Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 15

    CST and BT are stumped on how to fix my issue

    This is a discussion on CST and BT are stumped on how to fix my issue within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, Perhaps someone can help me with the following. For the last 3 months i have been intermittently experiencing ...

    1. #1
      Richie Rich's Avatar
      Richie Rich is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky World HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Location
      Don't know myself
      Posts
      121
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      CST and BT are stumped on how to fix my issue

      Hi all,

      Perhaps someone can help me with the following. For the last 3 months i have been intermittently experiencing a loss of PPP i.e solid amber internet light. This either resolves itself or i will have to switch the router off and back on again. This can happen at random times of the day. I used to have an old style master socket but this has since been changed to a brand new socket with a 2000 faceplate.

      I have had 3 new routers,
      New cabling for each of the routers has been tried
      4 BT Openreach Engineers
      A lift and shift at the exchange
      A brand new cable run from the telegraph pole to the front of the house and then going through a new entry point, and then into the new 2000 faceplate.
      Each of the 4 engineers has carried out testing many times over and over again at the exchange and at my property, all of which come back as a pass.
      My line runs straight to the exchange so i do not connect into the green cabinet.

      As i am on the Connect package it takes a while for the results to come back as CST have to liaise with BT. BT have passed it to their fault diagnostic teams who can find no fault either.

      I have not only managed to stump CST with what is causing this issue but have also managed to stump BT who have admitted they have no idea what to do next. I would like to point out that one of the BT Capacity Team said that the equipment i was connected to in the exchange was running hot (Not the temperature kind) and this was causing my loss of PPP.
      From what i have heard, An exchange which is running hot causes a slow connection and not a loss of PPP problem.

      Anyway, BT have said they fixed the issue with the equipment running hot and my connection should be sorted......... But guess what, I'm still getting the solid amber internet light.


      Any ideas of the above would be greatly appreciated


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: CST and BT are stumped on how to fix my issue

      Do you know anyone else locally who has Sky Broadband?

      If you do, I would highly recommend that you take your routers around their home and connect them one at a time to see if any or all of them work.

      This will rule in or rule out the routers.

      Take your ADSL cables along too.

      Remember to swap one item at a time (i.e. router & PSU --> test, ADSL lead --> test).

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      Richie Rich's Avatar
      Richie Rich is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky World HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Location
      Don't know myself
      Posts
      121
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: CST and BT are stumped on how to fix my issue

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Do you know anyone else locally who has Sky Broadband?

      If you do, I would highly recommend that you take your routers around their home and connect them one at a time to see if any or all of them work.

      This will rule in or rule out the routers.

      Take your ADSL cables along too.

      Remember to swap one item at a time (i.e. router & PSU --> test, ADSL lead --> test).
      Hi Scubbie,

      I've tried two of the routers round my father in laws house who lives 5 mins away. He is also on sky broadband. Both of those routers worked fine and were tested over a period of a day each. This is all it needed as the connection can last anything from a couple of minutes to half a day or so.

      The third router was borrowed from work as i work for Sky myself and know that the router in question works perfectly well when in use at work. This has also got all of my work colleagues trying to figure out what is causing it as it has been ongoing for few months or so.

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: CST and BT are stumped on how to fix my issue

      In this case, since the routers are working, it has to be down to the wiring.

      As you are aware, this is the responsibility of BTO to fix.

      I'll leave it for someone more knowledgeable to comment on any further detail, but I would expect that a BTO ADSL Specialist to be able to identify the problem and repair it.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: CST and BT are stumped on how to fix my issue

      At this point I'd expect Sky to offer cancellation with no penalty as they can't fix the issue, you're lucky to have had 4 engineers already
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: CST and BT are stumped on how to fix my issue

      I would agree with IWNTE, it gives you a good excuse to get rid of that service they have the cheek to call broadband. Go with any LLU ISP on your exchange or if there is none, consider Plusnet. They are owned by BT and if the problem still persists, they will pull out all the stops to get it fixed. It is not worth persevering with Sky.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      lethagized's Avatar
      lethagized is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Brierley Hill
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2011
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: CST and BT are stumped on how to fix my issue

      Have you looked into the possibility of a REIN fault? electronic interference that can come from anything electronic in the house such as a TV power supply, Central heating thermostats etc etc

      Take a look here ::. Kitz - REIN .::

    9. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: CST and BT are stumped on how to fix my issue

      Another idea would be to try a non-Sky router.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #9
      Richie Rich's Avatar
      Richie Rich is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky World HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Location
      Don't know myself
      Posts
      121
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: CST and BT are stumped on how to fix my issue

      Quote Originally Posted by IWasNotTheEnemy View Post
      At this point I'd expect Sky to offer cancellation with no penalty as they can't fix the issue, you're lucky to have had 4 engineers already
      As I work for sky I wouldn't have any cancelation charges. I do no want to go with someone else as I have never come across this issue before and neither have any of my colleagues so i would like to find out what us causing it and get to the bottom of the issue

    11. #10
      Richie Rich's Avatar
      Richie Rich is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky World HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Location
      Don't know myself
      Posts
      121
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: CST and BT are stumped on how to fix my issue

      Quote Originally Posted by lethagized View Post
      Have you looked into the possibility of a REIN fault? electronic interference that can come from anything electronic in the house such as a TV power supply, Central heating thermostats etc etc

      Take a look here ::. Kitz - REIN .::
      I looked into this a while ago because one of the customers i dealt with had a REINs issue a while back. I've recently been on holiday and i switched everything off for this reason but my connection was still dropping out so it would have to be something outside which will be a bugger to trace. Also nothing else has been added into my property i.e. TV etc.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION