Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    As good as it gets?

    This is a discussion on As good as it gets? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hiya, I've been with Sky for about 4 months, and was wondering if my broadband speeds were as good as ...

    1. #1
      elation's Avatar
      elation is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      As good as it gets?

      Hiya,

      I've been with Sky for about 4 months, and was wondering if my broadband speeds were as good as they can be?

      Stats are as follows:

      Manufacturer Sagemcom
      Model Number F@ST2304
      Firmware Version 5.14.6.1a4N
      ADSL Firmware Version A2pD030n.d23b

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4095 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 45.0 dB 26.0 dB
      Noise Margin 6.4 dB 13.9 dB


      Currently connected through an extension, but if needed I can get it to a master socket, just will cost me about 80 for a wireless adapter for my telly, so I'm a bit loathed to do that if I can avoid it.

      Any tips? Thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: As good as it gets?

      You should do a lot better. Post your stats in the Test socket
      How to test your ADSL in the Master Test Socket

      There are better ways of connecting than 80 wireless adapters.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      elation (15-11-11)

    5. #3
      elation's Avatar
      elation is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: As good as it gets?

      Righto,

      Will have a play and a move around later. What sort of speeds would you think the line is capable of? I have tried to do an estimation, but I don't know my landline number, and don't have a phone to ring out from!

      Thanks,

      Matt

    6. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: As good as it gets?

      Your attenuation should support around 7Mb, but at the moment you have noise on the line which is dragging your speed down. The only way to determine if it is internal or external is to try in the Test socket.

      You should get a phone, you can get a cheap plug in one for about 5. Maybe even cheaper in a Charity shop. Apart from testing the line, if you have Sky Talk, calls to the Sky Help desk are free. These can be very costly if you are using a mobile.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      elation (15-11-11)

    8. #5
      elation's Avatar
      elation is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: As good as it gets?

      I'll bear that in mind. I'm going to try and sort out stats from the test socket later tonight, unfortunately our master socket is behind a wardrobe and its a royal PITA to get to!

      Assuming the stats come through better (and I don't doubt it would be a problem with the internal wiring in the apartment, the rest of the electricals appear to have been put in by village idiots), what solutions have I got? Is it worth snipping the ring wire while I've got the faceplate to the master off?

      Also, I've got a generic no brand Wireless Router, which has a bridge mode, would this help to get the broadband signal back into the front room if the wiring is shot? Or would I be better looking at some of these Powerline adaptors?

      Thanks.

    9. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: As good as it gets?

      I would normally recommend Homeplug/Powerline over wireless any day of the week, but if your electric wiring is not too good, they may not work too well. Unfortunately the only way to tell would be to try them. Do you have any friends with a pair you could borrow?

      Removing the ring wire would do no harm and may improve things, so it is worth doing. Fitting and using a filtered faceplate is always the best way to go.

      Getting wireless bridging to work with the Sky routers is usually difficult.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #7
      elation's Avatar
      elation is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: As good as it gets?

      From the master socket:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4091 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 43.5 dB 26.3 dB
      Noise Margin 8.1 dB 15.3 dB

      No idea what that means!!!

      Back on the extension with ring wire diconnected, and I've got this:


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4091 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 45.0 dB 27.1 dB
      Noise Margin 8.6 dB 14.8 dB


      So what does everyone think the issue is?
      Last edited by elation; 15-11-11 at 11:46 PM.

    11. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: As good as it gets?

      Can you confirm if that is the Test socket and not the Master. There is a big difference, especially when you have extension sockets. Please see link in #2.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    12. #9
      elation's Avatar
      elation is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: As good as it gets?

      Sorry, my mistake, that was definately taken from the test socket behind the lower half of the faceplate, and I pulled the ring wire while I was in there!

      Thanks.

    13. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: As good as it gets?

      That's disappointing, it means your external line is in very poor condition generally or has a fault. You could ask Sky to test your line for faults, but to be honest this seldom gets you anywhere. You do seem to have improved things by removing the ring wire so they may be able to lift your cap a bit, it may not get you much more, but with a low speed, everything helps. Another thing you can try is asking Sky to try your line on G.DMT(ADSL1) this often performs better than ADSL2+ on longer noisy lines.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION