Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    High Noise Margin

    This is a discussion on High Noise Margin within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Currently having constant drop-outs. What do you think of these stats?...

    1. #1
      steelysteph's Avatar
      steelysteph is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lancaster
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM Hub 3
      Sky TV: 2TB Minnie Mous
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      400
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 24 Times in 21 Posts

      High Noise Margin

      Currently having constant drop-outs.

      What do you think of these stats?
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails High Noise Margin-v-high-noise.jpg  


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dankargo's Avatar
      dankargo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Romford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2011
      Location
      Romford
      Posts
      346
      Thanks
      30
      Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: High Noise Margin

      I might be wrong but usually when the downstream noise margin goes into several figures like that it means it has dropped below 0dB and into minuses and by looking at the WAN uptime it would suggest that the connection disconnected due to this.

      I'm not an expert however but the same thing happened to me in the past. Maybe someone else could add an opinion?

    4. #3
      steelysteph's Avatar
      steelysteph is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lancaster
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM Hub 3
      Sky TV: 2TB Minnie Mous
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      400
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 24 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: High Noise Margin

      I've spoken to Sky and gone through the tests - they're sending an engineer out.

    5. #4
      dankargo's Avatar
      dankargo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Romford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2011
      Location
      Romford
      Posts
      346
      Thanks
      30
      Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: High Noise Margin

      I'm glad they are sorting it for you I had a similar experience when I had AOL Broadband and they didnt want to know.

    6. #5
      steelysteph's Avatar
      steelysteph is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lancaster
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM Hub 3
      Sky TV: 2TB Minnie Mous
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      400
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 24 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: High Noise Margin

      Engineer has been as promised.

      He rewired the junction box outside where the cable fixes to the house (a difficult job since we've had the conservatory built - hands through the bathroom window) and installed a new master socket.

      New stats below
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails High Noise Margin-router-stats.jpg  

    7. #6
      mandcet's Avatar
      mandcet is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2011
      Location
      Hereford
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: High Noise Margin

      Hmmm. Those stats are close to mine and I only get 5.25 down. Think I'll give sky a ring.

    8. #7
      steelysteph's Avatar
      steelysteph is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lancaster
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM Hub 3
      Sky TV: 2TB Minnie Mous
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      400
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 24 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: High Noise Margin

      Quote Originally Posted by mandcet View Post
      Hmmm. Those stats are close to mine and I only get 5.25 down. Think I'll give sky a ring.
      I was expecting around 5meg. Both Sky and the BT engineer were surprised at the speed I am getting.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION