Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    very bad connection

    This is a discussion on very bad connection within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello, for around a week now my internet has dropped to the lowest speed i possibly think broadband can provide. ...

    1. #1
      Max3009's Avatar
      Max3009 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      very bad connection

      Hello, for around a week now my internet has dropped to the lowest speed i possibly think broadband can provide.

      I have replaced the micro-filter, plugged into the test socket and the stats haven't changed at all. I have been using Solwise power adapters to connect to my router for around 6 months and haven't had one problem until now. The wireless does not get used at all, and is disabled.

      My exchange is about 1.1 miles away, and no neighbors have had any troubles with their internet connection.

      These are the stats from my router (Sagem f@st2504).
      Connection Speed 128 kbps 64 kbps
      Line Attenuation 30.0 db 16.5 db
      Noise Margin 30.3 db 31.0 db

      I have already rang Sky and got past the waiting list luckily but they said they have not capped the speed or the line hasn't been affected.

      Can a virus or piece of software have this effect on the router? Has anyone got any ideas?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: very bad connection

      With such low figures, my very first thought is for you to take a fresh look at how your router is connected to the telephone line.

      Can you connect just the router and a microfilter to the Test Socket please? If you don't have an NTE5 Socket, can you please double check that you can identify the master socket by removing the faceplate to see if you have a yellow capacitor the size of a AAA battery.

      Whilst connected to the test socket, can you please check EVERY telephone socket is dead?

      A common problem is having something plugged in to a telephone socket without the use of a microfilter. This especially includes the telephone line (modem) on the back of the Sky STB (not to be confused with the Ethernet cable). Other examples include hard-wired burglar alarms.

      When you have done this, please re-post your stats.

      Quote Originally Posted by Max3009 View Post
      Can a virus or piece of software have this effect on the router? Has anyone got any ideas?
      Forget them, this is related to the router and your connection.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      AndyJG's Avatar
      AndyJG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWSHAR (South Harrow)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      187
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts

      Re: very bad connection

      Quote Originally Posted by Max3009 View Post
      they said they have not capped the speed or the line hasn't been affected.
      Sphericals.

      With those figures it looks like you have been put on test speed.

      I assume that you hadn't previously been in contact with Sky with a problem that might cause someone to do that or had a problem with your telephone service.

      Anyone plug in a phone without a filter which might have caused it?

      Whatever.
      You need to keep on at Sky until you get someone who can recognise those figures for what they are.

      Andy

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: very bad connection

      I agree with Andy, your line is capped. Call Sky again and if you get the same response, insist on being passed to someone who knows what they are doing.

      You might also want to try using the Contact Us | Sky Customer Support to complain in writing that your speed is far too low. Some members have had their problems sorted very quickly using this route. Click the Broadband icon and proceed from there.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      Max3009's Avatar
      Max3009 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: very bad connection

      Thanks everyone, i rang Sky yesterday and they have managed to reset the line, although I'm pretty sure BT have to do that as it is a BT exchange. Anyway, the problem has been solved.

      Max

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: very bad connection

      Quote Originally Posted by Max3009 View Post
      Thanks everyone, i rang Sky yesterday and they have managed to reset the line, although I'm pretty sure BT have to do that as it is a BT exchange. Anyway, the problem has been solved.
      No problem.

      Your profile indicates that you are on the Unlimited package. This uses Sky's own equipment and BT has no ability to adjust the settings on it. They are entirely managed by Sky.

      Is there any chance that you can post your current stats please so that we can see how well things have improved? Occasionally some people don't uncap the upload speed sufficiently, so it would be useful to confirm that this has been done correctly too.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #7
      Max3009's Avatar
      Max3009 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: very bad connection

      Hello Scubbie,
      Yeh sure no problem, here they are:

      Connection Speed 8128 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 30.0 db 16.5 db
      Noise Margin 8.3 db 23.0 db

      Max

    9. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: very bad connection

      Those figures indicate that you have the maximum speed connection on Sky BB connect.

      Could you post the telephone exchange details that you are on please?

      Take a look at SamKnows and either post back the exchange code or a link to page with your telephone exchange details please.

      SamKnows - Telephone Exchange Search

      What I am looking for is to see if you have Sky's equipment in your telephone exchange. If there isn't perhaps we can suggest alternative solutions.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION