Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Am i on BT or Sky line rental?

    This is a discussion on Am i on BT or Sky line rental? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Just a quick one if someone could put my mind at ease, i pay sky for my line rental BB ...

    1. #1
      craney13's Avatar
      craney13 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Braintree
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      142
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Am i on BT or Sky line rental?

      Just a quick one if someone could put my mind at ease, i pay sky for my line rental BB and TV so the whole package pretty much but the strange thing is i just called 17070 and i was led to believe if indeed i was on sky i would get "Zoe" talking to me but instead i get "your line is defind as......" which i guess is standard but then it states "BT's line test facility?

      Is this right would anyone know?

      Thanks a mill


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      bbtech's Avatar
      bbtech is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: YEOVIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Am i on BT or Sky line rental?

      Call 150 on your handset.

      If you are prompted with BT Support you may well be on BT line rental.

      George.

    4. #3
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Am i on BT or Sky line rental?

      Depends whether you're on the Sky Voice and Broadband Network (SVBN) equipment, as you'll get through to Zoe on that. However, you're probably still on BT equipment providing your line rental (WLR3), which 17070 will route through to the BT test facility.

    5. #4
      craney13's Avatar
      craney13 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Braintree
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      142
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Am i on BT or Sky line rental?

      Oh right i see thanks for that, i did get a letter saying that i am being transfered to skys new bb and talk network on the 11th October. The strange thing is i ran a trace route and it seems my BB is already on skys equipment going by the 2nd hop

      Tracing route to BBC - Homepage [212.58.244.70]
      over a maximum of 30 hops:

      1 4 ms 3 ms 3 ms 192.168.1.1
      2 25 ms 24 ms 25 ms dr1.enhmi.isp.sky.com [89.200.128.25]
      3 24 ms 24 ms 24 ms vl191.ar8.enhmi.isp.sky.com [89.200.133.98]
      4 28 ms 27 ms 34 ms 212.58.238.189
      5 25 ms 25 ms 25 ms 212.58.238.129
      6 29 ms 27 ms 27 ms 212.58.239.58
      7 25 ms 25 ms 26 ms 212.58.251.44
      8 28 ms 28 ms 27 ms bbc-vip115.telhc.bbc.co.uk [212.58.244.70]

      Trace complete.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Am i on BT or Sky line rental?

      If your pay line rental to Sky, you will eventually be moved over to the SVBN*, Sky are updating all their exchanges. Until then your line will be routed through BT's system.

      * The only exception to this should be those who opted to have their line stay with BT. This was an option given to those already on Sky rental before the SVBN was introduced. It does not apply to those who took Sky rental after the introduction of their own system.

      What do you get ringing 150? It is possible your broadband has been changed but your phone is still pending.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Am i on BT or Sky line rental?

      Quote Originally Posted by craney13 View Post
      Oh right i see thanks for that, i did get a letter saying that i am being transfered to skys new bb and talk network on the 11th October. The strange thing is i ran a trace route and it seems my BB is already on skys equipment going by the 2nd hop

      Tracing route to BBC - Homepage [212.58.244.70]
      over a maximum of 30 hops:

      1 4 ms 3 ms 3 ms 192.168.1.1
      2 25 ms 24 ms 25 ms dr1.enhmi.isp.sky.com [89.200.128.25]
      3 24 ms 24 ms 24 ms vl191.ar8.enhmi.isp.sky.com [89.200.133.98]
      4 28 ms 27 ms 34 ms 212.58.238.189
      5 25 ms 25 ms 25 ms 212.58.238.129
      6 29 ms 27 ms 27 ms 212.58.239.58
      7 25 ms 25 ms 26 ms 212.58.251.44
      8 28 ms 28 ms 27 ms bbc-vip115.telhc.bbc.co.uk [212.58.244.70]

      Trace complete.
      Broadband is likely being provided by Sky's ISAM (same as their SVBN equipment), but your voice services are still running through the BT WLR3 network for the time being before the migration to full MPF.

    8. #7
      craney13's Avatar
      craney13 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Braintree
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      142
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Am i on BT or Sky line rental?

      Thanks very much, it seems i have now been changed over, dialling 150 takes me straight to sky and 17070 now gives me zoe which it never did before. The only real change on the BB side of things i can see is that it seems my max delay has now gone back to 16ms where it was set at 8 before so i guess i will have to call sky up and ask them to change it back.

      One quick question tho as i am using my own router will i have to plug my sky router back in when calling up for them to change the delay?

      thanks so much again

    9. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,903
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Am i on BT or Sky line rental?

      You should be able to call Sky whilst you own router is connected to get the line put back on the Gamer profile. You are more likely to get someone who doesn't have the tools to do this on your first call than someone who is going to object because you don't have the Sky router connected.

      Just in case, have the Sky router to hand, swap it over whilst on the telephone if required, then swap it back when it has all been completed.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Am i on BT or Sky line rental?

      I would just leave your own router connected, it would be different if you were asking for help.


      Interrupted when posting by banging at door

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      craney13's Avatar
      craney13 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Braintree
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      142
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Am i on BT or Sky line rental?

      Thanks so much guys, i must admit i might actually leave the max delay at 16ms for a few days and see how it goes as going by my router stats i have only had 2 CRC errors in the 3hrs its been up compared to prob around 200-300 CRC errors with a similar uptime when the delay was set to 8ms. The same goes for the HEC and RSUnCorr errors they all seem a lot lower.

      Do you know the most frustrating thing about being changed over to the sky network today was the fact my router had been up for 11 days!! which is the longest its ever been in the 5 months i have been with sky and they had to go and ruin it didnt they lol

      Thought id just post my current stats, im guessing the high SNR on the upstream is to do with the 16ms delay?

      Max: Upstream rate = 1028 Kbps, Downstream rate = 3296 Kbps
      Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 608 Kbps, Downstream rate = 3008 Kbps
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 6.9 15.0
      Attn(dB): 63.0 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 18.3 12.3
      G.dmt framing
      K: 95(0) 20
      R: 16 16
      S: 2 8
      D: 32 8
      Counters
      SF: 626342 626311
      SFErr: 2 0
      RS: 21295658 5322640
      RSCorr: 8908 0
      RSUnCorr: 5 0

      HEC: 1 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 75539569 0
      Data Cells: 369519 0
      Drop Cells: 2
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 1 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 9 9
      AS: 10647

      INP: 2.48 2.90
      PER: 1.75 1.75
      delay: 16.00 16.00
      OR: 32.00 32.00

      Bitswap: 0 0

      Total time = 2 hours 57 min 39 sec
      FEC: 8908 0
      CRC: 2 0
      ES: 1 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 9 9
      LOS: 0 0
      LOF: 0 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 12 min 39 sec
      FEC: 65 0
      CRC: 0 0
      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 0 0
      LOS: 0 0
      LOF: 0 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      FEC: 240 0
      CRC: 0 0
      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 0 0
      LOS: 0 0
      LOF: 0 0
      Latest 1 day time = 2 hours 57 min 39 sec
      FEC: 8908 0
      CRC: 2 0
      ES: 1 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 9 9
      LOS: 0 0
      LOF: 0 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      FEC: 0 0
      CRC: 0 0
      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 0 0
      LOS: 0 0
      LOF: 0 0
      Since Link time = 2 hours 57 min 27 sec
      FEC: 8908 0
      CRC: 2 0
      ES: 1 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 0 0
      LOS: 0 0
      LOF: 0 0

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION