Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 23

    How did this happen?

    This is a discussion on How did this happen? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; over 3 weeks ago i got Sky to boost my internet connection based on advice from you guys that i ...

    1. #1
      mstar's Avatar
      mstar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      83
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      How did this happen?

      over 3 weeks ago i got Sky to boost my internet connection based on advice from you guys that i could get more then my original 5-6mb to 7-8mb connection.

      For 3 weeks its been downstream: 7194kbps and upstream: 800kbps

      today for some reason its gone down to 7008kbps and upstream is the same.

      How does this happen? is this normal as its been stable for so long and now its gone down i am confused and i apologise if this is a silly question but i tried for 40 mins searching on here for a explanation


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: How did this happen?

      Reboot and see what happens
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      mstar's Avatar
      mstar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      83
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How did this happen?

      So is there something wrong? Or has sky turned me down from there side?
      I cnt understand why this happened

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: How did this happen?

      See my last post. If speed goes back to 'normal' then it's a noise issue on the line. If not then Sky/DLM may have capped the line due to an issue
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: How did this happen?

      There is nothing wrong, your speed will rise and fall according to the conditions on the line. This is how broadband is supposed to work. Sky have not 'turned you down'. If your noise margin is above 7db, reboot and you will probably get your speed back. 186 kbps is next to nothing, you will not even notice it in your normal usage. If you are worried post your stats and we will advise further.-
      How to get your router statistics

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      mstar's Avatar
      mstar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      83
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How did this happen?

      here are my stats:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7008 kbps 800 kbps
      Line Attenuation 39.5db 26.0db
      Noise Margin 7.3db 13.0db

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: How did this happen?

      You are on G.DMT (ADSL1) at the moment, there may be a reason for this, like a very poor line, but you should call Sky and ask them to try your line on ADSL2+.
      Reboot in the morning and your will probably get your old speed back.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      mstar's Avatar
      mstar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      83
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How did this happen?

      thanks just out of interest how do you know i am on ADSL 1? i know they told me awhile back that my line max according to their records/exchange info i can get is 7.7mb.

      Can i still get ADSL2?

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: How did this happen?

      G.DMT is indicated by your download/upload speeds. You can get ADSL2+, but Sky may be finding that the line throws a lot of errors when using that mode. You could ask them to change it and see what they say.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      mstar's Avatar
      mstar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      83
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How did this happen?

      ok guys i rebooted and here is what happened:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7264 kbps 800 kbps
      Line Attenuation 39.5db 26.0db
      Noise Margin 5.9db 16.0db


      so if i get lower then 7mb i should reboot??????? is that what we do? I also have a Netgear 934G is i use this router will this make a difference to my stats?? then my current sky D-Link

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION