Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Sky Broadband and AirPort Extreme Setup

    This is a discussion on Sky Broadband and AirPort Extreme Setup within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I would like to know if the setup of my current network is the best for speed (both internet and ...

    1. #1
      EpicKris's Avatar
      EpicKris is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Location
      London, UK
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Broadband and AirPort Extreme Setup

      I would like to know if the setup of my current network is the best for speed (both internet and internal) I can get.



      Sky Router
      • Ethernet AirPort Extreme (bridged)
      • Ethernet PS3 1
      • Ethernet TV
      • Wi-Fi disabled


      AirPort Extreme (Bridged)
      • Ethernet Sky Router
      • Ethernet iMac
      • Wi-Fi 802.11n 2.4GHz & 5 GHz


      Wi-Fi Devices
      • MacBook Pro 1
      • MacBook Pro 2
      • iPad 2
      • iPhone 4 1
      • iPhone 4 2
      • PS3 2




      This setup is as optimised as I've gotten my network so far, however there seems to be a problem streaming HD video from one of the computers to one of the PS3s, it can be very jittery.

      I thought because the AirPort Extreme is bridged that the Sky Router is handling the traffic, but does this mean because the ethernet speed on the Sky Router is 100Mbps that streaming is limited to that speed?

      Thank you for any replies in advanced.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband and AirPort Extreme Setup

      I am not sure where the problems lies, but 100mbps is more than enough to stream HD. If you are using wireless to stream, then that is likely to be the problem.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      EpicKris's Avatar
      EpicKris is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Location
      London, UK
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband and AirPort Extreme Setup

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I am not sure where the problems lies, but 100mbps is more than enough to stream HD. If you are using wireless to stream, then that is likely to be the problem.
      Okay, I was unsure if 100Mbps was fast enough, although I stream using wi-fi, I've never had this problem using just the wi-fi itself before (the wi-fi is capable of the same speeds).

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband and AirPort Extreme Setup

      You might have to experiment with the wireless channels the AP is using. A change of channel might make all the difference.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,902
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband and AirPort Extreme Setup

      Streaming Video off the net is possible with a 2Mb connection. A HD Video may require a little more.

      Streaming HD Video over a WiFi g connection will suffer with a poor signal.

      You suggesting the use of WiFi n which is more capable of streaming multiple HD videos simultaneously.

      If you are bridging the Airport via WiFi, then it may be suffering as the Sky router you have is only a WiFi g router. I would definitely ask the you ensure that they are connected via either an Ethernet cable or HomePlugs.

      Personally I've upgraded my LAN so that it is a 1Gbit LAN. This allows for some really heavy traffic to pass before the HD videos start to suffer.

      However if my Internet connection is getting hammered, I can struggle with watching BBC iPlayer content at the same time.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #6
      James_Mitchell's Avatar
      James_Mitchell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCEAR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Location
      Earby
      Posts
      738
      Thanks
      43
      Thanked 48 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband and AirPort Extreme Setup

      Not sure about the AirPort Extreme, but I use a Time Machine (basically the same thing but with a HDD in it) and the 5Ghz WiFi was turned off by default and I had to go in and turn it on. You should then see 2 available WiFi networks (both the same name, one with 5Ghz at the end though).

      Make sure your iPad and Macbook's are connected to this 5GHz Airport Extreme WiFi (iPhones wont see the 5Ghz WiFi. Not sure if the PS3 will see this either but I suspect not?)

      The Macbook's should then connect at the full 300mpbs WiFi speed (depending on how new they are) and this should also free up some bandwidth on the ordinary non-5Ghz WiFi channel as well.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION