Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 35
    Like Tree1Likes

    Any throttling?

    This is a discussion on Any throttling? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hey guys, just a quick update. I think I spoke too soon, tonight the internet went really really slow, I ...

    1. #11
      dankargo's Avatar
      dankargo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Romford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2011
      Location
      Romford
      Posts
      346
      Thanks
      30
      Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Any throttling?

      Hey guys, just a quick update. I think I spoke too soon, tonight the internet went really really slow, I checked the noise margin at 8pm at it was at a shocking "0.3dB". I Immediately called Sky and as suggested asked to be switched to G.DMT. Within seconds they looked at my stats and agreed that this profile would suit my line better.

      Its more stable however looks like its affected some of my speed

      20:53pm

      Connection Speed 3840 kbps 384 kbps
      Line Attenuation 53.0 dB 31.5 dB
      Noise Margin 7.4 dB 23.0 dB


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,896
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Any throttling?

      Whilst you have a drop of around 200kbps, those figures look a lot better.

      See how things progress over the next few days and update us either way.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      dankargo (25-09-11)

    5. #13
      dankargo's Avatar
      dankargo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Romford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2011
      Location
      Romford
      Posts
      346
      Thanks
      30
      Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Any throttling?

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Whilst you have a drop of around 200kbps, those figures look a lot better.

      See how things progress over the next few days and update us either way.
      Thank you. Yes, the noise margin looks a lot better. I had a feeling something was not right with the "0.3dB" noise margin and really slow loading webpages.

      I don't have the best speed in the world but a 200kbps drop isnt too.. which would work out around 25kB/sec I take it? I'd much prefer to lose that 25kB then have an unstable line.

      Although, Is there a chance that the speed could progress. I wasnt sure if that was possible on G.DMT profiles.

    6. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Any throttling?

      You should really call them and ask them to improve your upload figure. This is important, especially if you use torrents. I don't know why Sky nearly always forget to push up the upload, just about anyone who gets their download fixed ends up with a low upload.

      You may find if you boot your router in the morning when the line is quiet and your noise margin is a bit higher that your speed will improve a bit. They have probably set it to 4096

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #15
      dankargo's Avatar
      dankargo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Romford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2011
      Location
      Romford
      Posts
      346
      Thanks
      30
      Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Any throttling?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      You should really call them and ask them to improve your upload figure. This is important, especially if you use torrents. I don't know why Sky nearly always forget to push up the upload, just about anyone who gets their download fixed ends up with a low upload.

      You may find if you boot your router in the morning when the line is quiet and your noise margin is a bit higher that your speed will improve a bit. They have probably set it to 4096
      Oh thats handy to know. I'm quite scared to reboot my router in case the speed keeps dropping. When the noise margin went to '0.3dB' the downstream was something like 4047 kbps so I rebooted and it went down to 3636 or something like that.

      I would love to reboot in the morning and get 4096 as this is what I was on when Sky initially activated the broadband and it was G.DMT (before DLM kicked in and moved me to ADSL2+) It was fantastic, lovely and stable to use. Whats the chances that the speed will actually go up rather then down?

      I guess I called them at the wrong time as its night time and theres more noise on the line. However I was surprised how quick they managed to switch me to G.DMT, I didnt even have to hold.

    8. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Any throttling?

      As long as your noise margin is above 7db you have nothing to worry about. You will probably find in the morning your noise is 8db or above, rebooting then will increase your speed. If you reboot when your noise margin is below 7, your speed will go down. If you do get a speed increase, you may find your noise margin drops below 7 come the evening, but don't worry about it unless your line becomes unstable.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      dankargo (25-09-11)

    10. #17
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 1
      Router: dreytek vigor 130 modem + archer c7
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Any throttling?

      sky dont do any throttling or capping at all unless your on the smaller packages like the ones below unlimited. but i havent noticed any capping on the unlimited i downloaded a huge file the other day a big game pack was roughly 30 odd gig in size and it wasnt capped or slowed down.

    11. The Following User Says Thank You to deadman1984 For This Useful Post:

      dankargo (25-09-11)

    12. #18
      dankargo's Avatar
      dankargo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Romford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2011
      Location
      Romford
      Posts
      346
      Thanks
      30
      Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Any throttling?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      As long as your noise margin is above 7db you have nothing to worry about. You will probably find in the morning your noise is 8db or above, rebooting then will increase your speed. If you reboot when your noise margin is below 7, your speed will go down. If you do get a speed increase, you may find your noise margin drops below 7 come the evening, but don't worry about it unless your line becomes unstable.
      Oh brilliant, thanks for the info. I'll reboot in the morning and post the results. I just hope the dreaded DLM doesn't kick in again as it will be the 2nd reboot in 2 days

    13. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Any throttling?

      I don't think you need worry about DLM, 10 reboots in an hour might attract its attention, but not a couple in 24 hours. When you think about it many turn their router off every night without having DLM kick in.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    14. #20
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 1
      Router: dreytek vigor 130 modem + archer c7
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Any throttling?

      dlm whats that is that down load management or something

     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION