Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 32

    Having trouble getting full speed but neighbours are double our speed?

    This is a discussion on Having trouble getting full speed but neighbours are double our speed? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Cheers folks I will have to try calling them tomorrow as someone is currently using the line (and no doubt ...

    1. #11
      Shango V's Avatar
      Shango V is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Having trouble getting full speed but neighbours are double our speed?

      Cheers folks I will have to try calling them tomorrow as someone is currently using the line (and no doubt having to shovel coal into the router in the process)


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Having trouble getting full speed but neighbours are double our speed?

      Before calling Sky to get your connection speeds uncapped, please change your microfilters if they have been used for more than a couple of years.

      Ensure that your router is connected to the test socket when calling (as Tom suggested earlier).

      In the long-term you may wish to consider fitting a filtered faceplate if you have any internal telephone extensions.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #13
      jonathanc's Avatar
      jonathanc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Great Oakley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Having trouble getting full speed but neighbours are double our speed?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Your line is very heavily capped. Phone Sky and insist that they either configure it manually or put DLM training on the line. If they refuse, tell them you want a manager or be passed to the higher support team. Tell them you are quite sure your line is capable of 20Mb.
      This is interesting. When I called up tech support I was told countless times that Sky DOES NOT cap line speeds. Basically what you are getting is what your line is capable off. There's no way for them to "configure" a line on their end for higher speeds. I've insisted to speak with a higher support team but was told there was no such thing.

    5. #14
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,461
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 118 Times in 113 Posts

      Re: Having trouble getting full speed but neighbours are double our speed?

      Just phone back
      some of sky's support dont have a clue

      You will get someone in the end who will sort it for you

    6. #15
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Having trouble getting full speed but neighbours are double our speed?

      Quote Originally Posted by jonathanc View Post
      This is interesting. When I called up tech support I was told countless times that Sky DOES NOT cap line speeds. Basically what you are getting is what your line is capable off. There's no way for them to "configure" a line on their end for higher speeds. I've insisted to speak with a higher support team but was told there was no such thing.
      @jonathanc: Please feel welcome to start a new thread and post your stats there if you haven't already done so. Perhaps some members can help you to check things through before calling Sky again.

      To clarify the issue Sky doen't intentionally cap a customer's connection speed out of malice or to reduce the potential speeds in order to purposefully restrict what you can do on the Internet.

      However the DLM process that Sky uses DOES cap a line if it picks up potential problems. It should uncap a line once the fault has been repaired, but this is rarely the case.

      As for support levels, when you initially get through to Sky's support you get the first level. They have some seniors, some team specialists & their managers in their immediate vicinity.

      The next level of support is known as the Customer Solutions Team (CST). These people have more training and generally have access to more systems the the first line teams.

      CST can call upon more specialists who can gain access to systems which could, for example, bring down the whole network if left in untrained hands.

      So basically the person whom you spoke to was feeding you lots of Bull ****.

      I'm sorry to those members who do work for Sky's first level of support, but there are a number of your colleagues who appear to do nothing but feed people this duff information.

      To anyone who calls Sky, remember that Sky does send out surveys to some customers after they have called Sky. So make a note of everyone whom you talk with and record the information that they provided and how good/bad/useful/or not they were.

      The surveys are personalised to a particular person that you spoke with, so it 'Steve' was bad, but the survey is for 'John', then make sure that it is worded for 'John'. However if it comes back for 'Steve'....

      I believe that these surveys are used for any performance reviews, hence why I ask that you get the correct person.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Having trouble getting full speed but neighbours are double our speed?

      This is interesting. When I called up tech support I was told countless times that Sky DOES NOT cap line speeds
      I think it is important to understand that your line is not capped as such, it is providing as much speed as it can after DLM and still be stable. Your default noise margin of 7db confirms this. The thread owner has a noise margin of 30.2, more than 23db above the default, which means the speed has been set much lower than it need be..

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      Shango V's Avatar
      Shango V is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Having trouble getting full speed but neighbours are double our speed?

      Hi guys, Right I called SKY and they were pretty helpful, so I thought. I spoke to someone not in the broadband department and explained what you had said, she put me on hold to transfer me to the correct dep. She then spoke to me again and said it was a simple task and after she had spoken to them it was getting sorted, Im assuming she meant DLM training. She said I should get up to 16mb. I asked how long it would take (as my connection dropped out as I was on the phone), she said a few mins. I then gave it ten mins and ran a speed test. Nothing has changed apart from a slight upload speed increase (not loads).

      Does DLM training take ten days like when you first set up with SKY? Or have I been fobbed off like mentioned by previous answers.

      I have noticed since this my line attenuation has dropped, has SKY done this?


      System Up Time 40:59:18
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 19948 32072 0 2368 28158 00:24:35
      LAN 10M/100M 2181109 1394900 0 19565 1464 40:59:15
      WLAN 11M/54M 477345 360007 0 3379 209 40:59:07

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 16223 kbps 252 kbps
      Line Attenuation 15.0 db 8.1 db
      Noise Margin 10.3 db 33.0 db

    9. #18
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Having trouble getting full speed but neighbours are double our speed?

      Your noise margin has dropped, not your attenuation. This is expected as your speed has increase substantially to 16 Mb. We can't really tell if she has simply reconfigured your line or set it at 16Mb and started DLM. There is still room for improvement both down and especially up. I would not be surprised if you finish with very near the maximum, both up and down. Give it a couple of days and if your figures don't change, give them another call.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      Shango V (10-10-11)

    11. #19
      Shango V's Avatar
      Shango V is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Having trouble getting full speed but neighbours are double our speed?

      My Bad , Im a total noob. I will give it a few days, Again an awesome response. This Forums a life saver!

    12. #20
      Shango V's Avatar
      Shango V is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Having trouble getting full speed but neighbours are double our speed?

      Well Ive given them until today and now running at 3.2 download and 0.1 upload and my stats are

      System Up Time 09:29:16
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 516467 736158 0 1428 18007 09:27:35
      LAN 10M/100M 697681 550303 0 14782 1875 09:29:13
      WLAN 11M/54M 183971 137100 0 4145 349 09:29:05

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 16223 kbps 252 kbps
      Line Attenuation 15.0 db 8.1 db
      Noise Margin 10.0 db 33.0 db

      What a bag of crap!

     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION