Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 17

    Unearthed plug affecting broadband?

    This is a discussion on Unearthed plug affecting broadband? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello there. Long time reader, first time poster. I've trawled through multiple pages and undergone many searches but couldn't find ...

    1. #1
      wolfie_tc's Avatar
      wolfie_tc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Unearthed plug affecting broadband?

      Hello there.
      Long time reader, first time poster. I've trawled through multiple pages and undergone many searches but couldn't find anything relating to this problem.

      I've had sky broadband now for about a month after moving into my house and haave had an estimated speed of 5.5mb. However it is currently at the highest it has been at 1.8mb and I have had speeds of around 0.4mb over the weeks.

      I have had numerous conversations with sky and have gone through everything that they had suggested (micro filter changes etc) and nothing has worked.

      They now have the conclusion that an unearthed plug that is next to the phone socket (but with nothing plugged into it) is causing the broadband to be slow, and that once i get that plug rewired i'll be looking at my estimated speeds at least.

      Has anyone heard of this issue or is it just sky stalling as they know that I know that withing 2 months of my contract I can quit sky without charge if they don't get me my minimum speed which is 2mb?

      So has anyone heard of an unearthed plug affecting broadband speeds.

      Thanks very much, I am on sky unlimited and using a Sagecom router.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Unearthed plug affecting broadband?

      Any earthing issue within a property can have a knock on effect but I would be a bit doubtful. Have you got a test socket or is it a standard socket in use?

    4. #3
      wolfie_tc's Avatar
      wolfie_tc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Unearthed plug affecting broadband?

      Sorry do you mean the phone socket or the mains? I am currently plugged into the test phone socket for the internet (the one sky tells you to put it in as a first troubleshooting process).
      As for the mains I don't know about a test socket but the router is plugged into an earthed one (although it was plugged into the unearthed for a day if this could have affected it?) but is next the unearthed.

      The explained it to me like the unearthed plug was giving off a frequency messing with the connection, does this sound right?

      Thanks so much for your reply.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Unearthed plug affecting broadband?

      The explained it to me like the unearthed plug was giving off a frequency messing with the connection, does this sound right?
      Sounds like they are grasping at straws to me. Give some of Sky Help any out of the ordinary information and they will jump on it as a reason to get rid of you.

      Can you post your stats and we will see if anything obvious is wrong?
      How to get your router statistics

      Use only the ADSL cable and filter supplied by Sky.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      wolfie_tc's Avatar
      wolfie_tc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Unearthed plug affecting broadband?

      Are these the stats that you're wanting?
      Cheers for the reply, I have spoken to a couple of electricians and have both given me different answers on this.

      Manufacturer Sagemcom Model Number F@ST2504n Firmware Version 5.23.1a4N ADSL Firmware Version A2pD030n.d23b Modem Modem Status Connected DownStream Connection Speed 1699 kbps UpStream Connection Speed 753 kbps VPI 0 VCI 38 ADSL Port MAC Address 7c:03:4c:aa:fe:f8 IP Address 90.212.105.254 Network Type PPPoA IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.255 Gateway IP Address 87.87.253.4 Domain Name Server 90.207.238.97 90.207.238.99 LAN Port MAC Address 7c:03:4c:aa:fe:f6 IP Address 192.168.0.1 DHCP On IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0 Wireless Port Name (SSID) SKYAFEF6 Region Europe Current Channel 1 Wireless AP enable Broadcast Name enable Attached Devices Unknown Wireless (NULL) Wireless

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Unearthed plug affecting broadband?

      No, please click the link in my last post.

      Cheers for the reply, I have spoken to a couple of electricians and have both given me different answers on this.
      If it were a case of homeplugs failing, I could see there may be problems, but not with a router which isn't even earthed..

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      wolfie_tc's Avatar
      wolfie_tc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Unearthed plug affecting broadband?

      Sorry the IP address took me to a page that looked different and so the statistic link was hidden on a different page.
      Thanks.


      System Up Time: 22:12:40
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 276152 413556 0 3770 4443986 22:11:42
      LAN Down 0 0 0 0 0 22:12:40
      WLAN Up 452832 312008 0 197822 5453 22:12:18
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1699 kbps 753 kbps
      Line Attenuation 52.5 dB 24.3 dB
      Noise Margin 6.0 dB 11.0 dB
      Last edited by Isitme; 15-10-11 at 04:31 PM. Reason: Format stats

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Unearthed plug affecting broadband?

      Can you now plug directly into the Test socket, using only the cable and filter supplied by Sky and post your stats again?.
      How to test your ADSL in the Master Test Socket

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      wolfie_tc's Avatar
      wolfie_tc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Unearthed plug affecting broadband?

      Already doing that actually, have left it in there after having been told to plug it in on numerous occasions by sky!

    11. #10
      Sky eService Team's Avatar
      Sky eService Team is offline Sky Team
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Corporate
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Location
      BSkyB
      Posts
      99
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 17 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Unearthed plug affecting broadband?

      Hi wolfie_tc, if I'm being honest I've never heard of that causing an issue before. I can't think why it would affect it so it may be best to get in touch again and ask us to look elsewhere for the cause of the issue.

      Malcolm.
      Sky eService Team

      Sky Help Centre http://www.sky.com/help
      My Sky and Sky iD https://mysky.sky.com

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION