Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.

Advertisement

Using your own router? Low sync ...

This is a discussion on Using your own router? Low sync ... within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I'm a bit suspect of the Sky router atm, I'm not sure it's 100% so I was thinking of ...

vandinz Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

Using your own router? Low sync ...

Hi, I'm a bit suspect of the Sky router atm, I'm not sure it's 100% so I was thinking of using my own router to rid that as the possible reason my connection is crap. Is it advisable to use your own? I'm a PC engineer but network stuff is not my bag. I understand it but I'm not an expert. To this end, would you recommend I get my own router and use that? I've heard the white original router I'm using isn't much use anyway.

While I'm here though, the reason I'm asking is that my connection has suddenly gone from average 10 - 13 meg sync to around 5-6. No idea why, nothing changed my end. I've rebooted and resync'd but no luck. It may be temperary but it's been a couple of days now and no change. I REALLY don't want to phone Sky because I have trouble understanding them for one and I don't want to start ripping my comp to bits when I know nothing has changed here. They never seem to want to accept it's their end until you get to the more technical staff members but getting there is a pain in the dumper.

Here's the info from Sky Router Tool if it's any use

Downstream Upstream
      Sync Rate: 5369 Kbps 986 Kbps
      Max Rate: 6696 Kbps 983 Kbps
      Attenuation: 33 dB 20.9 dB
      SNR Margin: 6.9 dB 7.4 dB
      ADSL Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Average Error Rate: 20.19 CRC Errors/hr

Thanks for any help in advance.

2. Advertisement
      vandinz Guest