Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Sky Broadband without Sky Line Rental

    This is a discussion on Sky Broadband without Sky Line Rental within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi there, I recently tied myself into an 18 month contract with BT in exchange for free line installation (would ...

    1. #1
      MultiMartin's Avatar
      MultiMartin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Broadband without Sky Line Rental

      Hi there,

      I recently tied myself into an 18 month contract with BT in exchange for free line installation (would have been 130 otherwise) and I have to make a minimum of 10 calls each month or I am charged an extra 5.

      Sky Broadband has just been enabled in my area so I was interested in their Broadband Unlimited offer for 7.50 for Sky customers. However, it does say that you need Sky Line Rental to take up this offer. I am guessing that I am unable to do so now that I'm in a contract with BT. Does anybody know if you are able to get broadband from Sky without having your line rental with them?

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband without Sky Line Rental

      Recent changes mean you must take Phone rental to get Sky broadband. Pity you did not enquire about Sky first, you could have had rental with a free or very cheap connection fee. Doing it through Quidco would even have got some cash back, which means you would have been paid for doing it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      MultiMartin (26-10-11)

    5. #3
      MultiMartin's Avatar
      MultiMartin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband without Sky Line Rental

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Recent changes mean you must take Phone rental to get Sky broadband. Pity you did not enquire about Sky first, you could have had rental with a free or very cheap connection fee. Doing it through Quidco would even have got some cash back, which means you would have been paid for doing it.
      Thanks for the reply!

      I found this on the Sky Broadband Terms and Conditions:

      Monthly subscription providing you remain a Sky TV and Sky Talk subscriber: Everyday Lite 0; Unlimited 7.50 (otherwise 5 or 12.50 with Sky TV).
      I assume this would mean that you can have Sky Broadband without the line rental but would have to pay the higher prices?

    6. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband without Sky Line Rental

      I think this is just another part of the Sky site that has not been updated. There are still parts of the T & Cs which say you must have Sky TV to get broadband, which is now not the case. Even clicking the 'Broadband only' tab on this page infers you still have to take Sky Rental.
      Broadband only packages - Get the best broadband only deals with Sky

      However it is worth calling and see what offer you can get.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      MultiMartin (26-10-11)

    8. #5
      MultiMartin's Avatar
      MultiMartin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband without Sky Line Rental

      Thanks for your replies. I have managed to cancel my BT contract so it looks like I will be able to get the Sky Line Rental after all. The line will be cancelled on Monday as I don't really need it yet. Do Sky charge to have a line reactivated - all of the cabling etc is brand new as it was installed by BT a couple of months ago.

    9. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband without Sky Line Rental

      If you have an active line there is no charge for switching, but as you are cancelling, I am not sure how you will stand. You would have been better leaving your line active and asking Sky to take it over, it would have been straightforward then. They may want to charge you 39. Have a look at this page for some guidance.
      Sky Talk and Line Rental - Phone line and talk packages from Sky

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      MultiMartin (26-10-11)

    11. #7
      MultiMartin's Avatar
      MultiMartin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband without Sky Line Rental

      I had a really small window of being able to get out of my BT contract, either I cancelled it that day or I would have been tied into for another 16 months even if Sky tried to transfer my number. In the end I decided to cancel the line while I had the chance and I don't mind paying the 39 if it means I can get Sky Broadband and I'm free of BT.

    12. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband without Sky Line Rental

      Did you get your MAC? If you did they may accept that as an active line. If you haven't done so it may be worth asking for one from BT. They can only say no.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    13. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      MultiMartin (26-10-11)

    14. #9
      MultiMartin's Avatar
      MultiMartin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband without Sky Line Rental

      I didn't have broadband on the BT line just telephony. I signed up for Sky Broadband and Sky Line Rental and they charged me 10 for connection (reduced from 39). They said they can reactivate my existing line and gave me 6 months half price Broadband Unlimited.

      Thanks for all your advice

    15. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband without Sky Line Rental

      That's a good result. Hope you get a good connection.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    16. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      MultiMartin (26-10-11)

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION