Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 30

    Moved house and Phone Line Issues

    This is a discussion on Moved house and Phone Line Issues within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by Scubbie Good news all round. Hopefully you will be sent one of the new Sagem 2504N routers. ...

    1. #11
      Poolie's Avatar
      Poolie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Merton Park
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Location
      Wimbledon
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moved house and Phone Line Issues

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Good news all round.

      Hopefully you will be sent one of the new Sagem 2504N routers. I doubt that this will be the case though as most who have posted up saying that they are getting a free router in the past few months have only received a WiFi g router.

      Whilst there are still a few who have the Netgear DG834GT, these routers are starting to fail, so a replacement router is still a good thing to have.
      The lady I have been dealing with has said if the replacement router is not the one I wanted she can arrange the other one FOC


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,896
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Moved house and Phone Line Issues

      Quote Originally Posted by Poolie View Post
      The lady I have been dealing with has said if the replacement router is not the one I wanted she can arrange the other one FOC
      Good.

      Just a word of caution though, i found that the WiFi n adaptor built into my Laptop would only connect at up to 150Mb/s on a 300Mb/s router. If I were to use it on the Sagem 2504N then it would only connect at 72Mb/s.

      This is a WiFi n router, but the adaptor would only connect at half the potential speed. Many other Laptops will also have similar experiences.

      I have since changed the adaptor in my Laptop so can make full use of the 300Mb/s connection.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #13
      Poolie's Avatar
      Poolie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Merton Park
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Location
      Wimbledon
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moved house and Phone Line Issues

      I don't care about the speed on my works laptop and I can get the desktop guys to have a look at the firmware the chip is running.

      Just had a call from Sky, they have managed to bring the service start date forward from 7th December to TODAY! Well done Sky on getting BT Openreach to plug the cable in the exchange. Question is how much could BT Openreach screw up plugging in the cable. Don't answer that!

      Hopefully by midnight today I will be back up and running.

      BT line service started - 14th November
      Sky broadband order failed - 15th November due to incompatibilities
      System Issues fixed - 29th November
      Broadband running - 30th November - As long as BT Openreach don't screw up

      My little white netgear is going to have to do some work again till the N-Band arrives then it can have a rest.

    5. #14
      Poolie's Avatar
      Poolie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Merton Park
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Location
      Wimbledon
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moved house and Phone Line Issues

      replacement router arrived this morning and it is the 2304. I will give my contact a call to get the 2504 as she knows I wanted the N-Band router. Got a text this morning saying the broadband was now active. Currently showing as 4Mbps so just a case of the learning process for the line.

    6. #15
      Poolie's Avatar
      Poolie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Merton Park
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Location
      Wimbledon
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moved house and Phone Line Issues

      Current stats on day one of training:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4096 kbps 512 kbps
      Line Attenuation 22.0 dB 15.5 dB
      Noise Margin 16.5 dB 14.0 dB

      What is the best i can expect from the line? I am plugged into the BT master socket and no other extensions are attached and the bell wire has been removed.

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Moved house and Phone Line Issues

      You are still on G.DMT so DLM has not yet started. You should be good for around 16Mb.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      Poolie's Avatar
      Poolie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Merton Park
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Location
      Wimbledon
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moved house and Phone Line Issues

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      You are still on G.DMT so DLM has not yet started. You should be good for around 16Mb.
      Thanks TomD. When does it switch from G.DMT for DLM to start? Are you saying I am still on ADSL rather than ADSL+ at the moment?

    9. #18
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Moved house and Phone Line Issues

      Usually within 3 days, it will switch to ADSL2+ and resync your router in the early hours of the morning.

      ....and yes, you are on plain old ADSL at the moment.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #19
      Poolie's Avatar
      Poolie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Merton Park
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Location
      Wimbledon
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moved house and Phone Line Issues

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Usually within 3 days, it will switch to ADSL2+ and resync your router in the early hours of the morning.

      ....and yes, you are on plain old ADSL at the moment.
      Luckily I am going to be away for the next week so the router can get on with the job itself and switch over to ADSL+2 and do the resync.

    11. #20
      Poolie's Avatar
      Poolie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Merton Park
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Location
      Wimbledon
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moved house and Phone Line Issues

      According to sky.com, the DLM started on 2nd of December

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION