Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 456
    Results 51 to 56 of 56

    Need Help Finding Broadband Problem!

    This is a discussion on Need Help Finding Broadband Problem! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; @Scubbie Well the prices definitely vary, my search on Amazon gave me results from 200 to 4.5K! The instant appeal ...

    1. #51
      DoctorGore's Avatar
      DoctorGore is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Need Help Finding Broadband Problem!

      @Scubbie Well the prices definitely vary, my search on Amazon gave me results from 200 to 4.5K!

      The instant appeal is both of us would get a faster connection, without affecting ethers connection. After a quick Google search I can see plenty of tutorials for Ubuntu. My first thought would be to build a separate PC (which I can do myself, thankfully) and install the necessary hardware in that. It may work out cheaper in the end as it'd act as the router and the software driving it. I'd also enjoy the process of building the PC. But then again, who says my neighbours would even want to do this lol.

      Thanks for the idea.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #52
      DoctorGore's Avatar
      DoctorGore is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Need Help Finding Broadband Problem!

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      ADSL2+.

      I am not claiming that you will get an improvement, only that you may. Different lines have different characteristics, some give their best on ADSL2+ and others on G.DMT(ADSL1). It does not cost Sky much to try, if there is no improvement, it can be switched back. With the proper operative, this could be done while you are on the phone.
      Ok, it's worth a try. If the first level of the helpline don't 'help', I can always nicely push towards speaking to CST. Thanks for the info.

    4. #53
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Need Help Finding Broadband Problem!

      You might also want to consider a 3g connection. These are much cheaper now and given that you don't need a land line, can be even cheaper than Sky, although you will not get an unlimited allowance. If, like many others, you use mobiles and hardly ever use the land line, this may be your best bet. 7Mb with 15Gb must be very tempting for about 16.
      3G Broadband - Compare 3G broadband packages and deals including free laptop offers

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #54
      gersman007's Avatar
      gersman007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: wsard
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thumbs down Re: Need Help Finding Broadband Problem!


    6. #55
      DoctorGore's Avatar
      DoctorGore is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Need Help Finding Broadband Problem!

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      You might also want to consider a 3g connection. These are much cheaper now and given that you don't need a land line, can be even cheaper than Sky, although you will not get an unlimited allowance. If, like many others, you use mobiles and hardly ever use the land line, this may be your best bet. 7Mb with 15Gb must be very tempting for about 16.
      3G Broadband - Compare 3G broadband packages and deals including free laptop offers
      Haha yeah it's very tempting, although the bad outweighs the good. First, I download a lot. Take Left 4 Dead 2, that's 12GB of my allowance in one go. But the biggest problem is the poor 3G connection at my house. My phone, which does HSDPA, struggles to get a 3G signal in my bedroom which is on the top floor. Also, the 3 3G Coverage Map didn't look like it had any coverage by my house. Thanks for the suggestion though.

    7. #56
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Need Help Finding Broadband Problem!

      I have since discovered that the 3g network is much like ADSL, ie, just because it says 7Mb does not mean that you will get that, it is an 'up to' figure. As much good as a chocolate teapot.

      You are probably better sticking with Sky,

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 456

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION