Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 4 of 4

    Will to many errors cause my router to re-sync?

    This is a discussion on Will to many errors cause my router to re-sync? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Evening everyone, Sorry to ask what may seem a daft question, i have been monitoring my new router over the ...

    1. #1
      craney13's Avatar
      craney13 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Braintree
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      142
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Will to many errors cause my router to re-sync?

      Evening everyone,

      Sorry to ask what may seem a daft question, i have been monitoring my new router over the past day or so as i was getting lots of drop outs with the sagemcom and i have managed to get my stats up within telnet and im just curious to know if by having a lot of errors on the line does it cause the router to re sync?

      I have been kinda baffled to why my old sagemcom would drop every 24hrs sky sent me a new d-link and that done the same so i thought id get myself a better router, i ended up getting the TP WD8960N which so far seems ok. I connect via homeplugs and have updated the firmware to the latest so im just monitoring the error count to see if this is causing the dropouts i kept seeing with the sagemcom, i thought it maybe over heating and resetting itself but when the d-link done the same i thought for 2 routers to have the same issue would just be unlucky. Sky have me on a 4.8mb profile with a max delay of 8 i wasn't sure if having me on such a high profile with a delay of 8 instead of 16 would maybe also be a cause as i know i only have a 3mb max line.

      Anyway im using router stats to monitor the SNR during the day it sits pretty much at 7db but around early evening and as i write this its sitting at 6.6db it does seem to drop at night but im guessing this is normal?

      I'll post my telnet stats below and if anyone could advise me in anyway id be so very grateful

      Thanks so much and again sorry if my question sounds kinda stupid

      > adsl info --stats
      adsl info --stats
      adsl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime
      Retrain Reason: 1
      Max: Upstream rate = 1060 Kbps, Downstream rate = 3456 Kbps
      Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 864 Kbps, Downstream rate = 3136 Kbps

      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 6.6 8.0
      Attn(dB): 63.0 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 18.3 12.3
      G.dmt framing
      K: 99(0) 28
      R: 16 0
      S: 2 1
      D: 16 1
      Counters
      SF: 7056695 7057739
      SFErr: 251 0
      RS: 239927630 0
      RSCorr: 9112447 0
      RSUnCorr: 2210 0

      HEC: 225 0
      OCD: 2 1
      LCD: 0 2
      Total Cells: 887440667 0
      Data Cells: 7163177 0
      Drop Cells: 13
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 544 0
      SES: 24 0
      UAS: 37 37
      AS: 119981

      INP: 1.19 0.00
      PER: 1.75 1.75
      delay: 8.00 0.25
      OR: 32.00 32.00

      Bitswap: 0 0

      Total time = 1 days 10 hours 45 min 44 sec
      FEC: 11552106 0
      CRC: 2695 0
      ES: 544 0
      SES: 24 0
      UAS: 37 37
      LOS: 1 0
      LOF: 9 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 44 sec
      FEC: 28481 0
      CRC: 1 0
      ES: 1 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 0 0
      LOS: 0 0
      LOF: 0 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      FEC: 528078 0
      CRC: 2 0
      ES: 2 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 0 0
      LOS: 0 0
      LOF: 0 0
      Latest 1 day time = 10 hours 45 min 44 sec
      FEC: 3531577 0
      CRC: 117 0
      ES: 70 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 0 0
      LOS: 0 0
      LOF: 0 0
      Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
      FEC: 5586961 0
      CRC: 135 0
      ES: 74 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 14 14
      LOS: 0 0
      LOF: 0 0
      Since Link time = 1 days 9 hours 19 min 41 sec
      FEC: 9112447 0
      CRC: 251 0
      ES: 143 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 0 0
      LOS: 0 0
      LOF: 0 0


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,887
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,627 Times in 1,589 Posts

      Re: Will to many errors cause my router to re-sync?

      To answer your question, too many errors over a short period can cause your router to resync. The total amount of errors does not mean much, it is how quickly they are being generated that is important.

      The amount of errors you are showing under Total time, cover a much longer period than the time shown against it -
      Total time = 1 days 10 hours 45 min 44 sec
      FEC: 11552106 0
      CRC: 2695 0
      ES: 544 0
      SES: 24 0
      UAS: 37 37
      LOS: 1 0
      LOF: 9 0
      I think these stats have the same glitch as those obtained from my router. ie, it will never show more than 2 days uptime. The actual time for these totals is probably nearer 7-8 days, maybe even more. You should reset the router to factory default and see if you can get rid of the total errors. This is an extract of the same section from my stats
      Total time = 1 days 8 hours 45 min 47 sec
      SF = 205427007
      CRC = 17248
      LOS = 14
      LOF = 55
      ES = 3861
      This is actually for a period of 38 days, so I am not in the least worried about the errors shown,.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      craney13's Avatar
      craney13 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Braintree
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      142
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Will to many errors cause my router to re-sync?

      Thanks for that isitme my router has been up for 5 days now and this is what my stats are showing

      Since Link time = 5 days 3 hours 16 min 39 sec
      FEC: 562145 0
      CRC: 3018 0
      ES: 584 0
      SES: 27 0
      UAS: 0 0
      LOS: 0 0
      LOF: 0 0

      As for the glitch you mention i think you are right this is what my stats are giving me for the total time

      Total time = 1 days 4 hours 7 min 31 sec
      FEC: 18203589 0
      CRC: 5651 0
      ES: 1102 0
      SES: 49 0
      UAS: 29 29
      LOS: 2 0
      LOF: 18 0

      This includes maybe 3 router re syncs so the total time hasn't been cleared by a factory reset so i reckon over all with my current 5 day link time the above shows maybe 10 days worth or stats.

      Would upping the max delay set on my line from 8ms to 16ms perhaps reduce the error count or am i worrying about nothing here really? Its just at the mo my SNR is showing 6.7db and sometimes goes as low as 6.2db in the later part of the evening and i was just worried of another drop out

      Thanks again for your help mate

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,887
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,627 Times in 1,589 Posts

      Re: Will to many errors cause my router to re-sync?

      my SNR is showing 6.7db and sometimes goes as low as 6.2db in the later part of the evening and i was just worried of another drop out
      If that is all it is falling, you have nothing to worry about. That's a pretty stable line compared to some.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION