Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 15

    Newbie looking for help as always!

    This is a discussion on Newbie looking for help as always! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi Guys I'm new round here and looking for help as all newbies do! Recently signed up for sky unlimited ...

    1. #1
      mulletmaster's Avatar
      mulletmaster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Newbie looking for help as always!

      Hi Guys I'm new round here and looking for help as all newbies do!
      Recently signed up for sky unlimited BB with sagem router. Day 3 connected now, seems pretty slow still around 3mb, hopefully that rectifies itself!

      Master socket is in hallway, main living room at the back of the property.
      Xbox live wont connect at all in the living room however, gives the MTU error at first then just tells me I need to restart my router.

      XBL connects fine via ethernet cable and connects grand wirelessly if i move it next to the router (yes i was sad enough to move my tv to check!)

      So I'm thinking of putting a powerline kit in and a second router (slave?) in to the living room, either to boost wireless connectivity or I'll just run an ethernet cable from 2nd modem to xbox.

      I was wondering is that feasible and could it be done with any old router I have kicking around from BT etc?

      Any help appreciated


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Newbie looking for help as always!

      It should work just fine. Take a look at these threads:

      How to connect two Routers together

      Extending your Home Network

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      mulletmaster's Avatar
      mulletmaster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Newbie looking for help as always!

      Thanks scubbie. Should have added my Sky HD box is in there and has no phone line, I'd like to connect it to a phone line so I can use sky go etc to remote record.
      So I need at least 2 ethernet connections maybe 3 if I decide to try and network the tv or dvd player!

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Newbie looking for help as always!

      Sky Go works on the Internet connection, so a telephone line isn't required for the computer/laptop it will be on.

      For remote record, the signal is sent via the Satellite to your STB.

      However, it you wish to access the interactive aspect of the Sky STB or order Sky Box Office events or films, then it would be a useful feature to have. If you can't get a normal telephone extension to your Sky STB, then consider a DECT Extender. Maplin does a useful one, but it can be bought for a few pounds less elsewhere:

      DECT Wireless Phone Line Extender Free Delivery : Extension Cables Kits : Maplin

      If you were also wanting to download Anytime+ content, then an Internet connection would also be required for the Sky+ HD STB. The 2nd router would provide you with this option. You are not restricted to how many devices you can connect, other than the physical number of LAN ports on the 2nd router. However you could always purchase a Network Switch to provide more ports if required.

      With more devices wanting to gain access to the Internet everyday, it is understandable that even a simple 5-Port Switch might not be enough for some.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      mulletmaster (23-10-11)

    7. #5
      mulletmaster's Avatar
      mulletmaster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Newbie looking for help as always!

      Thanks a lot Scubbie. I have no interest in box office or PPV so can do without the phone line.
      Any time + would be nice though so good that the secondary router will do this.
      last question my current stats are

      System Up Time: 49:32:05
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 27060 33282 0 22 48 32:19:43
      LAN Up 10565 10563 0 7329 1008 49:32:05
      WLAN Up 29071 18528 0 0 0 49:31:43
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4089 kbps 618 kbps
      Line Attenuation 54.0 dB 33.5 dB
      Noise Margin 9.0 dB 10.0 dB

      These figures may as well be Greek to me. The long and the short of it...is my conection likely to get any better? Do I need to be begging sky for the gaming profile in a couple of days. My faceplate looks quite old would I benefit from a new one?

      Thanks again

    8. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Newbie looking for help as always!

      Do you have a split faceplate? If you do, could you remove the lower part, connect your router to the test socket hidden behind it, with the microfilter, and post the revised stats please?

      As it stands, there is room for improvement, but if you were connecting your router on an extension, this will explain why you have a large noise margin on both the up & downstream connections.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Newbie looking for help as always!

      Do you have a split faceplate? If you do, could you remove the lower part, connect your router to the test socket hidden behind it, with the microfilter, and post the revised stats please?

      As it stands, there is room for improvement, but if you were connecting your router on an extension, this will explain why you have a large noise margin on both the up & downstream connections.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #8
      mulletmaster's Avatar
      mulletmaster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Newbie looking for help as always!

      That was it connected via ethernet cable to router and router connected to diagnostic socket
      Where do I go from here then?

    11. #9
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Newbie looking for help as always!

      You may wish to invest in a filtered faceplate and also give Sky a friendly call to see if someone can improve your connection speed.

      Be aware that not everyone has access to the systems that enable them to change the speed and you may need to make a few calls. You are also in the speed band where you might get a better speed if you were placed on G.DMT (ADSL1).

      When completed, please do post your stats again as sometimes the person changing the connection speed can forget to look at the upstream speed as well.

      Since you like playing on-line games, you may also like to ask about the Gamer Profile.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    12. #10
      mulletmaster's Avatar
      mulletmaster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Newbie looking for help as always!

      Thanks I'll give them a call on Monday I presume that's whe n more tech people are about! Would a filter face plate improve over going direct to the diagnostic port?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION