Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 26

    poor broadband and customer service

    This is a discussion on poor broadband and customer service within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I was just thinking that when i read it everyone else must have missed that Its a problem in your ...

    1. #11
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,461
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 118 Times in 113 Posts

      Re: poor broadband and customer service

      I was just thinking that when i read it
      everyone else must have missed that

      Its a problem in your house buddie
      and upto you to fix not sky/bt

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      To me this means that something within your house is causing the problem. Using a plug in telephone extension or have other devices plugged in without a filter spring to mind.

      If you have a Test socket, plug in there using only the ADSL cable and filter supplied by Sky and post your stats please.
      How to test your ADSL in the Master Test Socket

      If you do not have a test socket, do as before and remove everything from the phone circuit except the router. Make sure this is plugged into your master socket again using only the cable supplied by Sky and post the stats.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: poor broadband and customer service

      Whoops, I read that bit a lot differently for some reason.

    4. #13
      nosmaster's Avatar
      nosmaster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: cmcra
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: poor broadband and customer service

      Quote Originally Posted by Shonk View Post
      I was just thinking that when i read it
      everyone else must have missed that

      Its a problem in your house buddie
      and upto you to fix not sky/bt
      no 05 you read it right but maby i didnt elaborate enough as soon as i put the router into the test socket my router pick up a attenuation of 50.5Db it dosnt mater what socket it goes to (test , master, or extention) the only way i get anything lower is without any load on the test socket

    5. #14
      nosmaster's Avatar
      nosmaster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: cmcra
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: poor broadband and customer service

      anybody this has now been going on 4 11 months

    6. #15
      steelysteph's Avatar
      steelysteph is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lancaster
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM Hub 3
      Sky TV: 2TB Minnie Mous
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      400
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 24 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: poor broadband and customer service

      Just to clarify:

      • You plug the microfilter into the test socket without any extension cables
      • You plug the router into the microfilter using the cable supplied by Sky
      • You have nothing plugged into the router
      • You have nothing else plugged into the microfilter.


      The readings change as in your original post, and you've even tried different microfilters and routers

      I'd forget calling Sky or BT - I know who I'd call ......

      Da, da, da, da da, da, dadadada .......Ghostbusters.

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: poor broadband and customer service

      the only way i get anything lower is without any load on the test socket
      I am not sure what you mean by this, the only 'load' should be the router. So when you say you plugged the router into the Test socket and got an attenuation of 38db that was not true? Can you do as I ask and post your stats from the Test socket with only the router plugged in?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      nosmaster's Avatar
      nosmaster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: cmcra
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: poor broadband and customer service

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I am not sure what you mean by this, the only 'load' should be the router. So when you say you plugged the router into the Test socket and got an attenuation of 38db that was not true? Can you do as I ask and post your stats from the Test socket with only the router plugged in?
      no i never stated that if the router was plugged into test it would give a attenuation of 38db


      IF i plug my router into the test with a microfilter then i actualy get a worse speed that off my extention but noise and attenuation stay the same
      to get the 38 db it was a one ended line test (nothing plugged into the test socket so it was only checking bt wires) i no this would lead people to beleave house wiring but i still get 50.5db at the test socket with the router

    9. #18
      steelysteph's Avatar
      steelysteph is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lancaster
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM Hub 3
      Sky TV: 2TB Minnie Mous
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      400
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 24 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: poor broadband and customer service

      Is there any chance that you can upload a photo of your master socket with nothing plugged into it?

    10. #19
      nosmaster's Avatar
      nosmaster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: cmcra
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: poor broadband and customer service

      Quote Originally Posted by steelysteph View Post
      Is there any chance that you can upload a photo of your master socket with nothing plugged into it?
      i dont see how that would help it is just a new style socket with the face plate REMOVED this is how we get the 38db attenuation

    11. #20
      steelysteph's Avatar
      steelysteph is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lancaster
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM Hub 3
      Sky TV: 2TB Minnie Mous
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      400
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 24 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: poor broadband and customer service

      Quote Originally Posted by nosmaster View Post
      i dont see how that would help it is just a new style socket with the face plate REMOVED this is how we get the 38db attenuation
      Because we are trying to help you and in order to that we need to be very clear as to what you're actually doing. So far there seems to be a lot of confusion as to your set up and results.

      You get 38db attentuation with the face plate removed and nothing plugged in to the test socket (as tested by the engineers from their end) - correct?

      When you plug a router, via a microfilter, into the test socket the attentuation increases to 50db (as tested by you) - correct?

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION