Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 16 of 16

    New router, old connection..

    This is a discussion on New router, old connection.. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by Isitme It could very well be that it is down to your phone not being enabled. They ...

    1. #11
      Lino's Avatar
      Lino is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      100
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New router, old connection..

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      It could very well be that it is down to your phone not being enabled. They may have disconnected it at the exchange and left the broadband plugged in. Although broadband will work independent of the phone, it works better with one enabled. I am not sure why, it may be because there is no voltage on the phone line, but that is a geuss. If our friend Brian is around he will let us know what actually happens.

      It is probably not worth bothering about it till you phone is connected, then all may be clear.
      Interesting.. Didn't know that. As I said above the engineer is booked for the 18th, I might well connect this new router to see if it works but other than that I'm sure I can wait till the line gets connected, then we'll keep our fingers crossed!

      Thanks by the way.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New router, old connection..

      You should just continue to use it as long as it is active. It might not be very fast but it is better,(and cheaper) than 3g.

      The other router will work OK, each router has its own username and password, not the user.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,896
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: New router, old connection..

      Just so that you are aware, when you live date arrives, your connection may go for a few days if you were promised that you BB would go live after the telephone is connected.

      Also whether it goes live on the same day or about 10 days later, the connection speed will drop to 4Mb d/l & about 600kb u/l. This is the starting speed for DLM which will kick in a few days later and not to be worried about.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #14
      Lino's Avatar
      Lino is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      100
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New router, old connection..

      Well.. I'm back!

      After a lot of messing about with Sky I got an install date for a "New" line of today, BT guy turned up, looked a bit confused, went away to check a junction box, came back, said there was a major fault with the line and went away again.

      In the meantime I connected up the new Sagem router, he came back about 30 minutes ago, said everything was fine, congratulated me on my phone box (One connection for the ADSL, one for the phoneline so no microfilter needed), then was on his way.

      I've managed to connect using the new router and the info that was with it so it all SEEMS fine. Here are my new stats, don't know how they compare to the old ones earlier on in this thread as they're all just numbers to me! But as someone else has mentioned it takes a few days for the line to come up to speed?

      Thanks to everyone for their earlier help.

      WAN MER 16174 358156 0 531 1088 0:38:41
      LAN Down 0 0 0 0 0 2:57:54
      WLAN Up 398268 239862 0 8996 1656 2:57:33
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4095 kbps 606 kbps
      Line Attenuation 32.5 dB 16.1 dB
      Noise Margin 16.2 dB 17.3 dB

    6. #15
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,896
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: New router, old connection..

      Welcome back to Sky Broadband! It sounds like the BTO Engineer is another fan of filtered faceplates.

      It looks like the BTO Engineer has spotted a pre-existing issue with your connection. Your original figures have been dramatically altered. Your new Line Attenuation suggests that you should expect to get between 12-14Mb according to the tool on this site.

      As you've correctly hinted, DLM should commence some time over the next 3 days, but has been known to start after 4 days. It will typically take no more than 10 days to complete after that date.

      Your speed will gradually increase over the period that it is working. In the mean time, just leave the router switched on and running 24/7.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #16
      Lino's Avatar
      Lino is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      100
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New router, old connection..

      Thanks for confirming that Scubbie, back in the day I was getting up to around 14meg download so that makes sense.

      At least we're heading in the right direction!

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION