Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 15

    Incredibly slow speeds

    This is a discussion on Incredibly slow speeds within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi. Although I don't believe Sky are causing this, is there any way I can boost the speed of my ...

    1. #1
      zAerokill's Avatar
      zAerokill is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01256 (Basingstoke)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Location
      Basingstoke
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy Incredibly slow speeds

      Hi.

      Although I don't believe Sky are causing this, is there any way I can boost the speed of my internet? I checked some stats and it says I have a line attenuation of 60db. So I think the line is probably faulty. I also recently discovered that my area has been enabled with fibre optics, although I'm sure we don't actually have it yet.

      Here are the results of one of the tests I did.



      It's not always like this, it's usually around 30kB/s, but it basically makes everyday life a hassle...


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Incredibly slow speeds

      Post your router stats from your Test socket if you have one. Use only the ADSL cable supplied by Sky.

      How to get your router statistics
      How to test your ADSL in the Master Test Socket

      If you do not have a Test socket, plug into the Master socket.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      zAerokill's Avatar
      zAerokill is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01256 (Basingstoke)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Location
      Basingstoke
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Incredibly slow speeds

      Connection Speed
      Down 1530 kbps Up 796 kbps

      Line Attenuation
      Down 59 db Up 33 db

      Noise Margin
      Down 6 db Up 8 db

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Incredibly slow speeds

      Is that from the Test socket. If not post the results from there.

      If it is from the Test socket can you answer the following
      1. Do you have extensions?
      2. Are they wired to the faceplate of the master socket?
      3. When the faceplate is removed do you have a dial tone at any of your extension sockets?
      4. Is there any noise when you plug a corded phone into the Test socket and dial one digit?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      zAerokill's Avatar
      zAerokill is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01256 (Basingstoke)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Location
      Basingstoke
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Incredibly slow speeds

      I don't believe I have a test socket, it looks like this:



      There is a microfilter coming out of the socket which splits the phone with the internet. Other than that there's nothing else coming out of it.

      And I'll get back to you when I've done the test with a wired phone (Tomorrow). But I expect there to be some cracking

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Incredibly slow speeds

      The main point is do you have extensions? If so they are likely to be effecting your broadband. If you have, one thing you can do which will usually improve your performance is remove the ring wire. This is the wire connected to terminal 3 on the back of the faceplate, it is usually orange but can be almost any colour. Just pull it up and out and tuck it out of the way so it does not short other wires.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      zAerokill's Avatar
      zAerokill is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01256 (Basingstoke)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Location
      Basingstoke
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Incredibly slow speeds

      Extensions as in numerous phones? We have 2, but I can do the test with the phone unplugged and still get the same results. I've done tests with no other connections to the internet and get very minor improvements.

      I have disconnected the orange wire from terminal 3, waiting for the router to connect... (By the way, ever since we got a new phone, although it hasn't affected the speed, the router only connects when the phone is unplugged)

      So.. now it's connected, unfortunately after doing a speed test nothing has changed..

      And I presume that wire wasn't important or anything...


    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Incredibly slow speeds

      The speedtest means nothing really, it is your stats we need to see. Please post them with nothing else connected to the line.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Incredibly slow speeds

      Quote Originally Posted by zAerokill View Post
      I have disconnected the orange wire from terminal 3, waiting for the router to connect... (By the way, ever since we got a new phone, although it hasn't affected the speed, the router only connects when the phone is unplugged)
      Pulling the ring-wire needs to be completed in all the sockets as it picks up interference. This interference is what reduces the ADSL speed.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Incredibly slow speeds

      When the ring wire is disconnected from the master socket it is disconnected from any extensions. Unless the face plates are faulty in some way, it should have no effect. The reason the ring wire causes problems is that it is connected to the capacitor and one side of the 'pair' creating an imbalance in the circuit. The working pair are what cause the 'aerial effect' which is why a filtered faceplate on the master socket is recommended. There is no need to remove the ring wire from a filtered faceplate.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION