Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 44

    moving to sky llu

    This is a discussion on moving to sky llu within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I have just found out that my local exchange is now sky LLU enabled. Its is very tempting to ...

    1. #1
      Uther's Avatar
      Uther is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2011
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      moving to sky llu

      Hi, I have just found out that my local exchange is now sky LLU enabled. Its is very tempting to make the move from my current adsl24 'up to 8MB' broadband and join sky unlimited LLU.
      I already have sky + HD, and understand that I know need to get sky talk as part of the BB package.
      Soooo, would I be looking at any loss of phone or internet service during the change?
      Would an engineer need to visit to change anything on my line?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: moving to sky llu

      As far as I'm aware you dont have to take Sky Talk to get the BB, however if you dont the BB will be more expensive.
      There will be some downtime when the change is made, although this should be minimal unless your currently with an ISP that also provides your line rental via their equipment, in which case it could take upto a fortnight for the change to be made.


    4. #3
      Uther's Avatar
      Uther is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2011
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: moving to sky llu

      adsl24 are just a reseller using BT's line. As for having to take sky talk now, I am led to believe this is now skys policy unfortunately.

    5. #4
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: moving to sky llu

      I'm not 100% as havnt been with Sky for a while, however I dont think you have to take your line rental with Sky. That may have been over zealous marketing on Sky's part.
      If I'm wrong I'm sure someone will correct me soon, tbh I personally wouldnt move my line rental from BT.


    6. #5
      Uther's Avatar
      Uther is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2011
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: moving to sky llu

      I emailed sky about it earlier.Part of the email said:
      I would also like to inform you that you cannot subscribe to only broadband subscription you have to take Sky talk line rental with Sky talk package

      however, further in the email said:
      Broadband Unlimited Pack monthly price (without Sky Talk) 12.50 (GBP), maximum download speed up to 20Mb, maximum upload speed up to 1.3Mb, monthly usage cap, unlimited.

      A bit confusing...

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,894
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: moving to sky llu

      I was under the impression that Sky no longer allow you to have Sky Talk except on a line where you are paying them the line rental and that this was the change introduced recently.

      However, in fairness if you were to take both Sky Talk (with line rental) and Sky BB Unlimited, then this would be the cheapest option.

      On the downside:

      • some people have problems keeping their telephone numbers when moving away from any LLU provider, including Sky. The best solution is to put it in writing when you join Sky & leave Sky that you wish to keep the telephone number
      • you may have a 2 week gap between getting your line activated and broadband going live. This will be made clear when the order goes through

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #7
      Uther's Avatar
      Uther is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2011
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: moving to sky llu

      So could that mean I would be without broadband for 2 weeks, or will my current internet keep going until the changeover date?

    9. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,894
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: moving to sky llu

      Quote Originally Posted by Uther View Post
      So could that mean I would be without broadband for 2 weeks, or will my current internet keep going until the changeover date?
      Some people are swapped over and get everything from day one. Others do experience a break in broadband for up to 2 weeks.

      A 3G dongle is often recommended as an interim solution for the changeover period.

      I can't say which will happen in your case.

      Your old provider won't be able to supply their broadband once you are placed on Sky equipment.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #9
      timc's Avatar
      timc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh, Essex
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Hadleigh,Essex
      Posts
      299
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: moving to sky llu

      Quote Originally Posted by dholdi View Post
      I'm not 100% as havnt been with Sky for a while, however I dont think you have to take your line rental with Sky. That may have been over zealous marketing on Sky's part.
      If I'm wrong I'm sure someone will correct me soon, tbh I personally wouldnt move my line rental from BT.
      I totally agree with you there, although I cannot provide any logical explanation as to why.

      I know it maybe a bit more expensive but by paying a year in advance you save a noticeable amount.

    11. #10
      Uther's Avatar
      Uther is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2011
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: moving to sky llu

      Quote Originally Posted by timc View Post
      I totally agree with you there, although I cannot provide any logical explanation as to why.

      I know it maybe a bit more expensive but by paying a year in advance you save a noticeable amount.
      Problem with that timc, is that without now taking sky talk and sky's line rental, you won't be able to get sky BB LLU it appears!

     

     
    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION