Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 26

    poor broadband and customer service

    This is a discussion on poor broadband and customer service within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; hi all new member been fighting sky for 11 months now to sort my bb out i will post my ...

    1. #1
      nosmaster's Avatar
      nosmaster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: cmcra
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      poor broadband and customer service

      hi all new member been fighting sky for 11 months now to sort my bb out i will post my stats of my router before i start

      Connection Speed 4594 kbps 1058 kbps
      Line Attenuation 50.5 dB 29.8 dB
      Noise Margin 6.9 dB 8.0 dB

      i spoke to some1 at sky tier 2 last night and he ran a boardband test with my line connected as it normal is and his stats came back as the same as mine (that i have posted above) then he asked me to remove everything and have nothing connected to my test socket then ran the line test again 3 things happened.

      1. my line atteuation went from 50.5Db as stated above to 38Db
      2. my max attainable went from 5mb to 12mb
      3. the line length changed from nearly 4km to 2.5km

      now i have tried 2 routers so i can rule this out new microfilters and rj11 cables all from the test socket so it rules out ANY problem with my equipment and wiring
      openreach have been out today and said the line and pair are the best i can be on and sky how now informed me this is the max my line is good for (i dont belive them as you can tell from me posting on here) can any1 please explain to me why my attenuation drops by 12.5Db with no load on the line and if any1 knows is there a fix and sky just string to shun me off

      by the way at POS i was quoted 8mb and on skys speed checker website im quoted between 7-14.3mb

      any help much appreciated


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: poor broadband and customer service

      Bit odd, that.

      Any issues on the voice side of things? Any noise?

    4. #3
      nosmaster's Avatar
      nosmaster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: cmcra
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: poor broadband and customer service

      as for the phone line i here the router sync up and down and the phone line tries to ring all on its own sometimes(before out corded phone rings it beeps then rings ) every now and again the phone will just beep of its own accord. and a fient hiss down the line

    5. #4
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: poor broadband and customer service

      Sounds to me you have some kind of issue on the line or at the exchange. I'd be calling Sky and tell them of the voice issues you're having, rather than attacking it from the speed side of things. Will probably have to be passed to Sky's network ops for investigation.

    6. #5
      nosmaster's Avatar
      nosmaster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: cmcra
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: poor broadband and customer service

      iv already brought up the phone issues so far iv had phone enj and bb enj from openreach and have all come back with the same thing line is ok look at sky but sky sent me back to BTOR untill 2day with a very unhelpful man on the phone saying this is the end of the matter this is what you can get if i dont like it tuff said that the tests run yesterday were bogus

    7. #6
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: poor broadband and customer service

      Well, your phone line issues certainly aren't bogus. I'd be back on the phone to them and taking it further. Do you know if an Openreach engineer has tested from the exchange to actually pinpoint where the fault lies i.e. on the BT network or Sky's equipment?

    8. #7
      nosmaster's Avatar
      nosmaster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: cmcra
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: poor broadband and customer service

      yes they checked the exchange on the 3/11/11 and said sky problem no fault on the line at all

    9. #8
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: poor broadband and customer service

      If Openreach have indeed tested from the HDF at the exchange and confirmed a Sky equipment fault, then it will likely need passed to Sky's network ops centre. Call Sky again and take it further.

    10. #9
      nosmaster's Avatar
      nosmaster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: cmcra
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: poor broadband and customer service

      on the phone to sky now mentioned the phone issues again becuase the guy on the phone this time said the 12.5Db attenuation diffrence its caused my my router and rj11 cable again bogus it adding 2km of cable to my line wen the line has load 2 me it sounds like the cable is knackered and cant cope under stress also wen router goes down it come back with lower speed

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: poor broadband and customer service

      he asked me to remove everything and have nothing connected to my test socket then ran the line test again 3 things happened.
      1. my line atteuation went from 50.5Db as stated above to 38Db
      2. my max attainable went from 5mb to 12mb
      3. the line length changed from nearly 4km to 2.5km
      To me this means that something within your house is causing the problem. Using a plug in telephone extension or have other devices plugged in without a filter spring to mind.

      If you have a Test socket, plug in there using only the ADSL cable and filter supplied by Sky and post your stats please.
      How to test your ADSL in the Master Test Socket

      If you do not have a test socket, do as before and remove everything from the phone circuit except the router. Make sure this is plugged into your master socket again using only the cable supplied by Sky and post the stats.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION