Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 62

    Some websites not loading or timing out

    This is a discussion on Some websites not loading or timing out within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by Bordersquirrel If anyone who reads this could run a traceroute to eu.battle.net (one site I happen to ...

    1. #11
      wjtqc's Avatar
      wjtqc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Some websites not loading or timing out

      Quote Originally Posted by Bordersquirrel View Post
      If anyone who reads this could run a traceroute to eu.battle.net (one site I happen to know is still broken) and post it on here, it would be appreciated.
      From my Linux server on my Sky Broadband account:
      Code:
      traceroute to eu.battle.net (80.239.186.40), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
       1  192.168.0.1 (192.168.0.1)  1.436 ms  1.967 ms  2.520 ms
       2  5acccafe.bb.sky.com (90.204.202.254)  37.476 ms  38.755 ms *
       3  * * *
       4  * * *
       5  * * *
       6  * ldn-bb1-link.telia.net (80.91.248.217)  34.238 ms ldn-bb2-link.telia.net (80.91.252.209)  33.959 ms
       7  * * *
       8  * * *
       9  * * *
      ...
      28  * * *
      29  * * *
      30  * * *

      From my Linux server on a remote network:
      Code:
      traceroute to eu.battle.net (80.239.186.40), 30 hops max, 40 byte packets
       1  82.197.71.193 (82.197.71.193)  6.394 ms  6.733 ms  6.918 ms
       2  non-baresi.c4l.co.uk (84.45.110.18)  0.642 ms  0.951 ms  1.171 ms
       3  baresi-platini.c4l.co.uk (84.45.90.49)  0.592 ms  0.826 ms  0.827 ms
       4  platini-wolverine.c4l.co.uk (84.45.90.70)  1.332 ms  1.230 ms  1.279 ms
       5  wolverine-kraken.c4l.co.uk (84.45.90.150)  1.361 ms  1.355 ms  1.397 ms
       6  kraken-kusanagi.c4l.co.uk (84.45.90.169)  1.327 ms  1.174 ms  1.314 ms
       7  ae3-101.lon11.ip4.tinet.net (77.67.64.229)  1.526 ms  1.401 ms  1.342 ms
       8  xe-2-1-0.lon21.ip4.tinet.net (89.149.183.29)  1.500 ms xe-0-0-0.lon21.ip4.tinet.net (89.149.186.50)  1.378 ms  1.365 ms
       9  213.200.78.238 (213.200.78.238)  1.471 ms  1.638 ms  1.623 ms
      10  ldn-bb2-link.telia.net (80.91.245.28)  1.657 ms ldn-bb2-link.telia.net (213.155.133.32)  1.609 ms ldn-bb1-link.telia.net (80.91.251.166)  1.612 ms
      11  prs-bb2-link.telia.net (80.91.247.240)  8.782 ms prs-bb1-link.telia.net (80.91.254.209)  9.016 ms prs-bb2-link.telia.net (80.91.247.240)  8.663 ms
      12  prs-b8-link.telia.net (213.155.131.3)  9.791 ms  9.679 ms prs-b8-link.telia.net (213.155.131.1)  75.693 ms
      13  80-239-170-114.customer.teliacarrier.com (80.239.170.114)  10.151 ms !X  9.806 ms !X *
      Last edited by wjtqc; 28-10-11 at 12:02 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      wjtqc's Avatar
      wjtqc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Some websites not loading or timing out

      For reference: bbc.co.uk works and the traceroute is:
      Code:
      traceroute to bbc.co.uk (212.58.241.131), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
       1  myrouter.home (192.168.0.1)  2.001 ms  1.951 ms  2.515 ms
       2  5acccafe.bb.sky.com (90.204.202.254)  37.960 ms  39.508 ms *
       3  * * *
       4  * * *
       5  * * *
       6  212.58.238.153 (212.58.238.153)  215.603 ms  199.398 ms *
       7  * * *
       8  * * virtual-vip-231.thdo.bbc.co.uk (212.58.241.131)  35.200 ms
      This one does not work:
      Code:
      traceroute to www.icarhireinsurance.com (80.244.191.192), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
       1  myrouter.home (192.168.0.1)  1.584 ms  2.118 ms  2.732 ms
       2  5acccafe.bb.sky.com (90.204.202.254)  38.350 ms * *
       3  10.245.135.161 (10.245.135.161)  39.192 ms * *
       4  * * *
       5  * * *
       6  * * *
      ...
      28  * * *
      29  * * *
      30  * * *

    4. #13
      Bordersquirrel's Avatar
      Bordersquirrel is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01422
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Some websites not loading or timing out

      Quote Originally Posted by wjtqc View Post
      From my Linux server on my Sky Broadband account:
      I had trouble getting much information from traceroute..try it with the '-T flag (use TCP SYNs) as it seems to work better in Easynet's network. You'll need to be root or sudo to run the command. Looks like it's dying at the same place though.

      I've dropped a quick email to Easynet's NOC complete with my armchair detective sleuthing. It's very likely that if there is a serious problem they are already aware of it, but obviously I have no idea how many customers it's affecting, whether it's all exchanges or not or whether it's only traffic going in/out via Telia or not.

    5. #14
      wjtqc's Avatar
      wjtqc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Some websites not loading or timing out

      Quote Originally Posted by Bordersquirrel View Post
      I had trouble getting much information from traceroute..try it with the '-T flag (use TCP SYNs) as it seems to work better in Easynet's network. You'll need to be root or sudo to run the command. Looks like it's dying at the same place though.
      I only have root access on my Linux server at home on my Sky broadband connection so will only run it on there. The result is:
      Code:
      sudo traceroute -T eu.battle.net
      traceroute to eu.battle.net (80.239.186.40), 30 hops max, 44 byte packets
       1  192.168.0.1 (192.168.0.1)  1.393 ms  1.949 ms *
       2  * * *
       3  * * *
       4  * * *
       5  * * *
       6  * ldn-bb2-link.telia.net (213.155.133.226)  53.289 ms ldn-bb1-link.telia.net (80.91.252.197)  36.850 ms
       7  * * *
       8  * * *
      ...
      29  * * *
      30  * * *

    6. #15
      Bordersquirrel's Avatar
      Bordersquirrel is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01422
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Some websites not loading or timing out

      Quote Originally Posted by wjtqc View Post
      This one does not work:
      Code:
      traceroute to www.icarhireinsurance.com (80.244.191.192), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
       1  myrouter.home (192.168.0.1)  1.584 ms  2.118 ms  2.732 ms
       2  5acccafe.bb.sky.com (90.204.202.254)  38.350 ms * *
       3  10.245.135.161 (10.245.135.161)  39.192 ms * *
       4  * * *
       5  * * *
       6  * * *
      ...
      28  * * *
      29  * * *
      30  * * *
      Well this blows my "Telia Only" theory out of the water. This seem to go down to LINX in London and up to Manchester via Avensys and on to UKFast who presumably host the site (and who I believe resell Avensys bandwidth to their customers).

      So it might be a wider problem than I thought, and most likely more complicated!

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Some websites not loading or timing out

      Quote Originally Posted by VEG View Post
      How do I find out?
      Exchange problems are usually reported in this thread
      Sky Broadband Service Status

      Unfortunately this seems too widespread to be linked to any one exchange. It is possibly not effecting the SVBN as all sites open for me.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      Keiko315's Avatar
      Keiko315 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Some websites not loading or timing out

      Hi all. I'm a newbie who found this thread when searching for a resolution to my situation.

      I'm in the Halifax area. There was "an outage" during Tuesday night into Wednesday morning and the internet connection was down until around 8am on Thursday morning.

      When it finally came back on I have been unable to access a plethora of websites including Mircosoft, FaceBook, BarclayCard, Hotmail and Sky.com.

      Having logged the problem with support, they asked me to go through lots of steps including clearing cache, resetting browsers and routers etc. The last thing I was told to do was switch off my router and unlug it overnight.

      I am still having the problems and they have decided to send me a replacement router as they think this is the problem. However, I have swapped this out today for a brand new Netgear N300 and am still having the same issues.

      I have 3 computers (2 laptops, 1 PC) that are all running Windows 7 and the same thing is happening with each one. However, when they connect through my mobile or via a neighbour's Virgin connection, all sites are fully working and accessible.

      Does anyone have any ideas what I can try to resolve this?
      Last edited by Keiko315; 28-10-11 at 05:12 PM. Reason: Additional Information

    9. #18
      wjtqc's Avatar
      wjtqc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Some websites not loading or timing out

      This is very similar to my situation (and to my attempts to access websites through my Vodafone or T-Mobile tethered connections). I too am wondering whether it might be a faulty router or firmware update as one possible problem.

      (I have a Sagem router with firmware 2.8Sky)

    10. #19
      Keiko315's Avatar
      Keiko315 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Some websites not loading or timing out

      Could it still be a router/firmware problem though? Makes me think not - especially with me having been out and purchased a a new one today and still having the same problems with that one?!

    11. #20
      wjtqc's Avatar
      wjtqc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Some websites not loading or timing out

      Quote Originally Posted by Keiko315 View Post
      Could it still be a router/firmware problem though? Makes me think not - especially with me having been out and purchased a a new one today and still having the same problems with that one?!
      Thanks, good to know.

     

     
    Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION