Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    How does my new TP-Link WD8960N router look?

    This is a discussion on How does my new TP-Link WD8960N router look? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all I recieved my new tp-link router today and i must say it was so easy to setup, all ...

    1. #1
      craney13's Avatar
      craney13 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Braintree
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      142
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      How does my new TP-Link WD8960N router look?

      Hi all

      I recieved my new tp-link router today and i must say it was so easy to setup, all the VCI settings PPPOA etc were already inputted, all i needed was the username and password and bingo worked 1st time. I have a really crappy long line so my stats were not the best with the sagemcom anyway but i have seen a speed increase since installing this router. The interface is nice it shows all the router stats like errors etc it even showed the delay time in milli seconds which i though was kinda cool, can you tell i have never owned a half decent router before .

      Any way i have posted the stats page from the router and just wondered if someone wouldn't mind taking a look and see what they think. My old sagemcom gave me

      Downstream 2755kbps
      Upstream 800kbps

      Noise Margin downstream 7.4db and upstream 8db

      Line att 60db down and 31.5 up

      New router


      By craney at 2011-09-08


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: How does my new TP-Link WD8960N router look?

      That is a good result. How is the wireless performance, better than the Sagem I should imagine?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      craney13 (08-09-11)

    5. #3
      craney13's Avatar
      craney13 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Braintree
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      142
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How does my new TP-Link WD8960N router look?

      Hi mate,

      Wireless seems good i only have my iphone and 2 laptops connected wireless at the mo, i did by a tp-link wireless n 300mb adaptor as i was considering trying my desktop wireless. My laptop only has a 54mb adaptor so might throw it in there for now and see how it goes . The only downside is the router doesnt have 5ghz channels just 2.4ghz but again im not a big wireless user so shouldn't really effect me to much.

      Just a quick one going back to the stats i posted, i may be going blind but i cant seem to see the "CRC" errors? are they named something different on there would you know? I tried to telnet into the router to see if i could see them that way but i had no idea how to actually get the stats to appear in the telnet window. I looged in fine but i just dont know any of the commands as i have never done that before

      Thanks again matey

    6. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: How does my new TP-Link WD8960N router look?

      Quote Originally Posted by craney13 View Post
      ...The only downside is the router doesnt have 5ghz channels just 2.4ghz but again im not a big wireless user so shouldn't really effect me to much...
      Whilst most new Laptops are now being shipped with WiFi n, I believe that they are mostly unable to work on the 5GHz channels, so this isn't an issue.

      In order to get my two laptops to work with the 5GHz channels I've ordered a couple of suitable WiFi adaptors for them.

      The adaptors will also allow me to work with the full 300mbps in both cases as well.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #5
      craney13's Avatar
      craney13 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Braintree
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      142
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How does my new TP-Link WD8960N router look?

      Thanks for that scubbie sounds like a good idea what you are doing hopefully it will work out for you.

      I have just taken a look at the xdsl stats from the router page but i cant seem to find the crc or hec errors from the stats the only thing that worries me a little is the RS Uncorrectable Errors showing 13027.

      Any ideas?

      Super Frames: 4543943
      Super Frame Errors: 0
      RS Words: 154494074
      RS Correctable Errors: 40704
      RS Uncorrectable Errors: 13027

      down up
      HEC Errors: 0 841
      OCD Errors: 10 12
      LCD Errors: 0 2
      Total Cells: 571319664
      Data Cells: 1132168
      Bit Errors: 0

      Total ES: 174
      Total SES: 3
      Total UAS: 11

    8. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: How does my new TP-Link WD8960N router look?

      What was the time frame for those errors?

      If it were 1 hour then I might be concerned, but it it was over several days then it wouldn't be so significant.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #7
      craney13's Avatar
      craney13 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Braintree
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      142
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How does my new TP-Link WD8960N router look?

      Hi Scubbie

      The figures are over a 24hr period from when i installed the router yesterday morning. I must say i have not come across any issues while surfing the web, the only slight issue i have had is it seems i need to open some ports on the router to allow me to game online never had this issue with the sagemcom tho. Once i first booted up the router it worked fine online playing my battlefield game but all of a sudden it would not let me connect to any servers it was really strange. I have gone into the router advanced page and gone to the NAT settings but im not to sure where or how i open the required ports.

      I googled the ports that need to be open and they are

      Port: 80 TCP
      Port: 18121 TCP
      Port: 18126 TCP
      Port: 18126 UDP
      Port: 13505 TCP

      I have logged into the router and gone to the "NAT" tab and been given the options below, its just i dont know which one i should be using to open the ports. Also do you have to setup a static IP to open ports?



      By craney at 2011-09-09


      By craney at 2011-09-09

      Any ideas?

    10. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: How does my new TP-Link WD8960N router look?

      Compared to the total check, 1.5million+, 13027 is a very small percentage. I don't think you have anything to worry about. At the moment I have 614037 RSUs against 3487485546 RSWs and have no problems. That is over a 15 day period. You are showing zero HEC errors downstream but a few upstream. If you have a spare filter try that, it may get your errors down, but they are not high enough to worry about.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: How does my new TP-Link WD8960N router look?

      With regards your port forwarding, try downloading and using Simple Port Forwarding. It is the easiest way to set up ports -
      Simple Port Forwarding | Simple Port Forwarding

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    12. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      craney13 (09-09-11)

    13. #10
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: How does my new TP-Link WD8960N router look?

      I would be tempted to leave it running a lot longer for now.

      Save the current settings to a file and make any other changes as required. Save those changes too in a configuration file.

      After discussing with someone at Sky, I found that the CRC errors my router was reporting weren't showing up on the Sky System, so there was no issue with DLM picking it up. I see that Tom has mentioned that the percentage is quite small as well. His suggestion of trying a different microfilter is a good choice. A filtered faceplate might be safer for the long term.

      If there is any crackling on your line, then go ahead & report a line fault.

      If you find that you line connection is reduced then it could be something that need to be addressed.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    14. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      craney13 (09-09-11)

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION