Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Problems connecting to router via wireless (DNS failure?)

    This is a discussion on Problems connecting to router via wireless (DNS failure?) within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; My sister has sky broadband (sky sagem com router). They have 4 laptops and one desktop all running off the ...

    1. #1
      sarah30's Avatar
      sarah30 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Problems connecting to router via wireless (DNS failure?)

      My sister has sky broadband (sky sagem com router). They have 4 laptops and one desktop all running off the router. All the other pcs are fine except her son's laptop (Vista running google Chrome but same problem when tried through IE). It will work plugged in but if he uses wireless when he tries to load a webpage they get the message: the server at "webpage" cannot be found because the dns look up failed". She did self diagnose and it gave her two options one was to reset the DNS. I had a look online and told her how to reset but before we did it we wanted to check that it would affect any of the other laptops etc. We were scared we might stop them all working! Would appreciate any help. Thanks

      (i know she said it's a sagem com router but not sure which one. I have been googling a bit myself and I told her to try a ping test which failed she also said the sent and received values are ridiculously low like 11. It's really difficult cos I am 200 miles away and run XP so struggling to try and help!)


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Problems connecting to router via wireless (DNS failure?)

      A few things for you to try initially:

      1. Double check that all the current Windows Updates have been applied
      2. Check the manufacturer's website for any updates, particularly the ones for the WiFi adaptor
      3. Manually set the DNS Server on the computer (suggestions below). Note: Not the IP address, just the DNS Servers


      Public DNS Servers
      DNS Advantage

      156.154.70.1
      156.154.71.1

      OpenDNS

      208.67.220.220
      208.67.222.222

      Google Public DNS

      8.8.8.8
      8.8.4.4

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      sarah30's Avatar
      sarah30 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems connecting to router via wireless (DNS failure?)

      Thanks for the reply, do you know where i can get into the dns server in vista? Thanks

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Problems connecting to router via wireless (DNS failure?)

      Quote Originally Posted by sarah30 View Post
      Thanks for the reply, do you know where i can get into the dns server in vista? Thanks
      Try this link:
      Change TCP/IP settings

      Remember to select the WiFi connection & it is the 'Internet Protocol Version 4 (TCP/IPv4)' you should select (ignore IPv6 setting for now). Also whilst it talks about setting all the different part, you don't need to set the IP Address for the adaptor, only the DNS Servers.

      If you have a laptop that is taken to other locations, then setting the IP address will cause issue if the access point at the other site uses a different IP Address range.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Problems connecting to router via wireless (DNS failure?)

      If these suggestions fail, try the following -
      Go to Control Panel, Admin tools, Services, right click on DNS Client, select Properties, click the Stop button, click Apply. Still on the pane, click Start, then Apply. Close down Services.

      Repeat this for the DHCP Client.

      Now open a Command Prompt and type IPCONFIG/FLUSHDNS and press enter.

      Reboot the Laptop.

      Note that carrying out these actions on a machine will not effect any other machine on the Network.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION