Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Adaware SE

    This is a discussion on Adaware SE within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Anybody else had problems doing a webupdate on Adaware SE?...

    1. #1
      StevieBoy's Avatar
      StevieBoy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Reading
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      211
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Cool Adaware SE

      Anybody else had problems doing a webupdate on Adaware SE?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      ZZDave's Avatar
      ZZDave is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hove SDHV
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Brighton
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Yes - me too. Just connected today, but getting "error when retrieving update" with AdAware. AVG updates OK, as does Spybot, SpywareBlaster and Windows Defender.

      ZZDave

    4. #3
      ZZDave's Avatar
      ZZDave is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hove SDHV
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Brighton
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Further to this, I have discovered that the manual update, which does work OK at:

      http://download.lavasoft.com/updates/defs.zip

      actually contains an old version of the definitions, which may be why the internal update mechanism is failing.

      ZZDave

    5. #4
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I have none of them installed but I have checked my Outpost, Ewido, Trojan Remover and NOD32 and they all update fine.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    6. #5
      Skygazing's Avatar
      Skygazing is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Scarborough MYSCA
      Broadband ISP: Talk Talk
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Scarborough UK
      Posts
      96
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Was the same last night with Adaware. Strangely, had similar probs with Spybot!
      Tho Spybot is OK today.

    7. #6
      StevieBoy's Avatar
      StevieBoy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Reading
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      211
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks for your replies everybody.I've just gone on to the update section again and when it switched to the update window it was fixed at 100%.After a few seconds another message came up saying that the 'file couldn't be read' and suddenly it then updated with the normal end message reading 'finish'.So may be it has updated now.Definitely temperamental though!

    8. #7
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,188
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts
      I have just updated without any problems.

    9. #8
      StevieBoy's Avatar
      StevieBoy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Reading
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      211
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      OK.Thanks for that Alan.

    10. #9
      p-green's Avatar
      p-green is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ashford (Lwash)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      AdAware SE update

      Couldn't update the defs file this afternoon but successfully completed just now.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION