Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Sky Router D-Link DSL2640S and incoming SIP calls

    This is a discussion on Sky Router D-Link DSL2640S and incoming SIP calls within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I work for a company that has callcenter agents working at home. I recently set up a work station ...

    1. #1
      Hailey84's Avatar
      Hailey84 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Router D-Link DSL2640S and incoming SIP calls

      Hi, I work for a company that has callcenter agents working at home. I recently set up a work station at home but for some reason there is no incoming traffic. We work with Express Talk business phone system and outgoing phone calls is working fine. Is my router blocking SIP calls? If yes, is there any way I can get around that? Many thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Sky Router D-Link DSL2640S and incoming SIP calls

      Several people have had issues with VPNs and things like that with some of Sky's routers, but I haven't read anything about an issue with SIPS.

      There are a few things that you could try. The first is to ensure that the IP Address that your router is connected to is not giving wrong information to their system. If your current IP address starts with '2' then reboot the router to see if you can get one that starts with 90 or 94.

      The ones which start with '2' were sold off by the US Military as they no longer needed them.

      Could I suggest that you next place the device in the router's DMZ if the above fails to work?

      If you are using a computer, this probably isn't a good thing to do in the long term, but it would help to see if the router is blocking anything. If the router is blocking it, the you may need to look into port forwarding or using a different router.

      Finally, a very import point, Sky's Broadband is a domestic product. Should your connection develop a fault, then you will not receive a priority call out or receive compensation for loss of earnings. It may be worth you looking around for a different broadband supplier.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Router D-Link DSL2640S and incoming SIP calls

      Sky specifically ban using broadband for commercial or business purposes. Such use can result in your broadband being ceased.

      Extract from T & Cs.
      2. Using Sky Broadband

      (a) Sky Broadband is for private use by you and members of your household only. It must not be used for any commercial or business purpose.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Sky Router D-Link DSL2640S and incoming SIP calls

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Sky specifically ban using broadband for commercial or business purposes. Such use can result in your broadband being ceased.
      In fairness though many do use the Sky connection for business and I haven't seen anyone posting to say that they were cut off because of it.

      Business lines do receive priority for repairing or reconnecting should there be a fault.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Router D-Link DSL2640S and incoming SIP calls

      In most cases they are using it to log into their work, I have not seen any who want to run a Call Centre through their connection, I doubt if Sky would turn a blind eye to that should it come to their notice.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION