Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Router will not stay synced

    This is a discussion on Router will not stay synced within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi Guys, for a while now I have been having frequent disconnects which have steadily been getting more frequent (5 ...

    1. #1
      amj.62's Avatar
      amj.62 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Router will not stay synced

      Hi Guys, for a while now I have been having frequent disconnects which have steadily been getting more frequent (5 to 10 times per day). Then a week ago the router would not hold its sync at all. I power off and on the router, Internet light flashes amber then goes green, the status page shows I'm connected (IP, MAC etc.) and I can connect to the Internet. However this only lasts for a few seconds - I can get Google or the weather page and then it just hangs. The status page is still showing connected and the green light is still on. Within another minute or so it looses it's sync and the yellow light comes back on.

      This is all done while in the test socket and having only one laptop connected via cable. One thing I have noticed however is that my speed was always around 4 Mbs and this rose to 8 Mbs when the syncing problem started. Stats when connected are:

      Down/Up
      Speed 7936/448
      Attenuation 37.0/23.5
      Noise Margin 6/26


      So far, Sky has sent out a BT engineer who replaced the master socket (and put it in the right place). His tests all came back no problem. Sky then told me I need a new router which I purchased. Still the same problem. Last night I called them again after setting up the new router and they tell me I have the wrong profile loaded and that will take 1 to 2 days to be loaded by BT. Can't say I feel all that confident.

      Any assistance would be much appreciated


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Router will not stay synced

      Can't say I feel all that confident.
      I don't blame you, you are in that dark place between Sky and BTO.

      There does not appear to be much wrong with your stats, but I expect BT will raise your noise margin to try to stabilise the line. This will probably mean your speed will be reduced by 1-2Mb.

      Unfortunately you seem to be in much the same position as another member, who has been struggling for weeks to get his connection fixed.
      Internet keeps dropping connection, please help!

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      mjstokes85's Avatar
      mjstokes85 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMILKES
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 30mb
      Router: BT HH5
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Location
      Ilkeston, Derbyshire
      Posts
      161
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router will not stay synced

      I was just about to say this sounds like my problem! Get ready for months on end of pointless engineer visits, and hours of phone calls that lead you nowhere.

    5. #4
      amj.62's Avatar
      amj.62 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router will not stay synced

      The one other thing I have noticed is that the downstream noise margin keeps declining after a reboot and within a minute or two gets to a negative number

    6. #5
      mjstokes85's Avatar
      mjstokes85 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMILKES
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 30mb
      Router: BT HH5
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Location
      Ilkeston, Derbyshire
      Posts
      161
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router will not stay synced

      I have also had this problem, I had it for 3 days straight one time where every reboot would end up with a minus downstream noise margin and a solid orange @ light on the router, then it went back to normal, if by 100-200 drops of connection a day is normal. All you can do is what I have done and keep ringing Sky and moaning.

    7. #6
      amj.62's Avatar
      amj.62 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router will not stay synced

      Well it's almost two weeks for me. How was it resolved?

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Router will not stay synced

      If you read his thread, you will see it is not yet resolved.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      amj.62's Avatar
      amj.62 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router will not stay synced

      Only read his first post! Well the BT guy will be here again tomorrow

    10. #9
      mjstokes85's Avatar
      mjstokes85 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMILKES
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 30mb
      Router: BT HH5
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Location
      Ilkeston, Derbyshire
      Posts
      161
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router will not stay synced

      2 and half months, 6 engineer visits, 3 routers, 2 new phone sockets, new cables in the exchange, around 100 calls to Sky and still the same problem as when I started, hopefully your issue won't go on as long as that but be prepared for it.

    11. #10
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,894
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Router will not stay synced

      It is perhaps important to put some things into perspective:

      • All ISPs have to contract out the work for maintaining a telephone line to BT Openreach, with the exceptions of Kingston Communications in the Hull area, and Virgin where they are working on their own Cable kit
      • From my understanding. the people at Sky have been very helpful as far as they can be
      • Intermittent errors are always difficult to identify
      • IMHO BTO are biased toward BT and would rather not install lines for rival ISPs

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION