Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 16

    New router, old connection..

    This is a discussion on New router, old connection.. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, Let's try and cut a long story short.. Sky Broadband cancelled about 18 months ago, connection STILL active ...

    1. #1
      Lino's Avatar
      Lino is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      100
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New router, old connection..

      Hi all,

      Let's try and cut a long story short..

      Sky Broadband cancelled about 18 months ago, connection STILL active (Shh), Sky Broadband reordered (This time with with a Sky phone line etc) and engineer booked for 18th November (I'm hoping he isn't going to get horribly confused with the fact that the Sky Broadband is still connected at the exchange end)..

      Question..

      I've been sent a new router (Still using the old Netgear router which was till a while back giving me around 12meg download, recently went down to about 4meg download), if I plug that in NOW, will that increase the linespeed at all or should I not even bother till the 18th?

      Thanks very much in advance, so much for long story short!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New router, old connection..

      Plug it in and see. It is possible your old GT is becoming weary, but it may be the line that has a fault.

      Would you like to post your stats?
      Reminder - How to get your router statistics

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      Lino's Avatar
      Lino is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      100
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New router, old connection..

      Thanks for that, I'll give it a shot, and try to remember to grab some stats from both the current white Netgear box and the new Sagem F@ST2504 (If it works!).

    5. #4
      Lino's Avatar
      Lino is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      100
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New router, old connection..

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Plug it in and see. It is possible your old GT is becoming weary, but it may be the line that has a fault.

      Would you like to post your stats?
      Reminder - How to get your router statistics
      Here's a question thats just occured to me, the new router won't have the same WEA password? I guess I should open the parcel and see if there's any paperwork in there.

    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: New router, old connection..

      Each Sky router will have it's own SSID (WiFi name) & Password. The details are normally on the underside of the router.

      On a side issue, it is better to place the Sagem 2504N on it's edge as this helps to disperse the heat build up.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #6
      Lino's Avatar
      Lino is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      100
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New router, old connection..

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Each Sky router will have it's own SSID (WiFi name) & Password. The details are normally on the underside of the router.

      On a side issue, it is better to place the Sagem 2504N on it's edge as this helps to disperse the heat build up.
      Ahh, thanks for both the tips! Quite interested to see if the new router makes any difference now.

    8. #7
      Lino's Avatar
      Lino is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      100
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New router, old connection..

      On the old Netgear router.. Here are the speedtest results..

      Results from speed.io - Internet DSL Speedtest
      (Copied on 2011-10-27 19:37:09)
      Download: 3172 Kbit/s
      Upload : 409 kbit/s
      Connects : 885 conn/min
      Ping: 65 ms

      Here are the router stats..

      System Up Time 114:16:55
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 3377554 4946358 0 2573 5409 114:15:26
      LAN 10M/100M 84045 0 0 59 0 114:16:52
      WLAN 11M/54M 5500144 4045966 0 6710 3817 114:16:44

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3858 kbps 461 kbps
      Line Attenuation 43.0 db 26.2 db
      Noise Margin 6.1 db 7.5 db

      Means NOTHING to me at all, don't know if it helps you guys!

      Will try the new router later and post results.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New router, old connection..

      You should be getting more speed, but with your low noise margin, you are not going to. Plug into yur Test socket if you have one and post the stats from there.
      How to test your ADSL in the Master Test Socket

      Unless there is a bad fault on your line, I doubt if you will see 12mb, 7-8 would be more like it. Any noise on your voice line?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      Lino's Avatar
      Lino is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      100
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New router, old connection..

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      You should be getting more speed, but with your low noise margin, you are not going to. Plug into yur Test socket if you have one and post the stats from there.
      How to test your ADSL in the Master Test Socket

      Unless there is a bad fault on your line, I doubt if you will see 12mb, 7-8 would be more like it. Any noise on your voice line?
      Not as easy as that! The phone line has been disconnected. It was over a year ago, but as the broadband is still connected I can only imagine Sky didn't get as far as unplugging me from the exchange. I *WAS* getting around 11meg until about 6 months ago (Again post line disconnection) but that dropped to the speed you see overnight.

      As for testing the master socket, the socket I have has two connections one phone and (As the ADSL is plugged into it) the other the ADSL connection, I'm not using any microfilters and never have. Also the router is around 5 inches from the socket so I don't think distance is the issue.

      It's all VERY mysterious!

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New router, old connection..

      It could very well be that it is down to your phone not being enabled. They may have disconnected it at the exchange and left the broadband plugged in. Although broadband will work independent of the phone, it works better with one enabled. I am not sure why, it may be because there is no voltage on the phone line, but that is a geuss. If our friend Brian is around he will let us know what actually happens.

      It is probably not worth bothering about it till you phone is connected, then all may be clear.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION