Attenuation 27.0 dB 14.1 dB
      Noise Margin 10.8 dB 7.8 dB
      Last edited by Isitme; 04-12-11 at 04:18 PM. Reason: formatted stats


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      emmamercer's Avatar
      emmamercer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Good speeds now slow speeds

      Right connected my router to the master socket and the problem seems to have dissapeared. I cant imagine it to be due to any wiring being at fault as it was working and we havent touched the sockets. Maybe its duue to the phone being plugged in?

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Good speeds now slow speeds

      Was your Sky digibox connected to the phone line? If so was it connected through a filter. The little box sometimes supplied by TV installers is not a filter, it must be plugged into a filter directly connected to the phone socket.

      Your speed is very low for your attenuation, can you plug into the Test socket if you have one and post the sats from there.
      How to test your ADSL in the Master Test Socket

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      emmamercer's Avatar
      emmamercer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Good speeds now slow speeds

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN MER 663151 1248153 0 103624761 896291653 3:43:58
      LAN Up 7957 357 0 1892212 23893 3:44:44
      WLAN Up 580620 355580 0 801036049 37664560 3:44:25
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 12280 kbps 1105 kbps
      Line Attenuation 26.5 dB 9.5 dB
      Noise Margin 5.7 dB 8.9 dB
      Last edited by Isitme; 04-12-11 at 04:10 PM. Reason: format stats

    6. #5
      emmamercer's Avatar
      emmamercer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Good speeds now slow speeds

      The digibox was connected yes

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Good speeds now slow speeds

      You will see that your DS speed has has nearly tripled, which means that something in your internal set up was badly effecting your speed.

      Your best solution would be to buy, fit and use a filtered faceplate. This will isolate all your internal wiring and give the best chance of getting the most out of your broadband,
      XTE-2005 Clone NTE5 ADSL Faceplate

      RunITDirect is a regular contributor to our forums and will give you excelent service.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      emmamercer's Avatar
      emmamercer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Good speeds now slow speeds

      Would it be the phone then as the quality of the line whilst making a call is poor to say the least?

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Good speeds now slow speeds

      If your line quality is low, from the Test socket, then you should report it to your phone rental provider as a faulty line. A faulty phone is unlikely to cause your speed to drop so drastically, especially if it is plugged into a filter.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION