Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 15 of 15

    Disconnections after Sky+ HD installation

    This is a discussion on Disconnections after Sky+ HD installation within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; By the way, does the increase in the noise margin mean that my speed can be increased to something higher? ...

    1. #11
      Broadbander-Sky's Avatar
      Broadbander-Sky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kenton
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      74
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Disconnections after Sky+ HD installation

      By the way, does the increase in the noise margin mean that my speed can be increased to something higher? Does anyone know what I should say to Tier 1 for them to put me forward to Tier 3 straight away?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Disconnections after Sky+ HD installation

      Try unscrewing the adsl faceplate and see how your stats look from the test socket. Just because the SNR is above the target 7dB, it does not mean that you'll be able to see an increase. Errors can still be high/unacceptable with a higher SNR, which would make sense from you suggesting the loss of sync and slow throughput.

      Tier 3 haven't existed since, like, late 2007. It's tier 1 and CST now. There's nothing that can be said to be put straight through to CST. If the case needs escalated, then it will be.
      Last edited by User05; 09-10-11 at 06:57 PM. Reason: Got the dates confused.

    4. #13
      timc's Avatar
      timc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh, Essex
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Hadleigh,Essex
      Posts
      299
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Disconnections after Sky+ HD installation

      Quote Originally Posted by Broadbander-Sky View Post
      Hi,

      Had a engineer come round and install the Sky+ HD box.

      I noticed him bringing the dish cable from the back of the house, over the roof and then drill a hole in the sitting room.
      I'd be inclined to contact Sky about the cables going over the roof as you'll get damage to the cable in windy conditions & then signal failure.

      They did this to a neighbour of mine , he complained & they came back & fixed it properly.

      Whilst they're no supposed to go in your loft they could have run it around the house instead - however that takes longer & can cause the "engineer" problems with his job list. Another however is that It also increases the cable run which is not recommended with the quality of cable they use.

    5. #14
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,896
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Disconnections after Sky+ HD installation

      Daft, but important question: Do your telephone lines go overhead or underground?

      Are they anywhere near where the Satellite coaxial cable is or did it perhaps got close to the telephone cable/s when he installed it?

      It is possible that he has accidentally knocked the telephone cable whilst installing the Satellite coax and this has caused your connection to drop.

      If you could confirm whether or not there is now any noise on the telephone line with the Sky Router, then it might be worth calling Sky to get you line uncapped.

      I suspect that User05 is very concerned as to why the connection speed has dropped. It doesn't just happen under normal circumstances. I am offering a potential cause.

      How to check whether or not there is any noise on the line? Using a corded telephone, dial '1' and listen carefully for a few moments. It should be totally silent. If you hear any crackling or hiss, then there is a line fault that needs to be reported. If you hear a high pitched noise like a fax machine, then the ADSL filter is worn out.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Disconnections after Sky+ HD installation

      By the way, does the increase in the noise margin mean that my speed can be increased to something higher?
      It should do, you might ask them to try your line on ADSL2+ as it seems to have improved a bit. You could possibly get 6-7Mb.

      Your throughput could be a different issue. Try starting in Safe Mode with Networking and do a speedtest, using ethernet, here http://www.skyuser.co.uk/speedtester/ and report the result.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION