Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    geographical contact number for sky broadband?

    This is a discussion on geographical contact number for sky broadband? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; As title really, because on my tariff I phone these for free. thanks joe...

    1. #1
      joe pineapples's Avatar
      joe pineapples is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLBAL. (Balby)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      505
      Thanks
      79
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      geographical contact number for sky broadband?

      As title really, because on my tariff I phone these for free.

      thanks
      joe


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: geographical contact number for sky broadband?

      If you have Sky Phone rental calls to Sky are free in your freetime.

      If not, you can put the number into SAYNOTO0870.COM - Non-Geographical Alternative Telephone Numbers and see what comes up. Very often the numbers given here don't stay active very long.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      joe pineapples's Avatar
      joe pineapples is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLBAL. (Balby)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      505
      Thanks
      79
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: geographical contact number for sky broadband?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      If you have Sky Phone rental calls to Sky are free in your freetime.

      If not, you can put the number into SAYNOTO0870.COM - Non-Geographical Alternative Telephone Numbers and see what comes up. Very often the numbers given here don't stay active very long.
      With Bt, so its the 0845 numbers we get for nothing (sky knew what they were doing). I have looked on saynoto870 (first port of call), and there's a number for customer services, so hopefully they'll put me through.

      cheers
      joe

    5. #4
      joe pineapples's Avatar
      joe pineapples is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLBAL. (Balby)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      505
      Thanks
      79
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: geographical contact number for sky broadband?

      Got through no problem on the number it gave me

      Have to say since the old days of Sky Broadband, their technical help(line) has improved massively, or at least that's what I've found over the past few years. Credit where its due.

    6. #5
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: geographical contact number for sky broadband?

      Not to go off topic, but I'd say that it's went downhill. Used to be smaller numbers but with more experience and knowledge. Now, it's just too many new staff just given the basics and told to follow the script on everything (in case of any confusion, I'm actually talking about both tiers here).

    7. #6
      joe pineapples's Avatar
      joe pineapples is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLBAL. (Balby)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      505
      Thanks
      79
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: geographical contact number for sky broadband?

      Quote Originally Posted by User05 View Post
      Not to go off topic, but I'd say that it's went downhill. Used to be smaller numbers but with more experience and knowledge. Now, it's just too many new staff just given the basics and told to follow the script on everything (in case of any confusion, I'm actually talking about both tiers here).
      I must have been lucky then I guess. The only time I've phoned them has been to have my speed manually adjusted (after over cautious DLM activity) and they did it there and then - didn't have to mess about with tiers etc, and in all cases the bloke clearly knew what he was on about.

    8. #7
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: geographical contact number for sky broadband?

      Out of interest, why do people complain so much about non-geo numbers? I don't give a monkeys tbh and wouldn't go out my way to find a 'cheaper' number.

      Besides, the numbers on that website get shut down as soon as they're found out so assuming the agent noticed you were calling direct as opposed to through the system they should report it to be disconnected/changed
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: geographical contact number for sky broadband?

      Quote Originally Posted by IWasNotTheEnemy View Post
      Out of interest, why do people complain so much about non-geo numbers? I don't give a monkeys tbh and wouldn't go out my way to find a 'cheaper' number.
      A lot of people watch the pennies. It makes sense if you have access to free calls on standard numbers (i.e. starting with 01, 02 & 03) to try to find the standard number that will get you through to a firm which otherwise forces you to dial their 'National Rate' or 'Lo Call' rate number.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #9
      joe pineapples's Avatar
      joe pineapples is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLBAL. (Balby)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      505
      Thanks
      79
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: geographical contact number for sky broadband?

      Quote Originally Posted by IWasNotTheEnemy View Post
      Out of interest, why do people complain so much about non-geo numbers? I don't give a monkeys tbh and wouldn't go out my way to find a 'cheaper' number.
      You couldn't lend me a few quid could you - sounds like money isnt an issue for you . Seriously though, Scubbie explains it best. I wasent looking for a 'free' number as such, but one which I effectively pay a set amount each month to use anyway. The 0800 numbers probably get shut down quickly, but I doubt it with geographical numbers (thankfully).

    11. #10
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: geographical contact number for sky broadband?

      It's not that it's not an issue - it's just not something I've ever taken a lot of notice about. I'm not rolling in it either btw!!

      I just phone whatever number I'm given so long as it does the job. It's like QuidCo - never used it in my life!

      And I'm not saying this to have a go of course - it's just something I've never considered at any point in my life. So long as my bills get paid and I can have a beer/fag/some dinner I'm happy
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION