Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 35
    Like Tree1Likes

    Any throttling?

    This is a discussion on Any throttling? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by deadman1984 dlm whats that is that down load management or something You have been on the forum ...

    1. #21
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Any throttling?

      Quote Originally Posted by deadman1984 View Post
      dlm whats that is that down load management or something
      You have been on the forum for years and still have to ask what DLM is?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 1
      Router: dreytek vigor 130 modem + archer c7
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Any throttling?

      i keep forgetting lol im hopeless lol

    4. #23
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Any throttling?

      DLM = dead loss man
      Scubbie likes this.


    5. #24
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 1
      Router: dreytek vigor 130 modem + archer c7
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Any throttling?

      haha funny lol

    6. #25
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Any throttling?

      What does lol stand for?

    7. #26
      dankargo's Avatar
      dankargo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Romford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2011
      Location
      Romford
      Posts
      346
      Thanks
      30
      Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Any throttling?

      Have rebooted as suggested and did get a slight increase

      Connection Speed 4000 kbps 384 kbps
      Line Attenuation 53.0 dB 31.5 dB
      Noise Margin 8.4 dB 22.0 dB

    8. #27
      dankargo's Avatar
      dankargo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Romford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2011
      Location
      Romford
      Posts
      346
      Thanks
      30
      Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Any throttling?

      An Interesting thing happened this afternoon. The connection cut out for 5 minutes or so and when it returned I checked the stats and they were higher then this morning (When I rebooted this morning and got 4000 / 384)

      16:00

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4288 kbps 384 kbps
      Line Attenuation 53.0 dB 31.5 dB
      Noise Margin 7.4 dB 22.0 dB

      I then got an email shortly after from Sky that said;

      You recently contacted us regarding your connection speed.
      I have checked through your account and have run tests down your line and got your line reconfigured and increased.
      The speeds you are now receiving are 4.3Meg which will take effect straight away.
      I hope this information helps.
      Kind regards,
      Michael.


      Of course I am very happy with this. From the stats can you tell whether its still on G.DMT or have they moved me back to ADSL2+ ?

    9. #28
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Any throttling?

      On first appearance that looks a little better.

      I wonder if you could send a response and ask if it is possible to increase the upload speed as it appears that there is a large margin for that to be improved upon.

      The margin I am referring to is the noise margin. Sky's target is 7dB on both the downstream & upstream connections.

      Of course when there is a long line, it is possible that there could be some noise being picked up at some stage.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #29
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 1
      Router: dreytek vigor 130 modem + archer c7
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Any throttling?

      lol means laugh out loud lol

    11. #30
      FormerSkyUser's Avatar
      FormerSkyUser is offline Banned
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Any throttling?

      I believe that all ISP's throttle. If you see it for what it really is, a business, then it's in their best interest to throttle you. So yes, there's definitely some form of traffic management. Most of these people on here are probably Sky employees.

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION